doris
Currency
B

British International Academy

Jordan, Amman

Save school

· Reviewed by · B2C Marketing Manager

Independently researched by doris.
Not yet claimed by the school
Claim your profile
The school at a glance
Instructs in English, Arabic
Fees JOD 3,200 - 10,150
Ages 2 - 18 years
Bus Service No
Academic offering
Curriculum IB (PYP), IB (MYP), IB (DP)
Introduction

British International Academy is a single‑gender (girls') international school in the Ahel Al Bayt area of Amman, Jordan, delivering the International Baccalaureate Primary Years, Middle Years and Diploma Programmes. The school serves early years through upper secondary (ages 2–18). English is the language of instruction across the programmes, while Arabic and English are offered at Language A and B levels in the MYP and DP and an ab initio option is available; the library/media centre also holds resources in English, Arabic and French. Notable facilities and services described on the school site include a library/media centre, a school ICT network and managed cybersafety arrangements, a gym and campus access features such as a ramp and an elevator serving three floors. BIA describes itself as an IB‑continuum school with an inclusion/EES provision, formal language and assessment policies, and an IB‑aligned approach to learner profile development and university preparation in the DP.

Ahel Al Bayt, Amman, Jordan

The Essentials

British International Academy has instruction in English, Arabic.

Location

The British International Academy is located in Amman, Jordan, in the Dabouq area. The commonly published address is 11831 Bakri Talib Albitar Street. The school is accessible via Amman's main roads and public transport serving the Dabouq district. The 11831 postal area is used in contact listings for the school.

Stages

The school offers the International Baccalaureate continuum: Primary Years Programme (PYP), Middle Years Programme (MYP), and Diploma Programme (DP).

Type

Girls' day school.

Pupil Nationality Mix

Nationality mix is not publicly disclosed.

Additional learning support

Public information does not list dedicated SEN facilities or programs.

Country affiliation

No country affiliation beyond the school being located in Jordan.

Religious affiliation

No religious affiliation is publicly listed.

School day structure

Exact start and end times are not publicly published; a third‑party listing indicates a school day approximately from 9:00 to 15:00.

Bus service

A school‑provided bus service is not publicly confirmed; Amman has city buses and a bus rapid transit system operated independently of the school.
Fees

Annual tuition at British International Academy ranges from JOD 3,200 to JOD 10,150 for 2026/27.

Application and one‑time registration fees
- Testing fee (new students): JOD 100 (one‑time, non‑refundable).
- Registration fee (new students): JOD 500 (one‑time).

Tuition fees by year group (annual and per term)
- Pre1 (Pre‑K1): Tuition JOD 2,800 per year; per term (3 equal installments) JOD 933.33. Additional annual fees JOD 400; additional per term JOD 133.33. Total annual charge JOD 3,200; total per term JOD 1,066.67.
- Pre2 (Pre‑K2): Tuition JOD 2,800 per year; per term JOD 933.33. Additional annual fees JOD 400; per term JOD 133.33. Total annual JOD 3,200; per term JOD 1,066.67.
- KG1: Tuition JOD 3,550 per year; per term JOD 1,183.33. Additional annual fees JOD 400; per term JOD 133.33. Total annual JOD 3,950; per term JOD 1,316.67.
- KG2: Tuition JOD 3,550 per year; per term JOD 1,183.33. Additional annual fees JOD 480; per term JOD 160. Total annual JOD 4,030; per term JOD 1,343.33.
- Grade 1: Tuition JOD 4,400 per year; per term JOD 1,466.67. Additional annual fees JOD 550; per term JOD 183.33. Total annual JOD 4,950; per term JOD 1,650.00.
- Grade 2: Tuition JOD 4,400 per year; per term JOD 1,466.67. Additional annual fees JOD 550; per term JOD 183.33. Total annual JOD 4,950; per term JOD 1,650.00.
- Grade 3: Tuition JOD 4,700 per year; per term JOD 1,566.67. Additional annual fees JOD 550; per term JOD 183.33. Total annual JOD 5,250; per term JOD 1,750.00.
- Grade 4: Tuition JOD 4,900 per year; per term JOD 1,633.33. Additional annual fees JOD 550; per term JOD 183.33. Total annual JOD 5,450; per term JOD 1,816.67.
- Grade 5: Tuition JOD 5,200 per year; per term JOD 1,733.33. Additional annual fees JOD 550; per term JOD 183.33. Total annual JOD 5,750; per term JOD 1,916.67.
- Grade 6: Tuition JOD 5,400 per year; per term JOD 1,800.00. Additional annual fees JOD 600; per term JOD 200. Total annual JOD 6,000; per term JOD 2,000.00.
- Grade 7: Tuition JOD 5,700 per year; per term JOD 1,900.00. Additional annual fees JOD 600; per term JOD 200. Total annual JOD 6,300; per term JOD 2,100.00.
- Grade 8: Tuition JOD 5,900 per year; per term JOD 1,966.67. Additional annual fees JOD 600; per term JOD 200. Total annual JOD 6,500; per term JOD 2,166.67.
- Grade 9: Tuition JOD 6,400 per year; per term JOD 2,133.33. Additional annual fees JOD 600; per term JOD 200. Total annual JOD 7,000; per term JOD 2,333.33.
- Grade 10: Tuition JOD 7,350 per year; per term JOD 2,450.00. Additional annual fees JOD 600; per term JOD 200. Total annual JOD 7,950; per term JOD 2,650.00.
- Grade 11 (Courses track): Tuition JOD 8,700 per year; per term JOD 2,900.00. Additional annual fees JOD 700; per term JOD 233.33. Total annual JOD 9,400; per term JOD 3,133.33. Grade 11 (Full Diploma with CAS): Tuition JOD 8,700; additional annual fees JOD 950; total annual JOD 9,650; per term total JOD 3,216.67.
- Grade 12 (Courses track): Tuition JOD 8,700 per year; per term JOD 2,900.00. Additional annual fees JOD 1,450; per term JOD 483.33. Total annual JOD 10,150; per term JOD 3,383.33. Grade 12 (Full Diploma with CAS): Tuition JOD 8,700; additional annual fees JOD 1,700; total annual JOD 10,400; per term total JOD 3,466.67.

Billing schedule and payment terms
- Tuition is payable in three equal installments (three terms). All cheques should be submitted together no later than the date of registration. The dates for the three payments are: upon registration (first installment), September 1st (second installment), and January 1st (third installment). Fees are payable in Jordanian Dinars (JOD).
- A completed place is guaranteed only when the required fee payments are made by the prescribed dates. The school reserves the right to review and adjust fees.

Sibling discounts and full‑payment discount
- Second sibling: 10% discount on annual tuition. Third sibling: 15% discount. Fourth sibling: 20% discount.
- Complete payment in cash: 7% discount on annual tuition.

Boarding
- No boarding fees are listed; boarding is not applicable.

Other mandatory or optional costs
- Additional fees shown above (labelled “Additional Fees”) are charged annually by grade to cover resources and specific services. These are separate from tuition and are payable with tuition according to the school's billing schedule.
- Uniform fees and book fees are charged separately. Bus transport is optional and priced as follows: round trip JOD 850 per year (or JOD 550 for half a year); one trip (morning or afternoon) JOD 550 per year (or JOD 350 for half a year).
- Governmental fees, Pamoja registration, external examination fees, overseas trips, extracurricular activities, summer school, cafeteria charges, and yearbook fees are payable separately on their due dates. Additional learning support for diagnosed students carries supplemental fees depending on the level and type of support required; individual assessment fees may also apply.

Refunds and cancellations
- School fees are non‑refundable. The published fee policy states that school fees are set at the end of the preceding year and that the school board may review and adjust fees.

Accepted payment forms and notes on payment
- The published terms specify submission of cheques together at registration and indicate that cash payment (complete payment) qualifies for the stated 7% discount. Fees must be paid in Jordanian Dinars (JOD). No separate listing of credit‑card or bank‑transfer procedures is provided in the published fee schedule.

Summary note
- The amounts above reflect the published annual tuition, additional fees and the school's stated billing terms for the current fees schedule. The three‑installment billing plan divides the annual tuition into three equal term payments with the dates specified above.
Academics

British International Academy teaches IB (PYP), IB (MYP), IB (DP) for students aged 2 to 18.

Curriculum

British International Academy (BIA) in Amman, Jordan, is an International Baccalaureate World School offering the Primary Years Programme (PYP), Middle Years Programme (MYP), and Diploma Programme (DP). The languages of instruction are English and Arabic across the IB continuum. The PYP (ages 3–12) provides an inquiry-based, transdisciplinary curriculum organized around six global themes, integrating language, mathematics, science, social studies, the arts, and personal-social development. The MYP (ages 11–16) uses eight subject groups and includes a culminating MYP Personal Project, with emphasis on approaches to learning and international-mindedness. The DP (ages 16–19; Grades 11–12) offers six subject groups with SL/HL options (e.g., Language & Literature, Language Acquisition, Sciences, Mathematics, the Arts/Design Technology) plus the core of Theory of Knowledge (TOK), Extended Essay (EE), and Creativity, Activity and Service (CAS); external exams are taken in May.
Wellbeing

Social and Emotional Learning (SEL)

The school does not publicly disclose information regarding Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) provisions.

Special Educational Needs (SEN)

The school does not publicly disclose information regarding Special Educational Needs (SEN) provisions or whether it is a specialist SEN institution.

English as an Additional Language (EAL)

English and Arabic are the languages of instruction; specific EAL programmes are not publicly disclosed.

Mental Wellbeing

The school does not publicly disclose information regarding mental wellbeing support.

Safeguarding

The school does not publicly disclose information regarding safeguarding and child protection policies.
Parent Experience

History

British International Academy (BIA) is a private girls' IB World School located in Amman, Jordan. It holds Diploma Programme authorization since March 19, 2019, and offers the IB continuum including the Primary Years Programme and Middle Years Programme. A public professional profile indicates a planned opening in September 2016 for KG1 to Grade 8, suggesting early operations prior to full IB authorization. The school is led by Head of School Ghada Zabalawi and operates from the Dabouq area of Amman as a private IB-focused institution.

Community

The student body is female and spans roughly ages 4 to 18, with instruction in English and Arabic. Graduation ceremonies are a key community event, and the 2025 graduation was held under the patronage of HRH Princess Jalila bint Ali, with attendance by families, faculty, and graduates. Such events reflect active involvement of families in the school community and a connection to Jordan's broader public life.

Parent Teacher Association (PTA)

A formal Parent Teacher Association for British International Academy Amman is not publicly documented in accessible sources. Public reporting highlights parent and family involvement around major events, including the 2025 graduation under royal patronage. The 2025 graduation was hosted under the patronage of HRH Princess Jalila bint Ali, with involvement of families and school leadership. No detailed PTA committees or regular meetings are described in the publicly available sources consulted. If you would like, I can search for official PTA documentation or direct contact details for confirmation.
School Events
The school has not added events