Musashi International School Tokyo and UIA International School of Tokyo are both in Tokyo, about 27 km apart. Both schools offer Cambridge (Primary), Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE and Cambridge A Levels programmes. Musashi International School Tokyo also offers EYFS, and UIA International School of Tokyo also offers British and Cambridge International AS Levels. Published annual fees are ¥1,608,000 - 1,819,000 at Musashi International School Tokyo and ¥1,515,200 - 2,450,700 at UIA International School of Tokyo, which puts UIA International School of Tokyo roughly 16% higher. Musashi International School Tokyo takes pupils from 3 to 17, and UIA International School of Tokyo from 3 to 18. UIA International School of Tokyo is the larger school, with around 564 pupils to Musashi International School Tokyo's 90. Typical class sizes are 10 at Musashi International School Tokyo and 23 at UIA International School of Tokyo.
|
M
Musashi International School Tokyo
Tokyo, Japan
|
U
UIA International School of Tokyo
Tokyo, Japan
|
|
|---|---|---|
| Snapshot | Snapshot | |
|
Fees / year
|
Fees / year ¥1,608,000 - 1,819,000 | Fees / year ¥1,515,200 - 2,450,700 |
|
Age range
|
Age range 3 - 17 years | Age range 3 - 18 years |
|
Type
|
Type Co-educational | Type Co-educational |
|
Curriculum
|
Curriculum Cambridge (Primary), Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels, EYFS (Early years foundation stage) | Curriculum British Curriculum, Cambridge (Primary), Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge International AS Levels, Cambridge A Levels |
|
Pupils
|
Pupils 90 | Pupils 564 |
|
Typical class size
|
Typical class size 10 | Typical class size 23 |
|
Instruction language
|
Instruction language English | Instruction language English |
|
Opened
|
Opened 2002 | Opened 2010 |
|
Bus service
|
Bus service Yes | Bus service Yes |
| Essentials | Essentials | |
|
Location
|
Location Musashi International School Tokyo is located in Mitaka, Tokyo, at 9-7-14 Shimorenjaku, Mitaka-shi, Tokyo 181-0013, Japan. The school operates across two Mitaka campuses: the Mitaka Main Campus, which houses the school, kindergarten, English academy, and business school, and the Mitaka Station Campus, which historically housed the English academy and international kindergarten. Both campuses are in the Mitaka area with access from JR trains, making it convenient for international families relocating to Tokyo. (Main Campus address and two-campus setup are cited sources.) | Location UIA International School of Tokyo is located at 3-14-4 Kiba, Koto-ku, Tokyo 135-0042, Japan. The campus is housed in the HAGA PAPER building along Kasaibashi-dori in Kiba, a residential district on Tokyo's eastern edge. The closest rail access is Kiba Station on the Tozai Line, about a 10–15 minute walk away, with additional nearby stations reachable by a short walk. There is no designated visitor parking space at the campus. |
|
Stages
|
Stages Musashi International School Tokyo serves Kindergarten through Year 12. The Kindergarten program serves ages 3 to 6, while the main campus provides primary through upper secondary education, with Cambridge IGCSE and Cambridge A Levels offered. (Kindergarten campus ages and Cambridge pathway are cited sources.) | Stages UIA serves Early Years through Upper Secondary (Grade 12). The school is organized into four sections: Early Years (EY1–EY3), Primary (Grade 1–5), Lower Secondary (Grade 6–8), and Upper Secondary (Grade 9–12). |
|
School type
|
School type MIST is a co-educational day school. | School type UIA is a co-educational private day school. Boarding is not offered. |
|
Pupil nationality mix
|
Pupil nationality mix Nationalities represented include Japanese, American, Spanish, Australian, Indian, Chinese, Korean, Brazilian, and others. The school has a Japanese majority among its students; historical data show roughly 80–90% Japanese representation in past years. | Pupil nationality mix UIA has students from more than 28 countries. Current data lists 29 nationalities represented among the student body. The site does not publish a formal local-to-international ratio. |
|
Additional learning support
|
Additional learning support Public materials do not specify dedicated SEN provisions. Some sources note general student support services and extended care; for specifics on Additional Learning Needs, contact admissions. | Additional learning support UIA states that it does not have facilities or resources to accommodate significant learning, emotional or physical disabilities. Enrollment requires students to function within the regular program; families must disclose any additional services being provided; documentation from professionals may be requested; the school may reevaluate the applicant. ESL support is provided for certain grade levels, including a pullout ESL option in Primary and collaborative ESL support in Secondary. |
|
Country affiliation
|
Country affiliation There is no formal country affiliation listed; the school uses the Cambridge International Examinations framework (a UK-origin curriculum). | Country affiliation No formal country affiliation is listed. The school operates in Japan and offers the Cambridge Curriculum. |
|
Religious affiliation
|
Religious affiliation There is no religious affiliation listed for the school. | Religious affiliation No religious affiliation is listed. |
|
School day structure
|
School day structure Kindergarten day starts around 8:10–8:30 and runs to 14:15 for core hours, with extended care available from 14:16 to 17:00. Lunch is provided. Older-year schedules are not publicly published, but the Cambridge pathway is delivered across primary and secondary. | School day structure The school day starts at 8:40 AM. Early Years finish at 1:40 PM; Grades 1–12 finish at 3:30 PM. In Primary, there are scheduled recess and lunch periods (e.g., recess at 10:30, lunch at 12:20). |
|
Bus service details
|
Bus service details A school bus service is offered. Details on routes and providers are not publicly published; families can inquire about transport options. | Bus service details UIA offers a free school bus service. Routes are developed and fixed at the start of each academic year. For Early Years, a parent must be at the bus stop wearing a lanyard; if a parent is not present, the child cannot disembark and will be returned to the Kiba campus with a penalty. The bus may arrive earlier or later depending on traffic; if the bus does not arrive within 20 minutes of the scheduled time, contact 080-1187-9407. If you need to cancel the service for the day, inform UIA in advance. |
| Fees | Fees | |
|
Fee details
|
Fee details Application and assessment fees - Application (entrance examination) fee by level: Elementary (Year 1–6) — JPY 34,500; Middle School — JPY 39,500; Upper Secondary (Year 10–11) — JPY 82,500; Advanced (Year 12–13) — JPY 89,500. One‑time initial (pre‑enrolment) fees - Registration fee (school registration): JPY 200,000. - Entrance (admission) fee: JPY 300,000 (amount shown for general entry level). - Campus / facilities development fee: JPY 210,000. - Example: for a Grade 1 (six‑year‑old) new enrolment the published one‑time initial fees sum to JPY 200,000 + JPY 300,000 + JPY 210,000 = JPY 710,000; the same published source shows the total first‑year cost for Grade 1 (initial one‑time fees plus the annual tuition) as JPY 2,318,000. Annual tuition fees by year group (published amounts for the 2025/2026 academic year) - Kindergarten (Kindg.1 / Kindg.2 / Kindg.3): JPY 1,637,000 per year. - Grade 1 to Grade 5 (Primary Years): JPY 1,608,000 per year. - Grade 6 to Grade 8 (Lower Secondary / Middle): JPY 1,765,000 per year. - Grade 9 to Grade 12 (Upper Secondary / IGCSE / A‑Level years): JPY 1,819,000 per year. Per‑term (three‑term calendar) — illustrative instalments (inference) - The school operates on a three‑term calendar (Term 1: Sep–Dec; Term 2: Jan–Mar; Term 3: Apr–Jul). If annual tuition is billed in three equal term instalments, each term instalment can be estimated by dividing the annual tuition by three. For example: - Kindergarten term instalment (estimated): JPY 1,637,000 / 3 ≈ JPY 545,667 per term. - Grade 1–5 term instalment (estimated): JPY 1,608,000 / 3 ≈ JPY 536,000 per term. - Grade 6–8 term instalment (estimated): JPY 1,765,000 / 3 ≈ JPY 588,333 per term. - Grade 9–12 term instalment (estimated): JPY 1,819,000 / 3 ≈ JPY 606,333 per term. Note: the per‑term figures above are calculated by dividing the published annual tuition by three; the calculation is an inference based on the published three‑term academic structure and the published annual tuition figures. The school's actual billing instalment amounts and whether fees are split equally by term should be confirmed with admissions. Billing schedule and payment terms (published guidance) - Admissions notices indicate the typical timing for fee collection during the admissions cycle: the school requires the registration (school registration) payment within two weeks of the offer/acceptance notice, and remaining initial and annual fees are generally required by the July payment deadline preceding the new school year. These payment‑timing points are stated in the school's published admissions announcements. - A published lump‑sum (one‑time) payment discount is applied in some cases (a one‑time discount for full annual payment at the start of the year is recorded in school fee summaries). Boarding / residential provision - The school does not operate boarding residential facilities; it is a day (commuter) school. Other mandatory and typical additional costs - Maintenance / school running fees, event fees and PTA membership fees are published as recurring annual charges in the school's fee breakdown for different levels (examples from published level breakdowns): maintenance/“running” fees in the JPY 120,000 range, event/activity fees ranging from JPY 100,000–150,000 depending on level, and a PTA fee of JPY 5,000. These items appear in the school's level‑by‑level fee breakdowns. - Preschool / kindergarten initial and annual figures differ from primary/secondary figures; one published preschool summary shows an initial fee set (application fee JPY 19,500; registration JPY 200,000; entrance JPY 150,000; facility fee JPY 210,000) and an annual preschool tuition figure of JPY 1,238,000. - After‑school care (child care to 17:30), extra‑curricular classes, seasonal school programs and school bus services are offered and are charged in addition to standard tuition; published school summaries note that these services carry additional fees. Bus service routes are published but specific bus fees are itemised separately. - School development / campus fees and other one‑off charges (listed above) are collected at enrolment in addition to the annual tuition amount. Sibling discounts and concessions (published variations) - Published information on sibling discounts varies between sources: one published summary records a second child discount of 5% and a third child discount of 30% on tuition; another published school summary records a second child discount of 10% and a third child discount of 15%. These differing published extracts should be noted when assessing sibling concessions. Refund / cancellation information (published availability) - The school's published admissions notices state payment deadlines and the timetable for registration and remaining fee payments, but a comprehensive, itemised refund/cancellation schedule (for example specific refund percentages by withdrawal date) is not clearly published in the accessible admissions notices and fee summaries that accompany the fee tables. Parents should note that the school's admissions material sets firm due dates for registration and remaining fees. Fee payment options (how invoices are issued and typical payment methods) - Application fees are invoiced and paid through the OpenApply admissions system used by the school; the OpenApply guidance shows how parents obtain an invoice and complete payment of the application fee via the OpenApply invoicing workflow. - OpenApply / invoicing systems commonly support payment by bank transfer and by credit card (OpenApply/related invoicing documentation lists credit card and bank transfer among accepted invoice payment methods); schools commonly issue invoices that give specific bank transfer details or a payment link. The school's admissions announcements state invoice/due‑date practices and the need to settle registration and other fees by their stated due dates. Summary of the most significant published figures - One‑time initial fees commonly published for new primary entrants: Registration JPY 200,000; Entrance JPY 300,000; Campus development JPY 210,000 (total one‑time initial ≈ JPY 710,000). Annual tuition examples (published for 2025/2026): Kindergarten JPY 1,637,000; Grades 1–5 JPY 1,608,000; Grades 6–8 JPY 1,765,000; Grades 9–12 JPY 1,819,000. | Fee details Application / Assessment Fees - Admissions (application) fee: JPY 11,000 (non‑refundable). Payment of the application fee is required on the day of assessment (cash is requested for the assessment-day payment). One‑time / Enrollment Fees (charged at enrolment) - Registration fee (one‑time): JPY 77,000. - Building / Facilities maintenance fee (one‑time): JPY 77,000. Tuition fees by year group (annual amounts) - Early Years / Kindergarten (example figures reproduced from the published fee structure): - K1 / Kindg. 1 — Total annual fees shown by published sources: approximately JPY 1,685,200. - K2 / Kindg. 2 — Total first‑year figure example (including one‑time items): JPY 1,680,200 (example breakdown in published fee documents shows an annual tuition figure plus book and one‑time fees). - K3 / Kindg. 3 — Total annual fees shown: approximately JPY 1,691,200. - Primary and Secondary (annual totals by grade, examples reproduced from published fee materials): - Grade 1 — Total annual fees shown: JPY 2,055,100. - Grade 2 — JPY 2,059,500. - Grade 3 — JPY 2,063,900. - Grade 4 — JPY 2,060,600. - Grade 5 — JPY 2,062,800. - Grade 6 — JPY 2,248,700. - Grade 7 — JPY 2,246,500. - Grade 8 — JPY 2,253,100. - Grade 9 — JPY 2,624,500. - Grade 10 — JPY 2,615,700. - Grade 11 — JPY 2,154,900. - Grade 12 — JPY 2,154,900. - Note: the figures above reflect the published annual totals used in the school's fee documents for the current academic cycle. The school's formal Fee Structure and Fee Policy documents include the detailed line‑by‑line breakdown (tuition, books, management/miscellaneous items) that make up the totals cited here. Per‑term / instalment billing - Tuition amounts are quoted as annual figures. The school publishes an official payment schedule that sets the exact instalment options, per‑term or monthly breakdowns and payment deadlines for the academic year; those payment schedule documents determine the per‑term instalment amounts and due dates. Parents are expected to follow the published payment schedule. Billing schedule and payment terms (procedural points) - Withdrawal notice: the school requires formal notice of withdrawal at least 14 days prior to the desired date of withdrawal. Transcripts/records require 14 days' notice. If fees remain unpaid at the time of withdrawal, outstanding amounts must be paid by manual bank transfer at least seven (7) days prior to the withdrawal date. - Refunds: refund rules are set out in the school's Fee Policy documents; the Withdrawal Policy directs parents to those fee policy documents for the refund schedule and conditions. Boarding / Residential fees - There is no boarding or homestay program; UIA is not a boarding school, so no boarding fees apply. Other recurring or optional costs - Textbook / book fees: published fee summaries include book fees (examples show book fees in the range shown per grade—e.g., a book fee example for Early Years/Kindergarten is noted around JPY 20,000 in published fee breakdowns). - Management / miscellaneous fees and activity fees: published fee documents show management/other miscellaneous charges and activity/insurance items as separate line items in the first‑year and annual breakdowns (examples include management fees and miscellaneous/activity fees). - After‑care / After‑school program: after‑care is available for Early Years and carries an extra fee; the school publishes a separate aftercare fee policy. - Summer school and short programs: the school offers summer‑school weeks with separate weekly fees (example published weekly fees are shown for Summer School sessions). Refunds and adjustments - The school's Withdrawal Policy requires the formal Notice of Withdrawal and payment of outstanding balances before documents are released. The published Withdrawal Policy refers parents to the Fee Policy for precise refund entitlement and timing. Specific refund percentages or pro‑rata calculations are set in the Fee Policy document. Fee‑discounts and concessions - Sibling discount: a discount is applied for multiple siblings enrolled concurrently — 10% off the tuition fee for the first (younger) sibling and 15% off for additional (younger) siblings, per the school's fee policy. Returnee waiver: in certain circumstances the registration fee (one‑time JPY 77,000) may be waived for returning students who meet the school's returnee conditions. Payment methods and where to pay - Application fee at assessment: the admissions process requires the application fee (JPY 11,000) to be paid in cash on the assessment day. - General tuition and other fees: the school's accounts office administers payment arrangements and publishes the payment schedule and acceptable payment methods; parents should use the payment instructions and account details provided by the school's accounts administration (the school lists accounts@uia.jp for payment enquiries). Summary points to note - Annual tuition figures and one‑time enrolment fees are published in the school's formal Fee Structure and Fee Policy for the 2025–2026 academic cycle; the figures shown above reflect the published annual totals and common one‑time charges (application, registration, building/facilities). - The school issues a formal payment schedule that sets the instalment amounts and deadlines; the Withdrawal Policy sets notice periods and requires settlement of outstanding balances prior to withdrawal. |
| Diving deeper | Diving deeper | |
|
Boarding arrangements
|
Boarding arrangements The school provides bus transportation via four routes. Bus A serves Musashino-shi and the Ogikubo area of Suginami-ku; Bus B serves southern Mitaka and the Chofu area; Bus C serves Shinagawa, Meguro, Nakano, Suginami, and Kichijoji; Bus D serves Mitaka Station and Nishi-ogikubo. Drivers and bus attendants ensure safety daily, with regular cleaning and ventilation. | Boarding arrangements UIA International School of Tokyo does not offer boarding or homestay options. It is not a boarding school. The school operates a bus service for student transport, with parents required to be at bus stops for pick-up and drop-off, including Early Years. There is no on-site housing or dormitory. |
|
Uniform requirement
|
Uniform requirement — | Uniform requirement UIA does not require a school uniform; there is a dress code for all students. |
|
Food options
|
Food options — | Food options The school does not provide school lunches; students are asked to bring their own lunch box. After-care includes an afternoon snack. |
|
House system
|
House system — | House system UIA uses a four-house system: Genbu, Seiryuu, Suzaku, and Byakko. Students are sorted into a house during admissions and remain in that house for the duration of their time at UIA. Houses participate in events and activities such as monthly house meetings, team-building, interdivisional activities, charity drives, and Sports Day. |
|
Governance and ownership
|
Governance and ownership — | Governance and ownership UIA is governed within a formal structure led by a President/CEO; the current President/CEO is Mr. Kazumasa Sugita, and the principal, Mr. Taylor, has clearly defined operational leadership. The school is managed by UIA INTERNATIONAL Co., Ltd., the company that oversees UIA's governance and operations. |
| Academics | Academics | |
|
Curriculum details
|
Curriculum details Musashi International School Tokyo (MIST) is an English-medium school in Mitaka, Tokyo, serving students from Kindergarten through Year 13 (ages 3–17). The curriculum follows the Cambridge International framework, starting with the Early Years Foundation Stage in Kindergarten and continuing through Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary, Cambridge IGCSE, and Cambridge A Levels. In Primary, students undertake the Cambridge Primary Programme with Cambridge Primary Checkpoint assessments; in Lower Secondary they progress through Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoints; in Upper Secondary they prepare for Cambridge IGCSE and Cambridge A Levels. The school teaches in English, with Japanese taught as a language. Beyond core academics, the curriculum includes STEM, outdoor education, and service and sustainability as key learning strengths. | Curriculum details UIA International School of Tokyo delivers a Cambridge Curriculum from Early Years through Grade 12, with English as the medium of instruction. Preschool Education (K3) begins with Cambridge Curriculum Stage 1 (Dolphins, age 5) and continues through to Grade 12, culminating in A Levels. Primary (K1–Grade 5, typically ages 5–11) uses Cambridge Primary with core subjects—English, Maths, Science, Social Studies—plus a second language and access to ICT, library, and science facilities. Lower Secondary (Grades 6–8) combines Cambridge Secondary with UIA's internal curriculums, offering core subjects along with Music, Art & Design, Computing, Values Education and a second language. IGCSE pathway begins in Grade 9 with Cambridge IGCSE exams at the end of Grade 10, followed by Cambridge AS & A Levels in Grades 11–12. Assessment includes Cambridge Progression Tests and Cambridge Checkpoint, alongside ongoing classroom assessment, with English-only instruction across the school. |
|
Student teacher ratio
|
Student teacher ratio — | Student teacher ratio — |
|
Exam results
|
Exam results — | Exam results — |
|
Higher education progression
|
Higher education progression — | Higher education progression — |
|
Gifted and talented
|
Gifted and talented — | Gifted and talented — |
|
Academic calendar
|
Academic calendar — | Academic calendar — |
| Wellbeing & support | Wellbeing & support | |
|
Social & emotional learning
|
Social & emotional learning Musashi International School Tokyo's mission and vision emphasize developing students' ability to set goals, self-assess personal abilities, and grow emotionally, intellectually, and physically. The school highlights goal setting and self-assessment as components of student development within its Cambridge pathway. Middle School includes a Community Service class in which students undertake initiatives to help the local community. An Intensive Growth Program (IGP) may be required for some entrants, indicating targeted after-school support for specific learners. Overall, the school frames wellbeing and personal development as integral to learning through its staff development and broad school-life focus. | Social & emotional learning UIA emphasizes the social, academic, and physical well-being of students as a core part of its learning environment. The Cambridge Learner Attributes framework guides students to become confident, responsible, reflective, innovative, and engaged lifelong learners. The Early Years Level curriculum explicitly includes social-emotional development as a learning area. Extracurricular Activities provide weekly activities led by teachers for Grades 1–10, supporting social engagement and collaboration. A Student Council Tutor Program connects capable student tutors with peers, promoting leadership, peer support, and a sense of community belonging. |
|
Special educational needs (SEN)
|
Special educational needs (SEN) The school does not publicly disclose information regarding Special Educational Needs (SEN) provisions. No information is publicly available about specialist SEN staff, facilities, or dedicated programmes at MIST. The Cambridge curriculum is described for primary and secondary levels, but a publicly disclosed SEN pathway is not provided. There is mention of community service and extended care as general support, but these are not described as SEN supports. Therefore, it is not publicly disclosed whether MIST operates as a specialist SEN institution. | Special educational needs (SEN) UIA states that it does not have facilities or resources to accommodate children with significant learning, emotional, or physical disabilities. Enrollment decisions are based on the student's ability to function within the regular program, with ongoing enrollment contingent on that capability. ESL students can be accepted with no knowledge of English up to Grade 8, provided they have a strong academic background and perform well on the assessment. Parents must disclose any additional services the student receives, and supporting documentation from health professionals may be requested during admissions. UIA is not described as a specialist SEN institution and public SEN facilities are not indicated. |
|
English as an additional language
|
English as an additional language Musashi International School Tokyo is an English-medium school. Kindergarten (K3–K4) runs in a 100% English environment. From Elementary, students follow the Cambridge Primary Programme, with no publicly disclosed separate EAL programme. No explicit EAL provision details are publicly disclosed by the school. Doris notes MIST as an English-medium school. | English as an additional language The medium of instruction at UIA is English. ESL support is referenced through ESL policy documents, including a dedicated ESL fee policy. ESL students can be accepted with no knowledge of English up to Grade 8, subject to strong academic performance and assessment. Public disclosure of a dedicated EAL department or staff is not evident; EAL provisions are described through ESL policies rather than a named program. UIA does publicly disclose ESL-related policies and admission criteria supporting English-language learners. |
|
Mental wellbeing
|
Mental wellbeing The mission statement highlights emotional development as part of holistic student growth. The Middle School Community Service class supports social engagement and wellbeing by fostering empathy and community involvement. No publicly disclosed information about dedicated mental health services or counselling staff is available. The Cambridge pathway emphasizes personal growth alongside academic achievement, supporting wellbeing. Extended care and after-school options provide structured activities that can contribute to student wellbeing. | Mental wellbeing UIA is committed to providing a learning environment focused on students' social, academic, and physical well-being. The Cambridge Learner Attributes framework supports wellbeing by promoting confidence, responsibility, reflectiveness, innovation, and engagement. The University and Career Counsellor provides personalized guidance to develop self-awareness, academic direction, and future readiness, contributing to student wellbeing. Extracurricular activities and leadership or peer-support programs (such as the Student Council Tutor Program) foster social connectedness and wellbeing. Safeguarding and health guidelines further support student welfare through trained staff and clear policies. |
|
Safeguarding
|
Safeguarding The school does not publicly disclose information regarding safeguarding and child protection policies. There is no publicly accessible safeguarding policy listed on the publicly available materials retrieved. In the Tokyo international school landscape, safeguarding policies are commonly published online, but MIST's policy is not publicly disclosed. Some third-party pages note general safety protocols on campus. If safeguarding policies exist, they would typically be disclosed on the official site. | Safeguarding UIA has a Child Safeguarding Policy that aligns with the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child and emphasizes protection from abuse and sexual exploitation. The policy includes age-appropriate personal-safety lessons, parent materials and information sessions, and annual faculty training to recognize and report abuse or neglect. A designated safeguarding lead (DSL) oversees safeguarding and welfare, with partnership between the school and families. The policy stresses safe practices and procedures for emergencies and student safety. These safeguards are in place to ensure a safe and respectful learning environment for all students. |
|
Safeguarding policy
|
Safeguarding policy — | Safeguarding policy — |
| Facilities | Facilities | |
|
Facilities overview
|
Facilities overview — | Facilities overview UIA International School of Tokyo's Kiba campus provides a compact but well-equipped set of on-site facilities to support its Cambridge curriculum. Key academic spaces include a fully-equipped Science Laboratory, an ICT/technology room, and a library. Creative spaces include an Art Room and a Music Room, with a Multipurpose Room available for performances and group activities. The campus also includes a Nurse Room and access to nearby Kiba Park for outdoor activities; Early Years visit the park daily. There is no on-site cafeteria; students bring their own lunch. |
|
Sports facilities
|
Sports facilities — | Sports facilities UIA does not list on-site sports facilities such as gymnasiums or swimming pools. Primary and Secondary physical education is conducted outdoors or at nearby outdoor spaces like Kiba Park. |
|
Academic facilities
|
Academic facilities The school provides Cambridge-accredited programs for Primary, Lower Secondary, Upper Secondary, and Advanced Levels. Cambridge Primary is offered, and the Cambridge pathway extends from early years through upper secondary. | Academic facilities The Kiba campus houses core academic facilities to support the Cambridge curriculum. A fully-equipped Science Laboratory supports science instruction across Primary and Secondary. An ICT/Technology Room provides digital learning resources. A Library offers space for reading, research, and study. Creative spaces include an Art Room and a Music Room, and a Multipurpose Room supports flexible class activities and performances. |
|
Extra curricular facilities
|
Extra curricular facilities — | Extra curricular facilities UIA provides a range of extracurricular options through the School Life program. Extracurricular activities include a House System, Model United Nations (MUN), and Student Council, with a Summer School offering in some years. An After-Care program operates from 2 PM to 5 PM for Early Years, with an additional fee. The school hosts events such as Sports Day, Annual Day, and Autumn Fair that involve families. |
| Parent experience | Parent experience | |
|
History
|
History Musashi International School Tokyo (MIST) was founded in 2002 as Little Angels International School (LAIS) by Jeevarani Angelina in Mitaka, Tokyo. The kindergarten opened in 2004, and the school later expanded to include Cambridge-accredited middle and high school tracks. In January 2021 the school renamed itself Musashi International School Tokyo (MIST) and continued offering its Cambridge-based curriculum. In September 2023, MIST merged a portion of its Mitaka campus with the Aoba-Japan Bilingual Preschool Mitaka Campus to operate as the A-JB International School Bridge Course on the second floor of the A-JB Mitaka site, creating a pathway for MIST students into Cambridge Primary and beyond. Cambridge-accredited programs for Primary, Lower Secondary, Upper Secondary, and A Levels remain in place. | History UIA International School of Tokyo traces its origins to the December 2010 grand opening of Tathva International School. In 2016, UIA Holdings acquired Tathva and integrated it into its network. In April 2020 the school was renamed UIA International School of Tokyo, and in November 2020 it relocated to the Kiba Campus. The Kiba Campus opened in January 2021 and was expanded in 2022. By 2023 the school enrolled about 520 students, and in 2024 earned Cambridge Early Years Centre accreditation, with plans to align the calendar to Cambridge exams for 2025–2026. |
|
Community
|
Community MIST serves a diverse international student body with English-language instruction from Kindergarten through High School. The Middle School includes a Community Service class that engages students in local initiatives. Family involvement is supported through the school's Family Page and regular events, including Spring School and Summer School, as well as activities like a Book Bazaar and English Book Workshop by Scholastic to promote reading. The school provides a bus service to multiple districts and offers after-school clubs and extended care to support working families. | Community UIA's student body includes learners from more than 25 countries, creating a diverse and globally minded community. The school hosts and participates in events such as Sports Day, Graduation, Annual Day, and Autumn Fair that engage families and celebrate student achievement. UIA offers a range of clubs and activities, including art, chess, debate, science, and more, with student-led clubs developing during the year. UIA also participates in interschool competitions, including the History Bee and Bowl and Book Bowl, with UIA students achieving notable results. |
|
Parent teacher association
|
Parent teacher association A formal PTA is not publicly described in the school's materials; family involvement is facilitated through a Family Page and school communications, including Info Sessions and admissions inquiries. The school hosts events such as a Book Bazaar and English Book Workshop by Scholastic, and seasonal programs like Spring School and Summer School that invite family participation. Admissions information sessions and campus tours are regularly offered to prospective families, reinforcing family engagement channels. The school also lists a School Bus program and Club Activities as part of its School Life offerings to involve families in campus life. For families, the Mist site notes a Bus service with multiple routes and several family-oriented events coordinated through its family pages and communications. | Parent teacher association UIA structures parent involvement through events and formal channels rather than a standalone PTA. Parents are encouraged to participate in events such as Sports Day, Annual Day, and Autumn Fair. Parent-Teacher Conferences (PTC) are held three times a year to discuss student progress. Communication between the school and parents is emphasized as important to the school's operations. UIA is governed by a President/CEO, Kazumasa Sugita, with a governance structure that empowers the principal and is guided by an advisory board. A formal advisory board includes members from academia, business, and non-profit sectors who help guide the school. |
| Extra-curricular | Extra-curricular | |
|
Academic & intellectual
|
Academic & intellectual MIST follows the Cambridge curriculum from kindergarten through Year 13, including Cambridge Primary, Lower Secondary Checkpoints, Cambridge IGCSE, and Cambridge A Levels. A range of after-school clubs supports academic enrichment, including chess, debate, arts, crafts, science, fashion, and calligraphy. Past enrichment activities have included a Book Bazaar and English Book Workshop. The school provides after-school clubs, extended care, and a bus service. | Academic & intellectual UIA runs Friday ECAs for Grades 1–10, with teachers leading activities that extend learning beyond the Cambridge curriculum. The options span academic enrichment, STEM, and competitions, including STEM Club, History Bee & Bowl, and Model United Nations at various levels. The school also hosts Spelling Bee contests and annual science-related events such as the Science Fair. |
|
Arts & creative
|
Arts & creative Arts and creative activities are available through clubs such as photography, dance, computer club, music, and robotics. Students can participate in arts and crafts, theatre, and other creative pursuits as part of the co-curricular program. MIST Summer School offers themed sessions that include creative activities. | Arts & creative UIA offers a broad arts program through student-led clubs and activities. Primary and lower secondary students can engage in art, choir, drama, film and media projects, origami, sewing, and dance. Secondary-level options include film making, photography, art club, and board games or media editing, with opportunities for students to showcase work. |
|
Cultural & language
|
Cultural & language — | Cultural & language UIA provides cultural and language activities, including the Japanese Culture Club, Survival Japanese, and Tanabata celebrations. Secondary programs include Spanish Club and Indian Culture Club to broaden language exposure and cultural awareness. These clubs complement broader intercultural experiences such as Model United Nations and other school-wide events. |
|
Social & hobbies
|
Social & hobbies The school offers after-school clubs and extended care to support families. Clubs provide opportunities for social interaction and hobbies beyond class time. Transportation and meals are provided as part of student support services. | Social & hobbies UIA's clubs cover a wide range of interests, including chess, board games, art, debate, film, origami, sewing, drawing, and sports such as table tennis. There are also performing arts and club activities such as dance and drama. The clubs operate during non-graded time, giving students space to explore interests and build peer connections. |
|
Community & service
|
Community & service Middle School includes a Community Service class where students develop initiatives to help the local community. The program emphasizes volunteering and outreach as part of student development. Support services such as bus and lunch are available to assist participation in service activities. | Community & service UIA incorporates service and community outreach through Service Learning as a school-wide event. The Autumn Fair is a fundraising event with stalls and activities, raising funds for charities such as Second Harvest, and field trips and programs support outreach and community engagement. |
|
Leadership & professional
|
Leadership & professional — | Leadership & professional UIA supports leadership through a student council and opportunities to lead clubs. There are mentoring and professional-skill-building opportunities through Model United Nations, newspaper and media clubs, translation and film-making programs, and other student-led initiatives. |
|
Lifestyle & wellbeing
|
Lifestyle & wellbeing — | Lifestyle & wellbeing UIA promotes wellbeing through sports and fitness programs, Yoga and Movement clubs, and mindfulness activities such as Yoga and meditation. Regular activities include ISTAA-affiliated sports and after-school recreation. The program also includes outdoor activities and field trips that support physical and mental health. |
| Language provision | Language provision | |
|
Language provision
|
Language provision Cambridge-accredited programs are offered at MIST across Primary through Advanced Levels, indicating an English-language international curriculum. The Mist site does not publish a detailed list of languages taught beyond English or specify language-support structures for non-native speakers. Information about Japanese language offerings or other language options is not published on Mist's site. | Language provision The medium of instruction is English across Early Years to Upper Secondary. Languages offered as second-language options are French, Hindi, Japanese, and Kokugo. Kokugo provides native-level instruction in Japanese. Non-native English speakers receive ESL support. |
|
Bilingual teaching
|
Bilingual teaching — | Bilingual teaching UIA does not offer a bilingual education program. The medium of instruction across Early Years to Upper Secondary is English. Second-language courses are offered in French, Hindi, Japanese, and Kokugo. ESL support is available for non-native English speakers. |
|
Immersion programs
|
Immersion programs Two English-language immersion pathways are linked to Musashi International School Tokyo through its partner, Aoba Japan International Educational Systems. The Nakano campus offers the Aoba Bridge Program (ABP), a 100% English environment based on the International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme to support preschoolers as they transition toward MIST. The Mitaka campus offers the Musashi International Course (MIC), a 100% English language preschool curriculum aligned with the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and Cambridge International accreditation, preparing students to enter the MIST Elementary School. Both programs emphasize inquiry-based learning and language development in an English-only setting, with a focus on a clear progression into MIST's Cambridge-primary pathway. | Immersion programs — |
| Reputation | Reputation | |
|
Awards
|
Awards — | Awards Awards won by UIA (past 5 years) include the following publicly posted recognitions related to Model United Nations and related competitions: - 2022 – Best Delegation at the Diplomatic Youth International Model United Nations (DYIMUN): UIA reported that six students won the Best Delegation award, the highest school-level prize at the conference. - 2023 – Best Delegation at Tokyo International University Model United Nations (TIU MUN): UIA's delegation won the Best Delegation prize, the conference's top award. - 2023 – Global Indian International School Model United Nations (GIISMUN) 2023: Twenty-five UIA students participated; ten were recognized for outstanding performance, including Best Delegate, Best Position Paper, and Verbal Commendations among others. - 2023 – TogetherMUN Korea: Four UIA students were awarded Verbal Commendations for their performance at TogetherMUN Korea. - 2023 – IIMUN @ IISJ (IISJ Model United Nations 2023): UIA students earned individual awards such as High Commendation; for example, Praneel Chakraborty received a High Commendation. |
|
Accreditations
|
Accreditations Musashi International School Tokyo (MIST) is Cambridge Assessment International Education accredited, enabling the school to offer Cambridge curriculum and examinations from primary through high school levels. The school explicitly states Cambridge-accredited programs for Primary, Lower Secondary, Upper Secondary, and Advanced Levels, indicating a full Cambridge pathway from early years to pre-university qualifications. Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary, Cambridge Upper Secondary, Cambridge IGCSE, and Cambridge Advanced (AS & A Levels) are the core Cambridge components used across the school's Cambridge journey. Supporting content on the site shows the Cambridge pathway including IGCSE and A Levels, and English-language admissions materials note the Cambridge-accredited structure across grade bands. | Accreditations UIA International School of Tokyo holds several formal accreditations and affiliations that publicly appear on the school's site. These include: - Cambridge Assessment International Education (Cambridge): UIA is described as a Cambridge International School serving Early Years to Grade 12, reflecting use of the Cambridge curriculum across the full age range. This is supported by the site's Cambridge branding and explicit statement of being a Cambridge International School. - Cambridge Early Years Centre (CEYC): UIA received Cambridge accreditation for its Early Years Centre, confirming recognition of the Cambridge Early Years programme at the preschool level. - Cambridge Early Years Curriculum (CEY): UIA publishes Cambridge Early Years Curriculum content, aligning with Cambridge CEY standards for early learning. This underpins the CEYC accreditation and Cambridge pathway into later levels. - Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) – initial accreditation visit: UIA notes a WASC initial accreditation visit scheduled for May 7, 2025, indicating ongoing pursuit of WASC accreditation. - Times Higher Education (THE) – university guidance accreditation (Counsellor): UIA announced that its University Counselor, Ms. Mami, received accreditation from Times Higher Education, enhancing the university guidance program. - Times Higher Education (THE) – ongoing THE accreditation: UIA later announced continuing accreditation related to THE as part of its university guidance, published in October 2025. - SENIA membership: UIA renews SENIA membership for 2024–2025, indicating participation in SENIA's inclusive-education community. |
| Admissions | Admissions | |
|
Admissions
|
Admissions Fees (as of January 2026): - One-time (new student) fees: Registration 200,000 JPY; Entrance 300,000 JPY (for primary/secondary levels; Kindergarten entrance may be 150,000 JPY per some preschool fee listings); Campus Development 210,000 JPY; Application fee for preschool programs is listed as 19,500 JPY in some published preschool materials. First-year total for a student entering Kindergarten or Primary (excluding any application fee) is commonly cited as 2,318,000 JPY, which includes 1,608,000 JPY annual tuition plus 710,000 JPY in one-time fees. Note that figures vary by year and program level, and the first-year total does not include an application fee if shown separately. (Sources show the 2,318,000 JPY first-year total and the 1,608,000 JPY annual tuition for the year, with the one-time fees of 200,000 + 300,000 + 210,000 JPY.) - Annual tuition (per year by grade): Kindergarten 3-year sequence: 1,637,000 JPY; Grade 1–Grade 5: 1,608,000 JPY; Grade 6–Grade 8: 1,765,000 JPY; Grade 9–Grade 12: 1,819,000 JPY. These figures reflect published 2025/2026 tuition levels by grade. (Sources show the per-year tuition by grade range.) - Other costs: The school offers bus service; meals and other activities may be available as part of or in addition to the base fees. (Bus service indicated in open directory entry.) - Notable notes: Fee structures are year- and program-specific and may change; refer to current admissions communications for the exact amounts for your child's grade. Admissions process (step-by-step, current understanding): 1. Info session or campus tour: Families can request an info session or tour through the school's admissions contact options. Sessions are offered in English and Japanese, and you can choose a date/event that fits your schedule. Completing the Info Session/Tour form or emailing the admissions team initiates this step. The school also publishes online information sessions and tours as part of its outreach. 2. Online application submission: Applications are submitted online through the school's admission process. The school has previously announced that applications for the school year are accepted via online formats. Begin the online application as early as possible to secure a seat. 3. Admissions assessment: Applicants may undergo an assessment interview and subject tests, with content varying by grade level and prior reports/transcripts. Assessments are used to determine readiness for Cambridge Primary/IGCSE/A‑Level tracks where applicable. 4. Result notification: Results are communicated within about one week after the interview, depending on grade level and space availability. 5. Registration and deposit deadlines: For accepted applicants, the registration fee is due within about two weeks after notification of the result, with the remaining initial and annual fees due by a specified date. Exact deadlines may vary by year and program. 6. Enrollment and start date: Grade placement is determined by age as of September 1, and the school year typically aligns with Cambridge program cycles (e.g., starting in September). For example, Year 1 starts when the child is of the appropriate age on the cut‑off date. Notes on current practice and pathways: In 2023–2024, the school announced that Year 1–Year 6 admissions for a September start would be in two phases to accommodate demand, and that applications for the kindergarten were being managed while floor space and class sizes were adjusted. Applications are processed online, and inquiries can be directed to the admissions team. Languages and program context: Musashi International School Tokyo uses Cambridge International programming and conducts instruction primarily in English; information about Cambridge tracks and age/grade correlations is published in school communications. Current contact options and info: The school lists an Info Session/Tour form and a direct admissions inquiry channel on its site. Sources and further reading (for the figures and process outline): OpenApply directory entry for Musashi International School Tokyo; 2023–2024 and 2024–2025 admission notices and communications; preschool fee listings from published materials; first-year and annual tuition figures from published fee schedules. (Cited sources: OpenApply directory entry for MIST; March 2023 admission notice; 2024–2025 admissions communications; International Schools Database fee data; preschool fee listings.) | Admissions 1. Review the Admissions Handbook. Download and study the Admissions Handbook to understand the full admissions process and school rules. The handbook also covers class placement, the fee structure, and bus routes, which are important for planning and timelines. This step ensures you know exactly which documents and deadlines apply to your application. 2. Apply and arrange a school tour or inquiry online. Submit the OpenApply registration of interest and you can list up to three possible tour dates. The school welcomes visitors from 9:00 to 15:00, Monday through Friday, and the on-site tour is free of charge. 3. School visit and assessment. During the visit you will receive an overview of UIA's mission, philosophy, and curriculum, followed by an in-school assessment conducted by the academic team with a prior appointment. The assessment can take place on the same day as the visit or on a different day. On the day of the assessment, bring the completed Admissions Application Form (in English or Japanese), all documents listed in Section 8 of the Admissions Handbook, and an application fee of ¥11,000 (non-refundable). Additional items required include proof of date of birth, copies of residence cards, health insurance proof, a Health History Form, a Student-Parent Agreement, copies of the last two years' report cards (for EY3 and above), a letter of recommendation, and a transfer/Leaving certificate if applicable. 4. Respond to admissions decision. After the tour and assessment, the admissions team verifies the documents and sends the results by email within five working days. The parent must acknowledge acceptance within seven business days and pay the initial invoice to secure the admission. The academic decision is final, and the school may cancel admission if any information provided is falsified. 5. Eligibility and placement details. Admissions depend on available vacancy and appropriate class placement, plus submission of all required documents and a valid visa for foreign residents. For Early Years, there may be a one-day trial class; for older grades, applicants are evaluated with a written test. |
|
Scholarships
|
Scholarships Scholarships: Musashi International School Tokyo does not list scholarships in the OpenApply directory entry; there is no published scholarship program listed for this school in that directory. | Scholarships UIA offers the Future Leaders Scholarship Program for Grades 9–12. Eligible students must be in or entering Grades 9–12 and have a grade average of A* (90%) or above to be invited to apply. The process requires a written essay and an in-person interview; notices of selection or rejection are final. Scholarships are reviewed on a semester basis and must be maintained at an A* average to continue; if the average falls below 90%, the scholarship is canceled, and renewal is possible if eligibility is reestablished. The scholarship awards 50% of tuition for each eligible grade (two scholarships per grade level: Grades 9–12), and are not combinable with other tuition reductions. End-of-year continuation may be possible if eligibility criteria continue to be met. The application deadline for the current academic year is Friday, April 12th. Scholarships apply to tuition fees only and do not cover other school-related fees. Note: UIA's FAQs indicate that scholarships are not offered for applying students, which may reflect alternative or outdated guidance. |
|
Waitlist
|
Waitlist Waitlist/pool: Musashi International School Tokyo does not operate a waitlist. OpenApply's directory entry for MIST shows Waiting List: No, indicating there is no formal waiting pool; spaces are allocated as they become available and applications can be submitted online. | Waitlist UIA maintains waiting pools for some year groups due to classroom size limits. Maximum seats per class are EY1: 19–21; Grade 1–12: 24. A child may be placed on the waiting list after completing the application process, passing the assessment with a positive result from the Academic Team, and paying the Admissions Application Fee of ¥11,000. The waiting-list offer is valid for one academic year; if no vacancy opens by the end of the year, families may need to reapply for the next academic year's grade level, and a student cannot be on waiting lists for two different grade levels. Priority on the waiting list is not first-come, first-served; criteria such as gender balance are considered, and the Academic Team makes the final decision. The waiting list is capped at 10 students per grade level for the academic year, and admissions may close once the limit is reached. Waitlisted students should continue their current education and may be asked to provide updated transcripts. UIA will contact families as seats become available and they must respond within 10 working days; starting dates can be chosen within a 3-month window. |
| View full profile → | View full profile → | |
Comparing more schools, or want notes and ratings of your own? Build your own compare board.