Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science and Olive Tree International Academy are both in Hangzhou, about 40 km apart. Both schools offer Cambridge A Levels and Chinese National programmes. Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science also offers British and Cambridge IGCSE, and Olive Tree International Academy also offers IB and Advanced Placement (AP). Published annual fees are RMB 138,000 - 228,000 at Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science and RMB 120,000 - 180,000 at Olive Tree International Academy, which puts Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science roughly 22% higher. Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science takes pupils from 2 to 18, and Olive Tree International Academy from 6 to 18.
|
H
Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science
Hangzhou, China
|
O
Olive Tree International Academy
Hangzhou, China
|
|
|---|---|---|
| Snapshot | Snapshot | |
|
Fees / year
|
Fees / year RMB 138,000 - 228,000 | Fees / year RMB 120,000 - 180,000 |
|
Age range
|
Age range 2 - 18 years | Age range 6 - 18 years |
|
Type
|
Type Co-educational (boarding) | Type Co-educational (boarding) |
|
Curriculum
|
Curriculum British Curriculum, Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels, Chinese National Curriculum | Curriculum IB (PYP), IB (MYP), Advanced Placement (AP), Cambridge A Levels, Chinese National Curriculum |
|
Pupils
|
Pupils 25 | Pupils — |
|
Typical class size
|
Typical class size — | Typical class size — |
|
Instruction language
|
Instruction language English, Mandarin | Instruction language English, Mandarin |
|
Opened
|
Opened 2018 | Opened 2017 |
|
Bus service
|
Bus service No | Bus service No |
| Essentials | Essentials | |
|
Location
|
Location The school is in Hangzhou's Future Sci‑Tech City (Yuhang District), at No.1 Guowen Road — a newer tech and residential area whose campus is set amid landscaped areas (tea fields and bamboo are referenced on the site). Future Sci‑Tech City is served by Hangzhou metro lines and major roads, so the area has public-transport links to the city; check local metro maps for the nearest station to the campus. | Location Olive Tree International Academy is in Linping District, Hangzhou — address: No.136 Xincheng Road, Nanyuan Street. It is under 10 minutes' walk from Metro Line 9 (Nanyuan Station Exit D) and about one metro stop from Linping South high‑speed railway station; driving to Hangzhou East station takes roughly 25 minutes and many central districts are within a 30‑minute drive. |
|
Stages
|
Stages The school is organised into four main sections: a bilingual Kindergarten (ages about 3–6), Primary and Junior High (Grades 1–9, roughly ages 7–15) and Senior High (Grades 10–12, ages ~16–18); the site also describes an International School provision covering ages 3–18. | Stages The school runs Primary, Middle and High School divisions and presents itself as an IB world school at primary/middle levels while offering senior pathways that include A‑level and AP directions. This covers roughly an age range of primary through Grade 12. |
|
School type
|
School type The school is co‑educational and operates a mixed Chinese/international provision (Chinese national curriculum elements integrated with international programmes). Boarding accommodation is available and boarding is a central part of school life from Grade 7 upward. | School type The school is co‑educational and is listed by Round Square as a day and boarding school for ages about 6–18. The website describes full‑time primary, junior and senior high provision on the Hangzhou campus. |
|
Pupil nationality mix
|
Pupil nationality mix — | Pupil nationality mix — |
|
Additional learning support
|
Additional learning support Pastoral care and a tutor/house system are highlighted as the main routes for supporting students' emotional, social and academic development; the school's pastoral leadership includes staff with experience supporting pupils with special needs. For specific additional‑learning‑needs (SEN) provision or assessments, the admissions team recommends direct contact so the school can describe individual arrangements. | Additional learning support The school's primary‑level pages note relatively small classes (no more than ~25 students) with two class tutors, and they emphasise personalised and holistic education; however, the website does not publish a dedicated Special Educational Needs (SEN) policy or a named learning‑support department. For specifics about assessment, adjustments or formal SEN provision, contact the admissions team. |
|
Country affiliation
|
Country affiliation The school was founded through a partnership between Dipont Education, China's RDFZ Group and King's College School, Wimbledon (UK), so it has both Chinese and British institutional links. | Country affiliation The school is based in China (Hangzhou, Zhejiang Province) and does not present an affiliation to a foreign national education authority on its public pages; it operates international curricula alongside the national curriculum. |
|
Religious affiliation
|
Religious affiliation The school does not present a religious affiliation on its website; its published materials describe a secular, bilingual/international educational programme. | Religious affiliation The school's published mission and materials do not indicate any religious affiliation; its public pages present a secular, curriculum‑focused mission. |
|
School day structure
|
School day structure The daily timetable differs by section (kindergarten, primary/junior, senior) and teaching is organised around those sections with bilingual/co‑taught lessons described for early years and primary. The website does not publish a single, fixed start‑and‑finish time for all sections; parents should request the exact daily schedule for the relevant age group from admissions. | School day structure The website describes curriculum, programmes and holistic activities but does not publish a clear daily timetable (start/end times, break and lunch schedules) on the public site. If you need specific daily‑schedule details for planning (work or relocation), ask Admissions when you enquire. |
|
Bus service details
|
Bus service details The school has operated dedicated school‑bus routes (a news post noted eight routes when they were introduced) and has previously described careful route and safety planning; however the website does not list current routes or the carrier. Parents should contact admissions for up‑to‑date route maps, pickup points, seat availability and any transport fees. | Bus service details The public site lists nearby transport links (metro, highways and driving times) but does not state whether the school operates a dedicated school‑bus network or outsourced shuttle service. Parents relocating should confirm directly with Admissions for current bus routes, coverage and safety arrangements. Contact details are on the school site. |
| Fees | Fees | |
|
Fee details
|
Fee details Application fees - The school's published admissions material shows no separate non‑refundable application or registration fee for entry; registration/application fee is listed as "none" in the school's admissions summary. Tuition fees by year group (detailed) - Bilingual /义务教育 (listed per semester): - Primary (elementary): RMB 78,000 per semester (RMB 156,000 per year). - Junior middle (初中): RMB 88,000 per semester (RMB 176,000 per year). - KCS / 肯思外籍人员子女学校 (listed per year): - Kindergarten: RMB 138,000 per year. - Primary (外籍小学): RMB 188,000 per year. - Junior middle (外籍初中): RMB 208,000 per year. - High school (外籍高中 / A‑Level): RMB 228,000 per year. Billing schedule and payment terms - For the bilingual/义务教育 track the school publishes fees on a per‑semester basis (the posted figures are semester amounts). For the external/外籍人员子女 programme the school publishes annual tuition figures. The school's formal fee documents and admissions brochure present fees in those units. Boarding fees (where applicable) - For the义务教育 boarding options: RMB 6,300 per semester for 5‑day boarding and RMB 9,450 per semester for 7‑day boarding (equivalent to RMB 12,600 or RMB 18,900 per year respectively). - For the外籍人员子女 school, published materials indicate boarding is available from Grade 7 up (example: four‑person room fees reported at about RMB 12,600 per year in school summaries). Other costs and typical extras - Uniforms: full‑set uniform costs are published in school summaries in the range of about RMB 4,079–5,009. - Meals and daily catering: reported meal costs vary by age/choice; published ranges used in school summaries are approximately RMB 28–80 per meal/day depending on year and service. Additional items (textbooks, exam fees, specific international examination fees, co‑curricular activity fees, transport) are charged separately. Refund information - The school's publicly posted admissions pages and the downloadable fee/招生 materials do not publish a detailed, line‑by‑line refund policy in the admissions summary; specific refund or cancellation terms are not listed in those public fee statements. Fee payment options - The publicly posted admissions pages and fee brochure list fees and billing units but do not specify detailed payment channels (e.g., exact bank account, online payment, card acceptance) within the admissions summary; payment channels are handled via the school's admissions/payment portal and official fee documentation. | Fee details Application / Assessment fees - Assessment fee reported for entrance testing: RMB 500 per candidate (普思考试 / PST fee). Tuition fees (per term and per academic year) - Primary School (小学部): RMB 60,000 per term — equivalent to RMB 120,000 per academic year (two terms). - Middle School / Junior High (初中部): RMB 75,000 per term — equivalent to RMB 150,000 per academic year (two terms). - High School (高中部): RMB 90,000 per term — equivalent to RMB 180,000 per academic year (two terms). Some published summaries also present the high‑school fee expressed as RMB 180,000 per year (same total). Billing schedule and payment terms - The school publishes tuition on a per‑term (semester) basis (amounts shown above are per term). Specific billing dates, payment deadlines, late‑payment penalties and detailed payment terms (for example whether a deposit or prepayment is required at registration, and exact due dates) are not published in the publicly available admissions materials. Boarding / accommodation - The school operates on‑campus student accommodation (two student apartment buildings are provided and the school offers boarding from Year 1 onward). The fact of on‑campus dormitories and their configuration (4 students per room, independent bathroom, life supervisors, laundry facilities) is published. A separate boarding (宿舍/住宿) fee amount is not published in the materials reviewed. Other costs and typical additional charges - Published summaries and third‑party information indicate additional fees that families commonly pay at comparable schools and which are also referenced in secondary sources for this school: registration/administration fees, uniforms, textbooks and learning materials, examination fees, meals (school catering), extracurricular / activity fees, and other miscellaneous charges. Exact amounts for these items for Olive Tree International Academy are not listed on the school's public admissions pages. Refund information - A specific published refund or fee‑cancellation policy (for example for withdrawal before term start, pro‑rata refunds, or deposit returns) was not found in the publicly available admissions pages and brochures reviewed. Fee payment options - The school's public admissions content does not list specific payment channels (for example bank transfer, online payment, credit card acceptance, or on‑site cashier procedures). For questions about payment methods and invoicing, the school provides admissions contact lines. Summary of gaps / what was not published - The school publishes clear per‑term tuition amounts for primary, middle and high school but does not publish: (a) a stated application/registration fee amount (beyond the reported PST assessment fee), (b) a separate boarding fee amount, (c) detailed billing dates and payment deadlines, (d) an explicit refund policy, or (e) the accepted payment methods. These items were not available in the school's public admissions pages and common public summaries. If you will place this on an external database, use the per‑term tuition figures above (RMB 60,000; RMB 75,000; RMB 90,000) and note in your database entry that boarding costs, registration/administration fees, and payment‑method details were not published in the materials reviewed. |
| Diving deeper | Diving deeper | |
|
Boarding arrangements
|
Boarding arrangements Boarding follows an international model with boarding houses fully integrated into school life. A mix of local and expatriate staff provides supervision and pastoral support; new boarders are paired with existing boarders to help them settle, and bedrooms are allocated by age with rotating roommates to avoid isolation. Housemasters and housemistresses are Chinese-speaking and can be contacted by email or phone; the boarding staff maintain open dialogue with parents when issues arise. | Boarding arrangements — |
|
Uniform requirement
|
Uniform requirement — | Uniform requirement — |
|
Food options
|
Food options The dining program provides safe and nutritionally rich meals. Weekly meal plans are published for kindergarten through high school to show menus and ingredients. | Food options — |
|
House system
|
House system The house system is the pastoral hub of the school. It fosters a cohesive, English-speaking community where international and Chinese pupils meet regularly and participate in house activities. It delivers pastoral care, builds house spirit, and connects to co-curricular events with balanced emphasis on sport, service, culture and academics. | House system — |
|
Governance and ownership
|
Governance and ownership Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science was founded through a partnership among RDFZ King's Hangzhou, The High School Affiliated to Renmin University of China, and King's College School, Wimbledon. It operates within the Dipont Education network as a Dipont Education Independent school. | Governance and ownership — |
| Academics | Academics | |
|
Curriculum details
|
Curriculum details Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science operates a bilingual model: it delivers the Chinese National Curriculum integrated with international methodology for Grades 1–9 and a parallel International School that follows the English National Curriculum in primary and Key Stage 3. Kindergarten (ages 3–6) is an activities-based bilingual programme organised around seven curriculum strands (communication, physical, social-emotional, science, mathematics, cultural studies and creative arts) to prepare children for Grade 1. In the international secondary pathway, pupils choose Cambridge IGCSE subjects from Year/Grade 10 (compulsory English, Mandarin and mathematics plus sciences, humanities and an aesthetic) and then progress to Cambridge International AS and A‑level courses in the sixth form/Grades 11–12. Chinese‑stream students complete the compulsory Chinese curriculum through Grade 9 and may transfer into the International Curriculum Centre, where targeted English development supports access to CIE A‑levels. Across all stages the school uses mixed teams of Chinese and international teachers, increasing specialist subject teaching from upper elementary and using project‑based, co‑teaching and co‑curricular/pastoral programmes to support student development. | Curriculum details At primary level Olive Tree teaches the Chinese national compulsory curriculum enriched with International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme (PYP) approaches, using Units of Inquiry (UOI) and six transdisciplinary themes. English is streamed in Years 2–5 and mathematics is streamed in Years 4–5, with personalized extension courses for high‑ability students. The middle school blends the national curriculum with IB MYP pedagogy across eight subject groups (language & literature, language acquisition, mathematics, individuals & societies, design, arts, sciences, physical & health) and offers about 50 elective/after‑school options (robotics, languages, competitive maths, etc.). In senior school students select external qualification pathways: US AP (wide AP subject offering, MSA/College Board authorization), UK A‑Level (Cambridge/Edexcel/OxfordAQA centres) and an Art & Design pathway, and the school has introduced the Hong Kong DSE as an option from 2025. Across all stages the programme is complemented by extensive co‑curriculars and specialist facilities—team sports, music and performing arts, robotics/STEM, a plant‑research centre and astronomy equipment—to support holistic learning. |
|
Student teacher ratio
|
Student teacher ratio — | Student teacher ratio — |
|
Exam results
|
Exam results — | Exam results — |
|
Higher education progression
|
Higher education progression — | Higher education progression — |
|
Gifted and talented
|
Gifted and talented — | Gifted and talented — |
|
Academic calendar
|
Academic calendar — | Academic calendar — |
| Wellbeing & support | Wellbeing & support | |
|
Social & emotional learning
|
Social & emotional learning The school's Pastoral Care page states that pastoral care supports pupils' emotional, social and academic development and that tutors (both international and Chinese) provide daily points of personal contact for every student. It describes a tutor system, a house system and boarding pastoral support (heads of house, year leaders and tutors) as the main pastoral structures. The Approach to Learning page lists pastoral work alongside academic and co‑curricular systems as core to pupil development. The co‑curricular programme and inter‑house activities are described as ways to build relationships and a sense of belonging across the school. | Social & emotional learning Olive Tree International Academy states it has a systematic Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) programme that the school has developed and integrated into primary UOI (unit of inquiry) teaching; the school describes a school‑based SEL curriculum and examples such as using the ABC emotion model and age‑appropriate neuroscience activities to teach emotion regulation. The school says SEL is delivered cross‑disciplinarily and iteratively (an “SEL2.0” cognitive‑science driven approach) in primary grades. These details are presented in a campus news feature and in the primary holistic‑education pages on the school website. |
|
Special educational needs (SEN)
|
Special educational needs (SEN) The school does not publicly disclose information regarding Special Educational Needs (SEN) support on its website. A search of the school site and the academic/pastoral pages does not reveal a dedicated 'SEN' or 'Learning Support' page or published description of specific SEN provision. For families with specific SEN queries the school's admissions contact details are provided on the site for direct enquiry. | Special educational needs (SEN) The school's public website does not publish a dedicated page or clear information about support for students with special educational needs (SEN). The site navigation and the school's main pages list curriculum, holistic education, student activities and staff profiles but do not describe specific SEN provision or a specialist SEN service. Therefore there is no publicly available detail about which kinds of special needs the school can support or whether it operates as a specialist SEN institution. |
|
English as an additional language
|
English as an additional language The school's published information shows bilingual provision in early years and elementary classes: kindergarten and lower grades operate with paired Chinese and international teachers to develop both English and Chinese language skills. The International School section states that IGCSE pupils take 'English as a first or second language' and that all students study Mandarin at an appropriate level. The site also notes a substantial proportion of English‑speaking foreign faculty, which the school presents as part of its bilingual/international staffing model. The website does not, however, describe a separate targeted EAL programme or named EAL specialists in a dedicated page. | English as an additional language In its curriculum listing the school includes ESL as an A‑Level subject and offers AP/academic English options at senior levels, indicating subject provision for English learners at the high‑school level. The website does not, however, describe a named EAL/ESL support department, dedicated EAL intake assessments, or a clearly described school‑wide EAL programme on the public pages. Based on the site information, ESL is offered as a course but the school does not publicly detail a separate, school‑wide EAL support service. |
|
Mental wellbeing
|
Mental wellbeing The Pastoral Care page emphasises that 'happy, healthy pupils are far more likely to do well' and describes tutors and the pastoral team as the primary support for pupils' emotional and social development. The Boarding Life page states that looking after students' emotional and mental health is central to good pastoral care and describes regular tutor contact and residential staff support for boarders. The school's senior‑leadership listings include a Head of Pastoral Care (named) and the Vice Principal's biography references involvement in creating a multi‑year counselling programme within Dipont centres, indicating leadership experience in counselling provision. The site does not publish a standalone mental‑health policy or a public list of in‑school counselling staff on its public pages. | Mental wellbeing The school's SEL work (described in the primary SEL article) includes classroom activities aimed at emotional awareness and regulation, which the school frames as part of students' wellbeing education. The staff pages also show faculty with psychology or counselling experience (for example teachers with psychology training and college‑counselling staff), and the recruitment page references a “psychological studio” for staff support, suggesting access to personnel with wellbeing expertise. The website does not publish a standalone, detailed student mental‑health policy, but it documents classroom SEL practice and staff with relevant backgrounds. |
|
Safeguarding
|
Safeguarding The Pastoral Care page states that the school has 'robust safeguarding policies and procedures' and that pastoral care permeates all aspects of school life, with every member of staff taking part in the programme. The site names pastoral structures responsible for student welfare: tutors, heads of house, year leaders, the boarding team and a Head of Pastoral Care. The school presents safeguarding as integral to its pastoral approach but does not publish a full safeguarding or child‑protection policy document on the public site. For explicit policy text or named safeguarding officer details the site directs enquiries via the school's contact information. | Safeguarding The school's public site lists a Vice Principal for Moral Education and staff responsible for student affairs, indicating named senior leaders with remit for student welfare and conduct. However, the website does not publish a distinct child‑protection or safeguarding policy page accessible in the public navigation, nor a public statement of safeguarding procedures. Therefore there is no publicly available, dedicated safeguarding policy document on the site to cite. } PMID:None PMID:None PMID:None PMID:None PMID:None</wellbeing_and_support> |
|
Safeguarding policy
|
Safeguarding policy — | Safeguarding policy — |
| Facilities | Facilities | |
|
Facilities overview
|
Facilities overview The campus is located in Future Sci-Tech City in the Yuhang District of Hangzhou, designed to integrate local scenery and culture. It is a safe, forward-thinking international campus with a range of state-of-the-art facilities. The school features a multi-purpose auditorium, a sports complex, a 50-metre Olympic-size indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and boarding facilities. Classrooms have interactive whiteboards, laboratories for all relevant subjects and learning needs, and libraries; an indoor multisport complex includes basketball and volleyball courts. The performing arts auditorium is equipped with advanced sound and lighting and can host audiences of up to 780, and a PM2.5 ventilation system maintains air quality. Boarding accommodation includes rooms for two or four students and common rooms. | Facilities overview The campus covers 100 acres in Hangzhou. Founded in 2017, Olive Tree International Academy is the first 12-year private internationalized school in Hangzhou with full-time primary, middle, and high schools. It is an IB World School that integrates Chinese and Western education. The school serves more than 1,000 students with over 300 staff from more than 15 nationalities. It is a short walk from Metro 9 Nanyuan Station Exit D and is located with access to Linping and Hangzhou-Ningbo expressway corridors. |
|
Sports facilities
|
Sports facilities The campus includes an Olympic-size 50-metre indoor swimming pool and a 400-metre Athletics track with floodlights. It has an indoor multisport complex with basketball and volleyball courts and a fitness centre. There are two floodlit tennis courts available for training and matches. | Sports facilities — |
|
Academic facilities
|
Academic facilities Classrooms are equipped with interactive whiteboards. Laboratories exist for all relevant subjects and learning needs. Libraries support study and research. The campus serves programmes across Kindergarten to Senior High, serving ages 2 to 18. | Academic facilities The school offers an IB World School framework rooted in national curriculum standards and teaching materials and integrates Chinese and Western education. The school collaborates with Beijing Foreign Studies University for curricula, teachers' qualification, teaching support and other educational resources; BFSU also provides resident training officers and Cambridge Examination Board matchmaking. The school operates a 12-year private international curriculum across primary, middle, and high school. Graduate outcomes include three A-level graduates; 50% admitted to UK G5 universities or top 10 worldwide; 90% of AP graduates admitted to top 55 US universities; 71% admitted to the University of Hong Kong; and 100% admitted to QS Top 100 universities. |
|
Extra curricular facilities
|
Extra curricular facilities The co-curricular programme includes performing arts (music, drama and dance) with timetabled lessons, clubs and house competitions. All pupils participate in weekly sporting activities, with additional training for those representing the school. A service programme teaches pupils to support others and benefit society. Academic extension activities provide challenges beyond the core curriculum. The STEAM programme nurtures creativity, problem-solving and interdisciplinary thinking through hands-on projects in science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics. | Extra curricular facilities OTIA runs a Summer Camp. It became a Round Square global member. It has robotics competitions, including FLL, with teams earning awards. It hosts debates and Model UN events. |
| Parent experience | Parent experience | |
|
History
|
History The school was established through a cooperative partnership involving The High School Affiliated to Renmin University of China (RDFZ), King's College School, Wimbledon, and Dipont Education, with local government support noted in its founding materials. It opened in September 2018 under the name RDFZ King's College School Hangzhou. In response to national regulations on private school naming, the school's name was officially changed to Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science in August 2022. Dipont Education remains involved in school management and operational support under the cooperative school-running model. | History Olive Tree International Academy (杭州橄榄树学校) was founded in 2017 as a private, full‑time twelve‑year internationalized school. From its establishment the school positioned itself to enroll Chinese‑national students in a continuous 1–12 program and developed a formal, operational collaboration with Beijing Foreign Studies University for curriculum support, teacher training and other educational resources. The school's public information lists a campus of about 100 mu and reports more than 1,000 students and over 300 staff, with team members from 15+ countries. The school describes its curriculum approach as blending the Chinese national curriculum with international programmes (including IB frameworks). |
|
Community
|
Community The campus is bilingual and multicultural, staffed by a mix of local and international teachers (the site reports roughly 270 faculty with a high ratio of Chinese to foreign teachers). The school publishes a regular programme of cultural and community events — examples on the site include Mid‑Autumn Festival celebrations, an annual musical (for example a December production of Aladdin), Model United Nations participation and an International Friendship Day — alongside scheduled open days and admissions info sessions. Boarding provision, a wide co‑curricular offer (sports, performing arts and clubs) and regular pastoral activities are described as central to student life and community cohesion. | Community The school's news feed shows an active programme of academic and cultural activities, including international exchange visits (for example a visiting cohort from Abbotsholme), student competitions such as iGEM, and membership in international networks like Round Square. Regular on‑campus events and competitions—examples reported on the site include cooking contests, school‑wide debates and a ‘math Guinness' challenge—are part of the calendar and draw student and family participation. The school also runs parent‑facing occasions such as open days and a university fair, and publishes stories about SEL (social‑emotional learning) activities that include parent conversations. |
|
Parent teacher association
|
Parent teacher association Parental involvement at the school is organised around meetings, workshops and class parent committees rather than a single, prominently labelled international-style PTA. The website lists parent-focused activities such as info sessions and a “Parents Academy” (家长学院) offering workshops for families on topics like developing children's autonomy. Parents serve as volunteers at large events (the school describes a parent support group helping with catering, site preparation and supervision at International Friendship Day). Reports on the site also show parent committee members (家委) working with teachers on visits and projects — for example a joint visit of around 20 parent representatives and staff to a local university. Open days, admissions briefings and university visitor events further create structured opportunities for parent–school interaction; these are coordinated by the school and by class-level parent groups. | Parent teacher association — |
| Extra-curricular | Extra-curricular | |
|
Academic & intellectual
|
Academic & intellectual The school operates as an independent international school in Hangzhou with a bilingual approach that combines international and Chinese education. It offers a four-section structure (Preschool/Kindergarten, Primary and Junior High, Senior High, and an International School) under a shared educational approach, supporting Chinese and expatriate students aged roughly 2–18. The faculty includes a substantial mix of Chinese and foreign teachers, with many holding long-tea years of experience and several from English-speaking countries. | Academic & intellectual The Olive Tree International Academy is an IB World School offering the Primary Years Programme. The Primary School blends national curriculum standards with IBPYP principles through six unit-themed inquiries to foster understanding and lifelong learning. It is the first school in Zhejiang to authorize all primary and middle school classes to enroll Chinese students. The High School offers A-level and AP pathways, with 50% of graduates admitted to UK G5 universities or the world's top 10 universities and 90% of AP graduates admitted to US Top 55 universities; Cambridge University admissions are highlighted among graduates. ManageBac is used for progress tracking and a formal set of four evaluation reports is produced each year. |
|
Arts & creative
|
Arts & creative — | Arts & creative The High School offers more than 50 clubs, including arts-focused activities such as Art Techniques, Drama, Public Speaking, Performing Arts & Choir, Music Society (OTIA Band), and a range of art and design clubs. The culture and art program includes clubs like OTIA Robot Club, 3D Printing, and various performance groups (Chorus, dance, music). Teaching division activities and events support artistic development, with ongoing performance and competition opportunities. |
|
Cultural & language
|
Cultural & language The school maintains a multicultural and bilingual environment that enables students to be confident in two languages and to develop a global outlook. The International Secondary School follows the English National Curriculum with Mandarin, and students study Chinese to a level appropriate for their ability. | Cultural & language The school operates as an IB World School rooted in the national curriculum, and the Primary School is the province's first to authorize all primary and middle school classes to enroll Chinese students, reinforcing a blended Chinese and international approach. There are more than 50 clubs offering minority language and other cultural activities, with a strong emphasis on global competition participation. The campus also serves as the Hangzhou official Duke of Edinburgh's International Award center and is a Round Square member, highlighting a focus on global citizenship and service. |
|
Social & hobbies
|
Social & hobbies — | Social & hobbies There are over 50 clubs across sports, arts, humanities, and STEM, including badminton & squash, netball, football, basketball, volleyball, American football, and more, plus a wide range of hobby and interest groups such as debate, chess, origami, robotics, and model United Nations. |
|
Community & service
|
Community & service — | Community & service Community-oriented activities include Model United Nations, Global Nature Day, and Bird-loving Club, with additional service-oriented opportunities through the Duke of Edinburgh's International Award program (Hangzhou center). The school emphasizes holistic development through clubs and community projects as part of its curriculum. |
|
Leadership & professional
|
Leadership & professional — | Leadership & professional A dedicated college counselor team provides guidance for overseas admissions. Counselors have backgrounds from universities such as Cambridge, Oxford, LSE, UCL, Hong Kong universities, and UK and US institutions, offering support for applications to UK G5 schools, Hong Kong universities, and top US and global universities. The team collaborates with families to prepare personalized admission paths and application materials. |
|
Lifestyle & wellbeing
|
Lifestyle & wellbeing — | Lifestyle & wellbeing The Primary School maintains super-small class sizes (no more than 25 students per class with two tutors) and emphasizes holistic development through moral education and seasonal learning cycles. The school runs programs and ceremonies that build character, and offers a rich calendar of cultural and athletic activities, including nature days, study tours, and various school-wide events to support wellbeing and balance. |
| Language provision | Language provision | |
|
Language provision
|
Language provision Chinese and English are the core languages taught. The compulsory Chinese curriculum is integrated with a bilingual academic, co-curricular and pastoral context, with a view toward international qualifications. A large portion of the teaching staff are English speakers from around the world, and 70% of foreign teachers come from English‑speaking countries. | Language provision Primary School integrates IB PYP with the national curriculum and provides stratified English teaching for Grades 2–5. Middle School offers Chinese language and literature and English as a language acquisition, with a broad elective program including Japanese. High School offers AP courses including Chinese, English for Academic Purposes, English Literature, and Spanish (or other second foreign languages); ESL is available. Across the school, language support includes ESL and language study spanning Chinese and English with additional foreign languages available as electives. |
|
Bilingual teaching
|
Bilingual teaching The school operates a bilingual Chinese–English education across all sections (Kindergarten, Primary and Junior High, Senior High, International School). Instruction, co-curricular activities, and pastoral care occur in both languages, supporting two-language proficiency from age 2 through 18. | Bilingual teaching — |
|
Immersion programs
|
Immersion programs — | Immersion programs — |
| Reputation | Reputation | |
|
Awards
|
Awards The school website does not show any awards that were explicitly given to the institution itself in the last five years (January 1, 2021–January 1, 2026). The site's news posts in that period primarily report student achievements, admissions offers and programme/activity news rather than institutional awards. Examples: a site post that summarises students' competition awards and another that lists university offers; these posts focus on student results rather than awards given to the school as an organisation. | Awards 1) China Schools Awards — Holistic Education Award (Holistic Education Award), announced March 7, 2025: the school reports it won the China Schools Awards “Holistic Education Award” at the China School Awards 2025 ceremony; this is a sector award presented by the British Chamber of Commerce in China recognising whole‑school approaches to character, creativity and broader education. 2) Duke of Edinburgh's International Award — China one‑star centre (October 2024): the school's news item records that it was designated a China‑region one‑star centre by the Duke of Edinburgh's/“The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award” organisation in 2024; the announcement appears as a campus news item on the school website. |
|
Accreditations
|
Accreditations - The High School Affiliated to Renmin University of China (RDFZ): A leading Chinese public high school and one of the school's founding partners; RDFZ is described on the site as an academic partner that contributes educational expertise, but this is a partnership affiliation rather than an institutional accreditation. - King's College School, Wimbledon (KCS): A UK independent school listed on the site as a founding partner that provides pedagogic influence and partnership support; again, this is a partnership relationship and not the same as formal accreditation by an international accreditation body. - Dipont Education: An education group that helps establish and operate international schools in China; the site identifies Dipont as a partner involved in school management and curriculum localisation rather than an external accreditor. | Accreditations 1) IB World School — The school identifies itself as an IB World School and describes use of the Primary Years Programme (PYP) and Middle Years Programme (MYP) in its primary and middle divisions; IB authorization indicates the school follows IB curriculum frameworks and assessment approaches for those programmes. 2) College Board / AP authorised school (CEEB code: 694136) — the high‑school programme page states the school is an officially authorised provider of AP courses (College Board authorization and assigned CEEB code), which permits students to take AP curricula and register for AP exams. 3) Middle States Association (MSA) accreditation — the high‑school programme page notes the school is accredited by the Middle States Association (MSA), a regional U.S. school accrediting body; accreditation signals an external quality review against MSA standards. 4) Cambridge Assessment (CIE) A‑Level centre (cert. number CN383) — the high‑school page lists Cambridge International Examination centre status (CN383) for running Cambridge A‑Level assessments, indicating formal recognition to deliver CIE qualifications. 5) Pearson Edexcel A‑Level centre (cert. number 94272) — the high‑school page lists Edexcel centre recognition (94272), showing the school is registered to offer Pearson Edexcel assessment routes. 6) OxfordAQA A‑Level centre (cert. number OXA96227) — the high‑school page lists OxfordAQA centre recognition (OXA96227), indicating the school is authorised to administer OxfordAQA assessments. 7) Duke of Edinburgh's International Award — China one‑star centre designation (school recognised as a China‑region one‑star centre in 2024); this is a formal recognition that allows the school to run and supervise the Award for students and reflects external validation of the school's Award programme provision. 8) Round Square membership / participation — the school reports participation in Round Square international conferences and activities (Round Square is a global network of schools focused on IDEALS such as internationalism, service and leadership); membership/active participation is an external affiliation that supports international exchanges and programmes. |
| Admissions | Admissions | |
|
Admissions
|
Admissions 1. Check grade availability and eligibility. Before you apply, confirm which year groups are open to Chinese and international students — the school's admissions page lists accepted grades for 2024–2025 (for example: Chinese students — all kindergarten levels, Grade 1, Grades 4–6, Grade 7 and Grade 10; international students — all kindergarten levels, Grades 1–11). Note that some places (especially for compulsory education years) are subject to local district rules, so confirm your child's eligibility if you rely on household registration (hukou) or a residence permit. 2. Prepare supporting documents and residency proof. The school's 2023 admission brochure describes the types of residency documentation used for local admissions (house purchase/property certificate, Yuhang district household registration, or a valid Zhejiang residence permit) and specific birth-date windows for kindergarten/Grade 1 cohorts; parents should have originals and certified copies ready for verification. If your child is transferring from another school, be prepared to provide previous school reports and any records required by the Admissions Office. Because district rules and required documents can change from year to year, check current requirements with Admissions before you submit materials. 3. Submit the online application. Applications are submitted through the school's online application portal (the site links to the Dipont application system); complete the online form and upload the requested documents (the portal will indicate what is needed). Save the application reference number and keep copies of what you upload — the Admissions team will use the portal to arrange the next steps. If you have trouble with the portal, use the admissions contact details on the school website to request support. 4. Assessment and verification stage. After the school receives a completed application and supporting documents, the Admissions Department arranges assessments and any on-site verification (the website notes that assessments will be arranged upon receipt of required documents). For compulsory-education years there are scheduled online registration and verification windows (the 2023 brochure shows specific registration and verification dates as examples), so expect time-bound steps in that process and confirm the current year's timeline with the school. Assessments commonly include age-appropriate academic checks and an interview/meet-and-greet, but check with Admissions for the exact assessment format for your child's year group. 5. Notification of results and offer. The school states it will communicate admissions decisions to parents once evaluations are complete; follow the instructions in the offer letter for next steps. Offers typically include information about tuition, payment deadlines, and any deposits or acceptance confirmations required — if the offer does not specify these, contact Admissions immediately to clarify the payment schedule and required paperwork. Keep copies of the offer and all payment receipts for your records. 6. Fees, payment and enrollment formalities. The public admissions page lists annual tuition banding (examples shown on the site: Kindergarten RMB138,000; Primary RMB188,000; Middle School RMB208,000; High School RMB228,000), and the 2023 brochure gives per-semester figures for certain years (for example, primary RMB78,000/semester; junior high RMB88,000/semester). Because fee schedules and payment terms can change, treat the website figures as indicative and confirm the current year's fees, payment deadlines, and refund/cancellation policy with Admissions before making any transfer. Use the contact details provided by the school to request the formal fee schedule and a copy of the enrolment contract. 7. Final enrolment, portals and onboarding. Once you accept an offer, follow the school's instructions for completing enrolment (medical forms, student data, boarding allocation if applicable) and for accessing parent/student portals (the site lists portals such as ManageBac and the school Engage/administration portals). If you plan for boarding, ask specifically about rooming arrangements, boarding fees, and pastoral care routines; if you plan for day attendance, confirm bus routes or drop-off procedures. If any step or document is unclear, use the Admissions email and phone numbers listed on the site to request step-by-step guidance. | Admissions 1. Submit an application (预约/Submit the application). Parents start by scanning the school's WeChat QR code and completing the “OTIA School visit appointment” form; after submission an admissions officer will contact you to arrange next steps. Be ready to provide basic student details (name, current grade, school reports) and a preferred date for a visit; if you do not use WeChat, note the admissions page lists phone numbers you can call to request an appointment. 2. School visit and comprehensive assessment (访校评估/School visit assessment). The school asks families to attend a large open day or to schedule a one-to-one visit and to take part in a comprehensive assessment; different grades have different entry requirements that will be explained at the visit. Parents should bring recent school reports, identification (passport or resident ID), and any work samples the child has; if the child speaks limited Mandarin, discuss language-support needs with the admissions team in advance. The admissions page notes students must meet Zhejiang/Hangzhou/Linping Education Bureau registration requirements, so prepare any local registration documents the school may request. 3. Offer / admission notice (发放录取/Offer admission). If the student meets the school's criteria the school will issue an admission notice; the English site describes this as the third step after assessment. Parents should confirm the offer's conditions (grade placement, boarding vs. day, and any outstanding paperwork) and check deadlines for accepting the place. If you are applying for a scholarship (see below), note scholarship interview/result timelines are specified on the admissions FAQ. 4. Complete enrolment / registration (入学注册/School enrollment). After accepting an offer you must complete the school's registration process, which typically includes signing enrolment forms, submitting original documents and paying required fees for the term. The admissions FAQ lists the published tuition per term (小学 60,000 RMB/学期; 初中 75,000 RMB/学期; 高中 90,000 RMB/学期), so plan finances and ask admissions about payment deadlines, refund rules, and whether extra fees (meals, transport, uniforms, activity fees) apply. If you need boarding, the school provides on-site student apartments from Grade 1 and can explain boarding contracts at registration. |
|
Scholarships
|
Scholarships The school's public pages do not present a dedicated, published scholarship programme for incoming students at the Hangzhou campus. The site does report students receiving sizeable scholarships from external universities at graduation (news posts note aggregate university scholarship amounts received by graduates), but that is different from an internal school scholarship policy. Dipont group schools in other cities have explicit internal scholarship schemes (for example, the Wuxi Dipont admissions pages describe scholarships available for G3+ and other merit awards), which shows that scholarship practice can vary by campus — however, Hangzhou's site does not currently list specific internal scholarships or a formal application process. If you are interested in merit or financial-award opportunities at Hangzhou Dipont, ask Admissions directly (admissions@rkcshz.cn or the phone numbers on the website) for the most up-to-date information and for eligibility criteria, deadlines, and whether any need-based or performance-based awards are available in the forthcoming intake. | Scholarships The school's admissions FAQ describes a high-school scholarship called the “水八仙” scholarship. It is aimed at high-school students who demonstrate academic achievement and good conduct; award levels listed include either a full tuition waiver or a half-tuition reduction. The application procedure is: submit supporting documents to the admissions officer for an initial review, complete a scholarship application form, participate in the high-school pre-entry assessment, and—if shortlisted—attend a scholarship interview; the page states scholarship applicants will be notified of the result within three working days after the interview. The website mentions this scholarship specifically for the high-school division and does not publish other scholarship programmes for lower grades, so if you are seeking fee assistance for primary or middle school ask admissions directly for any seasonal or need-based programmes. |
|
Waitlist
|
Waitlist The school's public admissions pages do not use the word “waitlist,” but the 2023 admissions brochure describes participation in the district's computer-based allocation and supplementary-enrolment procedures for private schools (for example: online registration for supplementary enrollment and computer-based allocation steps are shown for primary and junior-high entry). This indicates that for some year groups the school works within district allocation systems and may have a process for supplementary intake when initial places are full, rather than a separate open-ended waitlist. For international or independent places (outside the district allocation windows) the Admissions Office handles offers directly; the website does not publish a formal waitlist policy for those cases, so families who want to know whether the school will hold a place or run a wait pool should contact Admissions and ask how vacancies are handled for the cohort of interest. | Waitlist The school's official admissions pages (Chinese and English) describe a four-step application process (appointment → visit/assessment → offer → registration) but do not state a formal waitlist or candidate pool system. That absence on the published admissions page means there is no public description of a waitlist; if a particular grade is full the school may instead offer guidance or keep interested families on a local pending list, but this is not documented online. For a definitive answer about availability or to ask to be added to any internal waiting list, contact the admissions office by the listed phone numbers or via the WeChat appointment form. |
| View full profile → | View full profile → | |
Comparing more schools, or want notes and ratings of your own? Build your own compare board.