doris
Currency
S

Skagerak International School

Norway, Sandefjord

Save school

· Reviewed by · Chief Marketing Officer

Independently researched by doris.
Not yet claimed by the school
Claim your profile
The school at a glance
Fees Fees not listed
Ages Not listed
Type Co-educational
Bus Service No
Academic offering
Curriculum IB (PYP), IB (MYP), IB (DP)
Strengths Academic Enrichment, Languages, Service and Sustainability
Clubs Academic and Intellectual, Cultural and Language, Community and Service
Stages Primary School, Middle School, Senior Secondary School
Introduction

Skagerak International School operates across two campuses in Sandefjord and Tf8nsberg, offering the International Baccalaureate across PYP, MYP, and DP. IB authorization for the Middle Years Programme has been in place since February 2008, signaling a long-standing commitment to inquiry-based learning and international-mindedness. The school brings together students from diverse backgrounds to study in English, with the IB continuum guiding curriculum design and assessment. The campuses provide spaces where students explore ideas, collaborate on projects, and engage with real-world issues. The school emphasises cultural diversity and international-mindedness through its programs and student activities. Service as Action is embedded within the MYP, linking classroom learning to local and global communities and encouraging responsible citizenship. Through these elements, Skagerak prepares learners to think critically, communicate across cultures, and contribute meaningfully beyond the campus. Classrooms emphasize inquiry, reflection, and collaborative problem-solving, while outdoor and cross-curricular activities support experiential learning for curious, global learners.

Framnesveien 7, 3222 Sandefjord (Sandefjord campus); Baglergaten 16, 3111 Tf8nsberg (Tf8nsberg campus)

The Essentials
Fees
Application and registration fees

- Application fee: Not specified in publicly available materials.
- Registration / enrolment deposit: NKr 2,639 (listed as a registration deposit).

Tuition fees by year group (full-year and per-term detail)

- Published materials list a range rather than a year-by-year schedule. Available sources show annual day-school tuition falling broadly between approximately NKr 16,500 and NKr 49,000 depending on year and programme. No source accessed provides a complete, published breakdown of tuition by individual year group (or a per-term figure per year group) for the 2026/27 academic year.

- For reference, summaries in public directories give the following annual ranges: NKr 16,500–47,000 (directory summary) and NKr 20,000–49,000 (directory summary). These are reported as annual day fees; per-term or per-year-group schedules are not shown in those summaries.

Billing schedule and payment terms

- A specific published billing schedule (for example: number of instalments, term dates for invoicing, due dates, late-payment penalties) is not available in the materials consulted. The available public summaries list annual fee ranges but do not state formal payment terms or exact billing dates.

Boarding fees (if applicable)

- Boarding is not offered / annual boarding fees are listed as 0 in public directory listings; the school is recorded as a day school in the sources consulted.

Other costs and compulsory extras

- IB deposit (where applicable): NKr 10,000 (listed as an IB deposit).
- IB exam fee: NKr 6,300 (listed as an IB exam fee).
- Learning-support / specialist provision: noted as offered but individual fee amounts are not specified in the summaries consulted.
- Uniform: No specific uniform cost is published in the directory summaries consulted.
- Other possible charges (trips, activities, materials): international-school summaries note additional charges may apply (e.g., trips, exam or materials fees), but itemised prices for these items are not provided in the public summaries reviewed.

Refund information

- A formal refund / withdrawal policy with specific refund amounts or refund schedules was not available in the public summaries consulted. No specific published refund terms were found in the materials accessed.

Fee payment options (methods accepted)

- Payment methods (for example: bank transfer, credit card, direct debit) are not specified in the public summaries and directories reviewed. No explicit list of accepted payment methods was located in those summaries.

Summary of key figures and practical points

- Annual day tuition (range observed in public directories): approximately NKr 16,500 up to NKr 49,000.
- Registration deposit: NKr 2,639.
- IB deposit: NKr 10,000; IB exam fee: NKr 6,300.
- Boarding: not offered (boarding fees listed as 0).

Notes on availability of detailed fee data

- Publicly accessible summaries and directory entries provide a clear annual range and list a small number of specific extra charges (registration deposit, IB deposit, IB exam fee). These sources do not provide the full, year-by-year tuition schedule broken down into per-term amounts for each school year (e.g., separate published amounts for Kindergarten, Primary years, Middle years, IGCSE/IB years), nor do they publish a detailed billing calendar or published payment-method list in the material reviewed. The resources consulted include current directory summaries and institutional descriptions.
Wellbeing

Social and Emotional Learning (SEL)

The school operates within an international IB framework that supports students' social and emotional development through its globally oriented programme structure and pastoral practices.

Special Educational Needs (SEN)

The school accommodates students within the IB framework and supports a diverse student body, including language development needs within English-medium instruction. (no additional public details published on the site)

English as an Additional Language (EAL)

The school uses English as the language of instruction for the IB programmes, with English language use integrated across the curriculum.

Mental Wellbeing

The school emphasizes well-being as part of its international IB environment and pastoral approach, supporting student adjustment and growth within a diverse community.

Safeguarding

The school maintains safeguarding practices appropriate for an international school community, aligned with standard IB and international school expectations (specific policies are not published on the public site).
Parent Experience

Community

The Middle School focuses on developing mutual respect among all members of the SIS community, promoting international-mindedness, and celebrating cultural diversity. It provides a balanced, concept-based curriculum that integrates concepts, knowledge, skills, attitudes and action. It encourages students to become inquiring, knowledgeable, reflective and caring individuals who think critically and communicate effectively. It fosters curiosity and creativity in a stimulating environment and supports students to take responsible risks and to act with principled integrity, preparing them for post-secondary learning in a caring, supportive setting.
Extra-Curricular Activities

Academic & Intellectual

The school offers the International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme (MYP) and has IB authorization since February 2008.

Cultural & Language

The school aims to promote international-mindedness and celebrate cultural diversity.

Community & Service

Service as Action is an essential component of the MYP, with learning outcomes linked to local and global communities.
School Events
The school has not added events