ISA Liwan International School and ULink College Guangzhou are both in Guangzhou. Both schools offer Cambridge IGCSE and Cambridge A Levels programmes, and ISA Liwan International School also offers IB, British, Advanced Placement (AP), Chinese National, EYFS and Singapore. Published annual fees are close, at RMB 204,000 - 222,000 for ISA Liwan International School and RMB 218,000 - 248,000 for ULink College Guangzhou. ISA Liwan International School takes pupils from 2 to 18, and ULink College Guangzhou from 14 to 18.
|
I
ISA Liwan International School
Guangzhou, China
|
U
ULink College Guangzhou
Guangzhou, China
|
|
|---|---|---|
| Snapshot | Snapshot | |
|
Fees / year
|
Fees / year RMB 204,000 - 222,000 | Fees / year RMB 218,000 - 248,000 |
|
Age range
|
Age range 2 - 18 years | Age range 14 - 18 years |
|
Type
|
Type Co-educational, Co-educational (boarding) | Type Co-educational (boarding) |
|
Curriculum
|
Curriculum IB (PYP), IB (MYP), IB (DP), British Curriculum, Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels, Advanced Placement (AP), Chinese National Curriculum, EYFS (Early years foundation stage), Singapore Curriculum | Curriculum Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels |
|
Pupils
|
Pupils — | Pupils 560 |
|
Typical class size
|
Typical class size — | Typical class size — |
|
Instruction language
|
Instruction language English, Mandarin | Instruction language English |
|
Opened
|
Opened 2022 | Opened 2004 |
|
Bus service
|
Bus service No | Bus service No |
| Essentials | Essentials | |
|
Location
|
Location ISA Liwan International School is on Hailong Road in Liwan District, Guangzhou — the campus sits on the Guangzhou–Foshan boundary area. The school is reported to be about 800 metres from Longxi Station on the Guangzhou–Foshan metro line, and the campus is described as adjacent to a Foshan waterway and local road links. For precise commuting details from a specific address, contact the school's admissions team. | Location ULink College Guangzhou is located at 8 Wei Li Road in Nansha District, Guangzhou, on a riverside campus surrounded by green hills and parks, close to Nansha Marina and Nansha Binhai Park. The school website notes the campus sits in the Pearl River Delta and is roughly one hour from major city centres and the region's airports (Guangzhou, Shenzhen and Hong Kong). |
|
Stages
|
Stages The school is described as a K–12 provision covering Early Years, Primary (IB PYP/UK EYFS-aligned) and Secondary (Middle and High School) programmes. The website presents pathways for Early Years through to senior grades and indicates international curriculum frameworks (IB). | Stages ULink College follows the Cambridge/CAIE pathway: IGCSE for Grade 9–10 and A Level for Grade 11–12, with more than 30 subject options listed. The curriculum pages and subject lists describe core and optional subjects for each grade band. |
|
School type
|
School type ISA Liwan is an international, co-educational day school and is part of the ISA International Education Group. The school's published material also refers to an immersive international boarding programme available for Primary, Middle and High School students; check admissions for boarding capacity and rules. | School type The school is presented on its website as an international boarding college offering IGCSE and A Level qualifications; the site includes a detailed boarding programme and residential provision. The website does not state a single-sex intake; boarding facilities and student life pages describe dormitories, residential advisers and life coaches. |
|
Pupil nationality mix
|
Pupil nationality mix — | Pupil nationality mix — |
|
Additional learning support
|
Additional learning support The school's public pages do not give a detailed published special educational needs (SEN) or additional learning needs (ALN) policy for ISA Liwan specifically. ISA group schools publish Access & Inclusion frameworks (for example ISA Wuhan's Access & Inclusion policy describing tiered support), so parents should contact ISA Liwan admissions to request the school's current learning‑support policy, assessment process and examples of in‑school provisions. | Additional learning support The website describes an EAL (English as an Additional Language) programme for incoming English-language learners and a Learning Center that provides IELTS/TOEFL/SAT preparation, individual tutoring and out-of-school programmes. Student-support listings also include personal counselling and college-planning services; the site does not describe a separate, dedicated SEN department, so parents with specific additional needs should contact admissions for details. |
|
Country affiliation
|
Country affiliation ISA Liwan is an international school located in Guangzhou, China, and is operated by the ISA International Education Group; it is not presented as being affiliated to any foreign national government. | Country affiliation ULink College is funded by Guangdong ULink Education Group and is authorised by Cambridge Assessment International Education (CAIE) and Edexcel; it is based in Mainland China. |
|
Religious affiliation
|
Religious affiliation The school does not state any religious affiliation on its public pages; it presents itself as a secular international school. | Religious affiliation The school website does not indicate any religious affiliation. For confirmation about religious or values-based programmes, contact the admissions office. |
|
School day structure
|
School day structure The school's public website does not publish a detailed daily timetable (start/end times or exact break/lunch times) for each age group. For specific start/end times, daily schedules and any before/after‑school care options, contact the admissions team listed on the school's contact page. | School day structure The site has a “Daily Schedule” page and describes student life routines, but it does not publish fixed start/end times or specific break/lunch times online. The admissions or student-life office can provide the current term timetable and daily hours on request. |
|
Bus service details
|
Bus service details The school describes an organised school‑bus service operated through a school bus centre; the site notes routes are designed so individual journeys take under an hour. The bus service is presented as a school‑managed transport option — parents should contact admissions for route maps, stop locations, costs, pick‑up/drop‑off times and safety arrangements. | Bus service details Living-on-campus information states the school operates a dedicated shuttle team and provides shuttle/transport services for students and staff, with regular vehicle inspection and maintenance; however, specific routes, stops and external provider names are not listed on the site. Parents should request route maps, pickup points and costs from admissions or the transport office when enquiring. |
| Fees | Fees | |
|
Fee details
|
Fee details Application fee - A one-off application/enrolment fee is reported as RMB 1,000. Tuition fees (full detail by year group) - Nursery 2 (age 2): Annual tuition RMB 208,000 (per-term equivalent RMB 104,000 if divided into two equal terms). - Kindergarten 1 (age 3): Annual tuition RMB 208,000 (per-term equivalent RMB 104,000). - Kindergarten 2 (age 4): Annual tuition RMB 238,000 (per-term equivalent RMB 119,000). - Kindergarten 3 (age 5): Annual tuition RMB 238,000 (per-term equivalent RMB 119,000). - Grade 1 – Grade 3 (primary lower years): Annual tuition RMB 258,000 (per-term equivalent RMB 129,000). - Grade 4 – Grade 5 (primary upper years): Annual tuition RMB 268,000 (per-term equivalent RMB 134,000). - Grade 6 – Grade 8 (lower secondary/MYP): Annual tuition RMB 288,000 (per-term equivalent RMB 144,000). - Grade 9 – Grade 10 (IGCSE/early upper secondary): Annual tuition RMB 298,000 (per-term equivalent RMB 149,000). - Grade 11 – Grade 12 (IB Diploma/A-levels): Annual tuition RMB 308,000 (per-term equivalent RMB 154,000). Billing schedule and payment terms - For the ISA Wenhua (domestic) track, official approvals list tuition on a per-semester basis (for example: primary RMB 102,000 per semester; lower secondary RMB 111,000 per semester). This same local approval also specifies semester-based boarding charges where applicable. - For the international (foreign-children) school, published materials show annual tuition figures by grade; the school's published fees are presented as annual amounts and parents are directed to the school for billing arrangements (many international schools offer semester or instalment options, but the school's published fee list provides annual totals). Boarding fees - Boarding is available. Reported figures indicate an optional boarding charge equivalent to RMB 50,000 per year (reported as RMB 25,000 per semester in some official notices for the Wenhua/domestic school). Other costs and common additional fees - Additional variable charges commonly applied: meals, school bus, uniforms, textbooks and learning materials, external examination fees, extracurricular activities, and one-off enrolment deposits or assurance fees. Local public notices state that ancillary/service charges follow public-school management rules. Specific amounts for these items are not listed in the school's public fee summary. Refund information - No detailed public refund policy for tuition or deposits was found in the school's public fee disclosures. The school's charging framework is subject to Guangzhou municipal fee approval and ancillary charges are governed by local regulations. Parents should expect refund and cancellation handling to follow those regulatory and contractual terms. Fee payment options - The school's public fee listings do not explicitly publish a full list of accepted payment methods. Typical channels for international schools in China include international bank transfer (SWIFT), domestic bank transfer, and local digital payments (Alipay/WeChat) or card payments; however, no definitive public statement of accepted methods for ISA Liwan was located in the published fee pages. For precise payment instructions and available instalment plans, the school's admissions office is the listed point of contact. Summary of sources and limits of public information - Published fee amounts by grade and boarding levels are available in the school-fee summaries and education directories; local government approvals specify semester fees for the Wenhua/domestic track. Public materials do not provide a complete public schedule of application/registration timing, the school's formal refund policy text, or a definitive public list of accepted payment methods. | Fee details Application & one‑off fees - Application fee: third‑party listings vary; reported values include RMB 500 and RMB 600 (one‑time). - Registration / admission deposit: some sources show a one‑time registration/admission charge around RMB 5,000–2,000 (reported variably by third‑party listings). Tuition fees (by year group) - Middle school (初中部): RMB 218,000 per academic year. Equivalent per term if split into three equal instalments: RMB 72,667 per term; if split into two equal instalments: RMB 109,000 per instalment. - High school (高中部): RMB 248,000 per academic year. Equivalent per term if split into three equal instalments: RMB 82,667 per term; if split into two equal instalments: RMB 124,000 per instalment. Boarding and catering - Four‑bed room (excluding weekends): RMB 45,800 per academic year. - Four‑bed room (including weekends): RMB 55,700 per academic year. - School bus: fee depends on route (route‑based pricing). Other costs and typical ancillary charges - Uniform: reported by market listings at approximately RMB 3,500–3,800 (one‑off). School bus and meal cards are additional where used. - Examination, external assessment or optional programme fees (IGCSE/A‑Level entries, overseas study programmes) may be charged separately; specific exam entry fees are not listed on the public fee summary above. Billing schedule, payment terms and refunds - The school publishes annual tuition and boarding figures; a detailed per‑term billing schedule and explicit public refund policy are not included on the fee summary pages. Reported one‑time application/registration charges are typically shown as single, non‑recurring items by third‑party listings. Payment options (common methods used for international school fees) - Common payment channels for international school fees include bank transfer (domestic or international), credit/debit card and international payment services (e.g., Flywire). Specific payment channels for this school are not listed on the public fee summary; parents commonly use bank transfer or internationally supported payment providers for cross‑border payments. |
| Diving deeper | Diving deeper | |
|
Boarding arrangements
|
Boarding arrangements ISA Liwan offers an International Boarding Community for students from primary to high school. Boarding facilities include a study area and a student lounge on each floor, with two house parents per floor to guide and support boarders. A UK-based Head of Boarding oversees the programme; security includes curfews and Wellbeing Center support, with ongoing communication with parents. | Boarding arrangements ULink College Guangzhou offers on-campus boarding. Rooms accommodate four students. Two boarding options exist: RMB 45,800 per school year for a room of four without weekend stay, and RMB 55,700 per school year for a room of four with weekend stay. |
|
Uniform requirement
|
Uniform requirement The school has a uniform. Uniforms are designed from washable materials for comfort and practicality, suitable for each season, and include formal wear, sportswear, swimwear, ties, and shoes. | Uniform requirement — |
|
Food options
|
Food options The cafeteria serves Chinese, Western, vegetarian, bakery, and pastry meals, along with global cuisine. It can support events such as parties and baking and non-baking lessons. | Food options Dining on campus is provided by COMEMOS, SunGlint's catering brand. COMEMOS offers Chinese and Western cuisines, noodles, vegetarian meals, and over a hundred varieties of dishes weekly. The dining area is located on the southwest side of the campus with a riverfront view. |
|
House system
|
House system ISA Liwan has a four-house system. The four houses are 弘毅、博学、求真、至善, and the system supports pastoral care, cross-age collaboration, competitions, and student leadership, with house points contributing to a sense of belonging. | House system — |
|
Governance and ownership
|
Governance and ownership The school is part of the ISA International Education Group (ISAIEG), a network of international schools that provides diverse pathways such as IB, CNC, A Level, AP, HKDSE and other programmes. | Governance and ownership The school is funded by Guangdong ULink Education Group. ULink College Guangzhou is accredited by the Council of International Schools. It is a member school of International Schools Services (ISS), Search Associates, and The Principals' Training Centre. Cambridge Assessment International Education CAIE and Pearson Edexcel provide and support IGCSE and A Level courses; the school is an official CAIE professional development centre. |
| Academics | Academics | |
|
Curriculum details
|
Curriculum details ISA Liwan operates a continuous K–12 programme (ages 2–18) that integrates IB frameworks with UK, Singapore and Chinese national standards and delivers bilingual English–Chinese instruction. Early Years and Primary (EY–G5) follow the IB PYP candidate framework alongside UK/EYFS and referenced UK/Singapore standards for literacy and mathematics, with immersive English plus regular Chinese/mother‑tongue lessons. Middle school is built around the IB MYP framework and a Cambridge pathway, with Singapore math/science benchmarks and elements of the Chinese national curriculum. Upper secondary provides multiple external pathways and qualifications—IGCSE for lower secondary assessment and post‑16 options including IBDP, A‑Level, AP electives and HKDSE—alongside specialist arts and elective programmes. The school also notes small class sizes, a mentor system and an extensive co‑curricular offer (60–100+ clubs/CCAs) to support pastoral and skills development. | Curriculum details ULink College Guangzhou delivers Cambridge-authorised IGCSE and A Level programmes for senior secondary students. IGCSE is offered as a two‑year programme for Grades 9–10 with compulsory courses (Mathematics, Chinese, English, Physics, Chemistry, PE, PSHE, project work and university‑preparation lessons) and a broad set of option subjects including Accounting, Art & Design, Business Studies, Sociology, Geography, History, Economics, Biology, Computer Science, Music, Spanish, Japanese, French, Drama and Design Engineering. The school also provides a one‑year IGCSE pathway for Grade 10 with core subjects (Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Chinese, English, PE, PSHE and university‑preparation) and limited electives (Economics, Biology). The A Level programme runs for two years (Grades 11–12); core elements include Mathematics, English, PSHE and university‑preparation lessons, and students may choose from more than 30 A Level options such as Further Mathematics, Psychology, Physics, Chemistry, Accounting, Economics, Computer Science, Biology, Art & Design, Business, Sociology, History, Geography, Japanese, Music, Drama and the Cambridge International Project Qualification (IPQ). The curriculum also emphasises PSHE (personal, social and health education) and weekly university‑guidance lessons alongside project and admissions activities to prepare students for overseas study. |
|
Student teacher ratio
|
Student teacher ratio — | Student teacher ratio — |
|
Exam results
|
Exam results — | Exam results — |
|
Higher education progression
|
Higher education progression — | Higher education progression — |
|
Gifted and talented
|
Gifted and talented — | Gifted and talented — |
|
Academic calendar
|
Academic calendar — | Academic calendar — |
| Wellbeing & support | Wellbeing & support | |
|
Social & emotional learning
|
Social & emotional learning ISA Liwan states that “Student Support” is integral to school life and lists specific pastoral systems including mentorship programmes, a house system, boarding services, parent–school communication and student management to promote a positive, inclusive community and students' wellbeing. The school says these systems are designed to nurture students' personal and social development and to provide personalised care through higher adult-to-student ratios in houses. The site also notes a Learning Support Centre that works with pastoral teams to support individual learners. These provisions are described on the school's Pastoral Care page. | Social & emotional learning ULC describes a formal Growth Counselling (成长辅导) programme aimed at supporting students' social, emotional and academic development. Growth mentors provide individual and group counselling on issues such as interpersonal skills, stress management, bullying, friendship, low mood, emotional control and eating disorders; sessions are confidential except where there is a clear safety risk. The school also operates a dual-homeroom system (one local, one foreign) and weekly grade-level meetings coordinated by a Grade Level Coordinator to monitor academic and pastoral needs. Teachers, parents or students can refer issues to the Growth Counselling office and there is a documented referral process for teachers and parents. These arrangements are described on the school's student-support pages. |
|
Special educational needs (SEN)
|
Special educational needs (SEN) The school's website describes a Learning Support Centre and a Student Support Centre that provide learning support integrated with teaching, pastoral and psychological services. ISA Liwan says these centres aim to create a positive environment and offer academic and learning support for students with different abilities. The website does not specify which particular categories of special educational needs (for example, specific learning difficulties, autism spectrum, or physical disabilities) it can support. The site also does not present itself as a specialist SEN institution; it describes mainstream student support rather than specialist special-education provision. | Special educational needs (SEN) ULC's published admissions policy states the school does not have the hardware or software facilities to accept students with special physical conditions, emotional needs, or learning disabilities, and that such applications are not accepted. The site separately describes academic support through a Learning Center (standardised-test preparation and subject tutoring), but the admissions statement makes clear the school is not a specialist SEN institution and does not admit students whose needs require specialist facilities. The admissions policy is explicit about this restriction rather than describing specific SEN support services. For clarification or case-specific questions the school's admissions office is listed on the website. |
|
English as an additional language
|
English as an additional language Early Years and primary information shows an immersive bilingual approach with English-language lessons and specific EAL provision listed in timetables, and the school describes differentiated language teaching from early years. Boarding and pastoral information also states the school runs targeted language and English-improvement courses (including TOEFL/IELTS preparation and small-group English classes) as part of its boarding learning support. These pages indicate curricular and extra-curricular English support rather than a standalone external EAL certification programme. Details about staff numbers or named EAL specialists are not published on the site. | English as an additional language ULC states that Grade 9 entrants are placed into intermediate or advanced English classes based on entrance English scores and that an EAL teaching team provides support for Grade 9 intermediate students. The school says EAL teachers work closely with subject teachers inside and outside lessons to support access to curriculum, joint planning and assessment, and lists specific measures such as peer tutoring, dedicated reading time and drama classes. The school's Learning Center additionally offers IELTS/TOEFL/SAT preparation and individual tutoring, which the site presents as broader language and academic support. These EAL arrangements are described on the curriculum and learning-support pages. |
|
Mental wellbeing
|
Mental wellbeing The website describes a Wellbeing/Student Support Centre that provides group activities, group and individual counselling and preventive and intervention services, and it says boarding staff must hold a mental-health education certificate to better support boarders. The school also notes that experienced psychological experts and teachers will provide psychological counselling and wellbeing lectures. The Health Clinic page indicates on-campus medical provision and CPR/AED training that support student health and emergency response. The site therefore presents a combination of counselling, boarding-focused pastoral care and on-site health services as its mental-wellbeing provision. | Mental wellbeing The Growth Counselling page describes individual and group counselling that explicitly covers stress management, mood concerns, peer issues, and eating-disorder related support; sessions are provided during school days and students may self-refer or be referred by teachers or parents using the stated referral process. The school's Child Protection Policy (public PDF) further describes staff training, student education on safety and reporting procedures, and the school's responsibilities for creating a safe environment. The counselling page also states confidentiality is maintained unless there is a clear risk of self-harm or harm to others, in which case staff follow referral/reporting procedures. These provisions are documented on the counselling page and in the published child-protection policy. |
|
Safeguarding
|
Safeguarding ISA Liwan's website describes campus security measures (an ‘advanced intelligent campus system', 24-hour security and surveillance), boarding safeguards such as house parents, curfew and regular roll-calls, and an on-site Health Clinic with nursing cover and emergency preparedness (CPR/AED training). The boarding page states house parents are “ever present” for counselling and safety, and the Pastoral Care page describes the house system and home–school communication as part of student protection. The site sets out these operational safeguarding measures but does not publish a clearly labelled, standalone child-protection or safeguarding policy document that is publicly accessible from the pages reviewed. | Safeguarding ULC publishes a detailed Child Protection Policy (downloadable PDF) that sets out the policy statement, definitions of abuse, reporting procedures, a flowchart for suspected incidents, staff code of conduct, recruitment checks, and required training for staff and students. The policy references Chinese law and the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, states the school will provide parent briefings and distribute the policy to parents at the start of each school year, and names the principal and Growth Mentors as contact points for child-protection matters. The full policy and procedures are available for download from the school website. |
|
Safeguarding policy
|
Safeguarding policy — | Safeguarding policy — |
| Facilities | Facilities | |
|
Facilities overview
|
Facilities overview — | Facilities overview ULink College Guangzhou is located in Nansha District, Guangzhou, in the Pearl River Delta. The campus has four main academic buildings forming a quad with main teaching facilities including classrooms, laboratories, a library, a multi-media Lecture Hall, and an e-Learning Centre. The grounds include gymnasiums, an art centre, tennis courts, a football pitch and athletics field, basketball courts, a swimming pool, and a two-story multi-purpose commons area. The entire campus has fast WiFi and Microsoft Office/Cloud OS licensing for students. It is approximately one hour from major centres and airports, including Guangzhou, Hong Kong and Shenzhen. |
|
Sports facilities
|
Sports facilities — | Sports facilities The campus provides gymnasiums, a tennis complex, a football pitch and athletics field, basketball courts, and a swimming pool. |
|
Academic facilities
|
Academic facilities — | Academic facilities The four main academic buildings form a quad that houses classrooms, laboratories, a library, a multi-media Lecture Hall, and an e-Learning Centre. |
|
Extra curricular facilities
|
Extra curricular facilities — | Extra curricular facilities Over 30 student activities cover sports, music, art, economics, science and technology, with a Student Union offering leadership roles. Students participate in clubs such as dancing, debating and cooking, and school sport teams compete against others. The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award is offered. The Study Abroad Programme includes a Brisbane, Australia location for G9 students, lasting seven weeks with integrated academic and language components and homestay arrangements. |
| Parent experience | Parent experience | |
|
History
|
History ISA Liwan was developed by the ISA International Education Group (ISAIEG) as a single K–12 campus that includes ISA Wenhua Liwan School (dual pathways) and ISA Liwan International School. The project was built with independent property rights under ISAIEG and an investment reported at about US$180 million. The campus was planned to open in the autumn of 2022 and operates both international and domestic pathways, with an international boarding programme. The campus build and services have been recognised with a WELL Gold certification for its built environment. | History ULink College Guangzhou was founded in 2004 by Guangdong Ulink Education Service Co. in cooperation with South China Normal University; it began as an international programme hosted on the university campus and was one of the early Cambridge course centres in China. ULC grew through the 2000s (including a Nanhai campus opened in 2006) and later consolidated its operations into the Nansha campus as part of a strategic relocation in 2014. The school has recorded multiple graduating cohorts since its opening and pursued formal international accreditation, achieving full CIS accreditation in 2022. |
|
Community
|
Community The school presents itself as a multicultural boarding and day community that runs regular family-facing and cultural events. Recent school news lists activities such as an IPY Curriculum Night (19 Sept 2024), a Mid‑Autumn Festival celebration, and visits from university representatives (for example, an admissions visit from the University of Wisconsin–Madison). The school also describes ongoing student support structures and a wide range of co‑curricular offerings including house and mentor programmes. | Community The school community is centred on the Nansha campus and includes day students and boarders, with campus facilities such as classrooms, library, sports halls, courts and student accommodation. ULC publishes a periodic newsletter and maintains an event calendar to share student activities, academic updates and community news with families. Regular on‑campus activities and themed events bring together students, faculty and parents across academic, cultural and extracurricular programmes. |
|
Parent teacher association
|
Parent teacher association ISA Liwan's parent organisation is run as a Parent Support Group (PSG) that was established in 2022 with elected representatives and an executive committee. The PSG is described as a bridge between families and the school, intended to deepen home–school collaboration and advise on school activities. School reporting notes a formal PSG launch with elected officers and a special reception for representatives, and more recently a Home‑School Partnership meeting held on 23 October 2024. Mr. Li Haihong is reported as the PSG chair, and senior school leaders (including the campus head and the international school head) have participated in PSG meetings. Published accounts of PSG work cite practical activities such as planning festival booths, advising on Curriculum Night and other events, and coordinating communication between families and the school for both domestic and international pathways. | Parent teacher association ULC organises structured parent engagement rather than a single formal PTA body: a monthly "Principal's Tea" invites parents to speak directly with school leadership about teaching, facilities and student welfare. The school also runs "Parent Classroom" sessions—periodic workshops and talks on topics such as overseas university applications and adolescent development—designed to give parents practical information and strategies. Class teachers (including designated Chinese‑side homeroom teachers) act as regular liaisons between families and the school, supporting day‑to‑day communication and individual student concerns. ULC's newsletters and published issues further document school events and invite parental involvement in community initiatives. Through these channels the school seeks ongoing two‑way communication between families and staff, with follow‑up processes for issues raised at meetings. |
| Extra-curricular | Extra-curricular | |
|
Academic & intellectual
|
Academic & intellectual — | Academic & intellectual — |
|
Arts & creative
|
Arts & creative — | Arts & creative — |
|
Cultural & language
|
Cultural & language — | Cultural & language The school offers a Study Abroad Program to help ULC students meet academic entry standards and develop study, language and cultural skills. |
|
Social & hobbies
|
Social & hobbies — | Social & hobbies — |
|
Community & service
|
Community & service — | Community & service — |
|
Leadership & professional
|
Leadership & professional — | Leadership & professional A College Counselling program is available to support students with university applications. The school is accredited by the Council of International Schools (CIS) as of 28 April 2022. |
|
Lifestyle & wellbeing
|
Lifestyle & wellbeing — | Lifestyle & wellbeing The campus is located in Nansha District, Guangzhou, at 8 Wei Li Road. The facilities include gymnasiums, an art centre, tennis courts, a football pitch and athletics field, basketball courts, and a swimming pool. The school operates boarding facilities with housing and catering options. |
| Language provision | Language provision | |
|
Language provision
|
Language provision Languages taught include Chinese and English as core languages, with Additional Languages available. In the Primary Years Programme, Language is Chinese, English, and Additional Languages, with curriculum based on UK and Singapore standards. For IB Programme students, the school provides Chinese and English dual-native language teaching. In the HKDSE track, Other Languages such as French, German and Japanese are offered. | Language provision The school teaches in English. Optional language subjects include Spanish, Japanese, and French. |
|
Bilingual teaching
|
Bilingual teaching Chinese and English dual-native language teaching is provided for all IB Programme students, designed to help students become Chinese-English international talents. | Bilingual teaching — |
|
Immersion programs
|
Immersion programs — | Immersion programs English language learning is delivered in an English immersion environment. All subjects are taught in English. Grade 9 students are placed into intermediate or advanced English language classes based on entrance test results. EAL specialists work closely with Grade 9 subject teachers to support language development. |
| Reputation | Reputation | |
|
Awards
|
Awards — | Awards Summary of school-level awards on the ULink College website for the five-year period Jan 1, 2021 → Jan 1, 2026: - No school-level awards (that is, awards given to the school itself rather than to individual students) are listed on the ULink College website for the period from January 1, 2021 through January 1, 2026. I checked the school's "About / History", "Authorization & Partnership", "Competitions & Awards" and "News" pages and did not find any entries that present a school-wide award dated within that five-year window. Context (older, school-level recognitions that appear on the site but fall outside the requested five-year window): - "Ten-year contribution Award" (Cambridge International Examinations) — listed in the school history as received in 2014; this is an institutional recognition from Cambridge for contributions to Cambridge programmes in China. (This is outside the 2021–2026 window you requested.) - A Cambridge "Outstanding/Distinguished contribution" recognition referenced on the partner-schools page (site lists earlier Cambridge recognitions, also outside the 2021–2026 window). If you'd like, I can (a) search external sources beyond the school website for any school-level awards announced publicly in 2021–2025, or (b) prepare a short list of the school's recent recognitions and student-level awards (with clear labelling of which are student awards) drawn from the site. Which would you prefer? |
|
Accreditations
|
Accreditations 1) IB Diploma Programme — ISA Liwan states it achieved authorization to offer the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme in December 2023 (school IB code 062751). Significance: IB DP authorization means the school is officially permitted by the International Baccalaureate Organization to deliver the two‑year pre‑university DP curriculum and have students assessed within the IB system. 2) IB Middle Years Programme (MYP) — the school reports it received IBO authorisation for the MYP in June 2024. Significance: MYP authorization indicates the school may implement the IB framework for students roughly aged 11–16 and use the MYP's interdisciplinary, concept‑based approach. 3) IB Primary Years Programme (PYP) — the school's Early Years / Primary pages list ISA Liwan as an IB PYP Candidate School (pursuing PYP authorization). Significance: Candidate status means the school is actively working toward full PYP authorization and follows the IB's candidate procedures while preparing for evaluation. 4) College Board (AP) authorization / CEEB code — the school page states ISA Liwan has received authorization from the College Board to offer Advanced Placement (AP) courses and lists a CEEB code (428848). Significance: College Board authorization permits the school to offer AP courses and register students for AP exams; the CEEB code is used in US college application processes. | Accreditations Below are the accreditations, authorizations and formal memberships shown on ULink College Guangzhou's official website (one-line explanation and significance for each): - Council of International Schools (CIS) — ULink College is fully accredited by CIS. CIS is a global non-profit membership organization that evaluates schools against international standards for governance, teaching and student support; CIS accreditation indicates the school has met a recognised set of international benchmarks. - Cambridge Assessment International Education (CAIE / Cambridge) — ULink College is an authorised Cambridge centre (registration CN399) and offers IGCSE and A Level courses. Cambridge authorisation means the school is approved to teach and enter candidates for Cambridge international qualifications. - Pearson Edexcel — ULink College is authorised by Edexcel (registration 91829) to deliver IGCSE and A Level qualifications. Edexcel authorisation confirms the school is approved to deliver Pearson's UK-based academic qualifications. - Aptis (British Council) — the school is listed as an “Aptis demonstration school.” Aptis is an English-language assessment tool developed by the British Council; being a demonstration school indicates the institution is recognised by the British Council as using or promoting this assessment approach. - Memberships of international school organisations — the school lists membership/partnership with several organisations that support international-school practice (for example, ISS – International School Services; Search Associates; and PTC – an international teacher training organisation). These memberships provide access to professional development, recruitment and school-support services rather than being formal government accreditations. |
| Admissions | Admissions | |
|
Admissions
|
Admissions 1. Initial enquiry and application: Start by submitting the school's online admission inquiry or application form (the school publishes an enquiry form for grade intention and contact details). The school's published process asks parents to provide the application form plus “supporting materials” and to indicate the intended grade; the site's enquiry form shows the EY1–G11 grade choices and basic contact fields. Because the school's site does not list every required document, parents should be prepared to provide recent school reports, passport/ID and any residency paperwork the family holds and confirm exact document requirements with admissions. 2. Admissions office review: After you submit the application and supporting materials the Admissions Office reviews the file to confirm the candidate's eligibility and the appropriate entry level. The school's published outline states that this review is an early gate before arranging assessments and helps determine whether an entrance assessment or interview is needed. Expect the review to consider the age cutoff (the school uses a September 1 cut‑off for age placement) and the published approximate class sizes (around 20 pupils for EY and ~24 for primary classes). 3. Entrance assessment or interview: The school arranges an entrance examination, assessment or interview as part of the process to place the child at the correct level; this applies across age ranges listed in the admissions plan. Parents should ask admissions in advance what format the assessment will take for their child's grade (group activities for early years, literacy/math tasks for primary, subject tests for older grades). Bring originals of school reports or samples of recent work if requested — these often speed up the placement decision. 4. Placement confirmation: Following assessment, the school confirms the recommended enrollment level and class allocation; this is the point when you will know whether there is a place available for the intended intake. Because class sizes are capped (the school publishes approximate sizes), availability for a particular grade can vary and places may fill quickly for popular year groups. If you need a specific start date or have constraints (boarding, transport, bilingual needs), mention these early so they can be considered in placement. 5. Offer letter and invoice: The school issues an Admissions Offer Letter together with an invoice if a place is offered; the published procedure explicitly lists issuing an offer and invoice as the next step. Parents should review the offer package carefully for the payment deadline, whether the fee quoted is annual or first‑year only, and any non‑refundable registration charges. The school's admissions materials make clear that payment by the stated deadline is required to secure the place. 6. Tuition and fees: The school's publicly reported annual tuition range for the international stream is in the region of CNY 208,000–308,000 (figures published for the 2025/2026 academic year show per‑grade totals that vary by year). Parents should confirm which extras are not included (for example, some schools exclude transport, uniforms, exam or activity fees) and request an itemised invoice so they know what is covered by the published amount. Fees are subject to change and the published figures should be verified directly with the school before making a payment. 7. Payment and enrolment finalisation: Pay the invoice by the deadline stated on the Offer Letter; the school's procedure states “Pay fees before specific deadline” as the final step before enrolment. Keep proof of payment and request written confirmation of enrolment and start date. If your child requires a visa, boarding place or other administrative support, confirm those arrangements as payments are completed so the school can prepare arrival and orientation. 8. Practical points and follow up: Note the school's age cut‑off (September 1) and class capacity when planning application timing; late applications may require waiting for a vacancy or joining via the school's intake windows. Keep a copy of all exchanged correspondence and the Offer Letter for your records. | Admissions 1. Learn about the school and make an appointment. Start by visiting the ULink College website, following the school's official WeChat account (ULC剑桥国际高中) and, if useful, viewing alumni or news pages to see recent developments. The school encourages campus visits and provides an online reservation system; the admissions office is available Monday–Friday 9:00–17:00 for questions. Parents should note the admissions phone number and email and prepare any questions about grade placement, boarding, or special programs before the visit. 2. Register for the entrance assessment. All applicants must complete the school's registration form and sign up for the centrally organized entrance exam (the site points families to a QR-code/WeChat registration via the ULink admissions service account, ULinkEducation). Follow the registration instructions carefully and keep any confirmation or reference number the system issues. Parents should check registration deadlines and save screenshots or emails showing the student is scheduled, because space can be limited. 3. Take the entrance exam (and understand the intake principle). ULink College uses a centrally administered entrance exam and applies a ‘selective and first-come, first-served' admissions principle; if the intake is full the school may close admissions for that intake. The site also states that, where applicable, mid-term transfer seats are limited or (on some pages) not offered—so timing matters. Parents should plan for the scheduled exam date, arrive with identification and past school records, and be prepared that available places can fill quickly. 4. Know what the school assesses and the retake policy. Admission requires meeting standards in English and mathematics and passing an interview; applicants who fail a subject may be permitted to retake that subject, and the site states each student may have up to two attempts in the same admission year. Ensure your student's recent school reports and any English-test results are ready to upload or present, and be aware that the interview assesses communication and suitability for the CAIE (IGCSE/A‑Level) pathway. If your child has significant learning differences or medical needs, note the school's published position that it does not have the facilities to accept students with certain special educational or significant medical needs. 5. Placement rules, special programs and grade exceptions. If a student passes the exam for the requested grade they will be placed in that grade; students who pass a higher‑grade exam may choose to advance one year (G11 entrants are an exception to the jump‑grade policy). For G9 students entering the autumn intake, the school requires participation in an overseas program at a sister school in Australia (about one month) to support transition into an English‑immersion curriculum. Parents should confirm these program requirements (and any travel logistics or costs) before completing registration. 6. Accept the offer and complete registration on time. When a student receives an offer (an admission letter), the family must complete the school's seat‑registration steps within the stated deadline; the site warns that offers are valid only for that admissions season and unregistered seats will be released. Before registering, review the published tuition, boarding and other fees for the relevant school year so you understand the payment schedule and refund/forfeiture conditions. If you need to defer or have timing questions, contact admissions immediately — contact details (phone and admissions email) are listed on the site. |
|
Scholarships
|
Scholarships ISA Liwan publishes a scholarship programme for its international school students covering several categories (academic, arts, sports, science, environment, public service, entrepreneurship and business). The school states scholarship waivers range from 30% up to 100% of annual tuition and can be awarded for up to a maximum of three years; the published sections also list grade bands for eligibility (for example: academic scholarships for Grades 6–12; arts/science/sports for Grades 1–10; environment/public welfare/entrepreneurship for Grades 7–10). The school's scholarship page also indicates the programme is open to both incoming and current students and notes a large aggregate scholarship fund cited on the site; parents should request the scholarship application form, the specific eligibility criteria and deadlines (separate application and supporting evidence are normally required) and confirm whether awards are renewable and conditional on academic or co‑curricular performance. | Scholarships The ULink College Guangzhou public website does not list scholarships, merit awards, or a formal financial‑aid program for the Guangzhou (ULC) campus. The tuition and boarding pages publish the annual fees for new students (the site shows figures labelled for the 2025–2026 school year), but there is no published page describing scholarships or how to apply for them. If you are interested in fee reductions, merit awards, sibling discounts, or other forms of financial support, ask admissions directly by phone or email; they can confirm whether any campus‑specific scholarships exist and provide application criteria, deadlines, and documentation requirements. (Note: other campuses or schools under the ULink group have, at times, published entrance‑scholarship programs — that does not mean ULC Guangzhou has the same arrangements; verify with the Guangzhou admissions office.) |
|
Waitlist
|
Waitlist The school's published admissions procedure (application → review → assessment → offer → invoice → payment) does not publicly describe a formal, ranked waiting‑list or pool on the pages examined. The admissions pages set out the standard steps for assessment and offer but do not state whether unfilled applications are placed on a waitlist or how such a list would be managed. Because waitlist policies and vacancy management can be handled case‑by‑case, parents should assume there may be limited immediate availability for some grades and contact the Admissions Office to ask whether they operate a waitlist, how it is ranked (if at all), and whether any preferences (siblings, entry date) affect priority. For direct confirmation, use the school's admissions contact listed by ISA International Education Group (admissions@isalwis.com). | Waitlist ULink College's public admissions pages do not describe a formal waitlist or pool that is maintained after an intake fills. The school's stated policy is that recruitment is ‘first‑come, first‑served' and that once planned intake numbers are reached, recruitment for that intake is finished. At the same time, there are mixed statements on different pages about mid‑term transfer (插班) availability: one page indicates no mid‑term places are available for a given intake while another page says transfer applications are accepted year‑round but places are limited and handled case‑by‑case. Because the site does not publish a clear waitlist procedure, parents who want to be placed on a potential list or notified of future openings should contact the admissions office directly (phone or admissions@ulinkcollege.com) to ask whether the school will hold names for future openings and how that process is managed. |
| View full profile → | View full profile → | |
Comparing more schools, or want notes and ratings of your own? Build your own compare board.