CIA First International School and KCE International School are both in Phnom Penh, about 9 km apart. Both schools offer Bespoke programmes, and CIA First International School also offers American and Advanced Placement (AP). Published annual fees are KHR 13,400,000 - 30,240,000 at CIA First International School and KHR 11,600,000 - 18,000,000 at KCE International School, which puts CIA First International School roughly 47% higher. Both take pupils from 2 to 18.
|
C
CIA First International School
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
|
K
KCE International School
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
|
|
|---|---|---|
| Snapshot | Snapshot | |
|
Fees / year
|
Fees / year KHR 13,400,000 - 30,240,000 | Fees / year KHR 11,600,000 - 18,000,000 |
|
Age range
|
Age range 2 - 18 years | Age range 2 - 18 years |
|
Type
|
Type Co-educational | Type Co-educational |
|
Curriculum
|
Curriculum American Curriculum, Advanced Placement (AP), Bespoke Curriculum | Curriculum Bespoke Curriculum |
|
Pupils
|
Pupils 5,000 | Pupils — |
|
Typical class size
|
Typical class size — | Typical class size — |
|
Instruction language
|
Instruction language English, French, Mandarin | Instruction language Khmer, English, Mandarin |
|
Opened
|
Opened 2004 | Opened — |
|
Bus service
|
Bus service No | Bus service No |
| Essentials | Essentials | |
|
Location
|
Location CIA FIRST is based in Phnom Penh with campuses in Sen Sok and Chbar Ampov and a Russey Keo campus listed on the school site; the main administrative address is No. 107, Street 2004 (Tek Thla) in Sen Sok. The campus pages give local orientation (e.g., Sen Sok campus is in front of Orkide; Russey Keo is on Street 330 near the Ministry of Land Management). | Location KCE's main campus is in Toul Kork (Phsar Depo II), Phnom Penh — address listed as Building 21AB, Street 146, Sangkat Phsar Depo II, Khan Toul Kork. The site is in a mixed residential/commercial area and is reachable by car, taxi or motorbike from other parts of the city; the school lists local contact details on its website. |
|
Stages
|
Stages CIA FIRST operates programs from Pre‑K/Preschool through Grade 12. Individual campuses serve different ranges (for example: Sen Sok K3–G8, Sen Sok High School G9–G12, Chbar Ampov PreK–G12 and a Preschool site). | Stages KCE accepts children from Kindergarten (age 3) through Grade 12; its published fee pages show fee bands for Kindergarten, Grades 1–2, 3–4, 5–6, 7–9 and 10–12. The school's High School section specifically refers to Grades 10–12. |
|
School type
|
School type CIA FIRST is a co‑educational, day international school (no boarding provision is listed on the school website). It operates multiple purpose‑built day campuses across Phnom Penh. | School type KCE is a private, co-educational day school offering a combined national and international programme; the school describes a trilingual approach (Khmer, English and Chinese). The school's public information does not mention boarding facilities. |
|
Pupil nationality mix
|
Pupil nationality mix — | Pupil nationality mix — |
|
Additional learning support
|
Additional learning support The school has a Student Support Services department that includes counselors, SEL coaches, Multilingual Learner (MLL) specialists, literacy specialists and learning‑to‑learn specialists; support is provided through a Multi‑Tiered System of Support with push‑in and pull‑out models and individualized learning plans. MLL support is offered for Grades 1–10 and interventions are guided by WIDA standards. | Additional learning support KCE's public web pages and listings do not publish a detailed Special Educational Needs (SEN) or additional-learning-support policy. If your child may need learning support, contact the school admissions office directly to ask about assessments, in-class support, or external specialist arrangements. |
|
Country affiliation
|
Country affiliation The school is based in Cambodia and is accredited by Cambodia's Ministry of Education, Youth and Sport (MoEYS); it also holds WASC (Western Association of Schools and Colleges) accreditation, which is a U.S. regional accreditor. It does not present a single overseas national affiliation. | Country affiliation KCE is a Cambodian private international school (operating in Phnom Penh) and is presented as a local private institution offering international programmes rather than being affiliated to another country's school system. |
|
Religious affiliation
|
Religious affiliation The school website does not list a religious affiliation and presents itself as an inclusive, secular international school community (see the school's Diversity, Equity & Inclusion statement). | Religious affiliation The school's public information does not indicate any religious affiliation. |
|
School day structure
|
School day structure Daily hours vary by campus and program. Typical start times are 7:30–8:00 AM; full‑day kindergarten and preschool run roughly 8:00 AM to 3:30–4:00 PM, international programs commonly finish around 4:00–4:15 PM, and students in the Full‑Time Khmer (FTK) option have additional Khmer‑curriculum classes running until about 5:15 PM (FTK schedules and exact times differ by campus). | School day structure The site lists general opening hours around 07:30–17:00; the High School page shows a typical school day of about 08:00–16:00 (Monday–Friday). Published school-day summaries in directories also list an 8:00–16:00 school day. |
|
Bus service details
|
Bus service details The school operates its own door‑to‑door bus fleet across Phnom Penh with zoned fees (0–3 km, 3.1–6 km, 6.1–10 km) and an onboard assistant for supervision; buses are described as having seat belts, air conditioning and in‑bus CCTV and each vehicle has a stated maximum capacity (the site describes an 8‑student maximum per bus). Parents register per campus and contact details for bus registration are listed on the school bus page. | Bus service details KCE offers a school bus service; its tuition/fees page notes a bus fee that is charged based on the student's location. External school listings also record that a bus service is available. For route details, stops and exact pricing subscribe to or enquire with the school — these are normally arranged per family/location. |
| Fees | Fees | |
|
Fee details
|
Fee details Application / Enrollment fees - Entrance test fee (one-time, required for new students K3–G12): USD 40. - Registration fee (one-time, required for new students): USD 850. - Re-enrollment (returning students)—early discounted re-registration and full re-registration amounts are published for the 2025–2026 cycle (early/discounted and full deadlines and late-payment penalty apply). Tuition fees (annual amounts by year group; per-term breakdown available in the school's published fee schedule) - Early years / Kindergarten (K3–K5): USD 3,950 to USD 5,950 per year (range by program/age). - Grade 1–Grade 5: USD 6,600 per year. - Grade 6–Grade 8: USD 7,550 per year. - Grade 9–Grade 12: high‑school program information (including diploma options) and associated fees are published for the high‑school age range; full grade-by-grade annual figures are included in the official School Fees document for AY 2025–2026. - Note: the school's formal AY 2025–2026 fee schedule contains the detailed per-term and per-item breakdown (tuition per term, capital/technology/resource fees, learning-materials, etc.). Annual totals for each grade are also reproduced by independent school-fee databases. Billing schedule and payment terms - The school asks that outstanding dues be paid by the 7th of each month; monthly contactless payment methods are promoted. Installment plans and term payment options are detailed in the published fee schedule. Remarks (student ID or full student name) are required on bank transfers. - Re-enrollment deadlines: early discounted re-registration payment deadline and a final re-registration deadline are published (late payment carries a daily penalty as noted in the re-enrollment notice). Boarding - No boarding / residential program is published for CIA FIRST campuses; the school operates multiple day campuses and lists school‑bus and day‑services rather than boarding. Other costs and optional services - School bus: door‑to‑door service with multiple distance zones; route options and fees are charged separately (fee breakdown and route poster are published by campus). Contact numbers for bus enquiries are provided per campus. - Uniforms and school merchandise: uniforms are required and may be purchased at the school Accountant Counter; costs vary by uniform set/level. - Miscellaneous: the school's published schedule lists technology & resource fees, capital/learning‑materials fees, and other one‑off or annual charges in addition to tuition and registration. - Sibling discount: a published sibling discount structure is reported (example: 5% for second child; additional child discounts are published in the school fee materials). Refund information - The school's public pages and re-enrollment notice set out re-registration deadlines and late‑payment penalties; a detailed refund schedule (withdrawal/refund percentages, refundable vs non‑refundable items) is not published on the general school pages. The official AY 2025–2026 fee schedule contains the full terms and conditions, including any refund/withdrawal terms. Fee payment options - ABA Mobile App and ABA bank transfer to the school's ABA account (Account Name: CIA FIRST International School Co., Ltd; Account Number: 089900012) with the requirement to remark Student ID or full student name. In-person payments at campus accountant counters are used for merchandise/uniform purchases. Additional contactless/payment methods are promoted by the school. | Fee details Application and one-time admission fees - Application fee: USD 100 (charged annually / at application). - Administrator fee: USD 100 (charged annually). - Material fee: USD 250 (annual; described as covering notebook, course books, study materials and two sets of uniforms). Tuition fees by year group (published billing options shown as semesterly or yearly) - Kindergarten (ages 3–5) - Per semester (2 payments per year): USD 1,525. - Annual (single payment): USD 2,900. - Grade 1–2 - Per semester (2 payments per year): USD 1,575. - Annual (single payment): USD 3,000. - Grade 3–4 - Per semester (2 payments per year): USD 1,625. - Annual (single payment): USD 3,100. - Grade 5–6 - Per semester (2 payments per year): USD 1,680. - Annual (single payment): USD 3,200. - Grade 7–9 - Per semester (2 payments per year): USD 1,890. - Annual (single payment): USD 3,600. - Grade 10–12 - Per semester (2 payments per year): USD 2,363. - Annual (single payment): USD 4,500. Billing schedule and payment terms - Tuition is published with two billing options: semesterly (two payments per academic year) or a single annual payment at the published annual rate. One‑time or annual fees (application, administration, material) are charged at admission/annually as indicated. Specific due dates or late‑payment penalties are not published on the fee page. Boarding fees - No boarding fees are listed; the school's published fees and fee page do not include boarding charges, indicating that boarding is not offered or not charged. Other costs and recurring charges - Student / sports uniform: USD 25 per set (optional / itemized). - Lunch: USD 60 per month (published as a monthly charge). - School bus / transportation: charged based on location (amount varies; published as location‑based). - Material fee (annual, see above) described as covering stationery, course books, study materials and two sets of uniforms. - Any additional optional activities, exam fees or extracurricular charges are not itemized on the published fee page. Refund information - A specific refund or cancellation policy for fees is not published on the school's tuition/fees page. No public fee‑refund terms are listed in the same published fee materials. Fee payment options - The school's published fee page lists amounts and billing frequencies but does not specify accepted payment methods (for example, credit card, cheque or bank transfer) on that page. Payment method details are not itemized with the fee schedule. Notes on currency and presentation - Fees on the published fee page are shown in USD. A separate independent school listing provides converted values in Cambodian Riels for overview purposes. |
| Diving deeper | Diving deeper | |
|
Boarding arrangements
|
Boarding arrangements — | Boarding arrangements — |
|
Uniform requirement
|
Uniform requirement All students must wear school uniforms during the academic day and when representing the school at events. Sports uniforms must be worn for well-being and sports activities. Uniforms can be purchased at the Accountant Counter located at all school campuses. [turn1view0] | Uniform requirement The school requires uniforms; a Material Fee of USD 250 includes notebook, course book, study material, and 2 sets of uniforms. An additional Student/Sport Uniform can be purchased for USD 25 per set. |
|
Food options
|
Food options The CIA FIRST Canteen serves Khmer, Chinese, Thai, European, and American cuisines; healthy meal plans are available; energy drinks and pre-packaged snacks are prohibited on school premises. HACCP certification applies to all CIA FIRST canteen campuses. Meal plans are available. [turn2view0] | Food options The school provides a lunch plan; the Lunch Fee is USD 60 per month. |
|
House system
|
House system — | House system — |
|
Governance and ownership
|
Governance and ownership Founded in 2004 by His Excellency Oknha Dr. Trang Ly and Mr. Him Samath Sprung; CIA FIRST is governed by a Board of Directors with Michael Wilde as Chief Executive Officer. The school offers an English-speaking international curriculum with additional programs in French and Mandarin Chinese. CIA FIRST operates three campuses in Phnom Penh, with a fourth campus under construction, serving 5,500+ students with 1,100+ personnel and described as the largest dual International and Khmer curricula group of schools in Cambodia. [turn8view0; turn0view0] | Governance and ownership — |
| Academics | Academics | |
|
Curriculum details
|
Curriculum details CIA FIRST offers WASC‑accredited, standards‑based international education alongside Khmer‑accredited pathways from Pre‑K/preschool through Grade 12. The preschool/Early Years programme follows the Pennsylvania Learning Standards for Early Childhood and uses a play‑based, hands‑on approach to social–emotional, language, physical, creative and cognitive development. The Elementary curriculum is UbD‑aligned and, together with Middle School (Grade 6–8), delivers a student‑centred, inquiry‑based STEAM and humanities programme that draws on Common Core, AERO and NGSS standards and includes English, mathematics, science, social studies, computer science, arts, music and physical education. High School (Grade 9–12) is WASC‑accredited, issues an international high‑school diploma recognised as equivalent to the national Grade‑12 diploma, and offers Advanced Placement courses (the school lists 22 AP subjects and the AP Capstone pathway). Families can choose Full‑Time International (FTI), Full‑Time Khmer (FTK — MoEYS‑accredited Khmer national curriculum offered as afternoon electives), or FTI+FTC (adds daily Khmer language and culture classes) to combine international standards with Khmer language and national recognition. | Curriculum details KCE International School runs a trilingual programme (Khmer, English and Chinese) and states it delivers both national and international pathways from Early Years through Grade 12. Its Kindergarten accepts children aged about 2–5, operates roughly 30 hours per week, and focuses on play‑based early skills (pre‑writing, pre‑maths, storytelling, singing), English exposure, arts, PE and swimming. Primary and lower‑secondary are organised in grade bands (Grade 1–2, 3–4, 5–6, 7–9) and cover core subjects—mathematics, science, ICT and social studies—alongside Khmer and English language, arts and extracurricular activities. The High School programme (Grades 10–12) is described as a 40‑hour week offering English, Khmer literature, maths, social sciences, laboratory work, ICT, home economics, arts and regular sports (including swimming). The school website outlines national and international tracks but does not list specific external examination awards (e.g., Cambridge or IB) for particular year groups, so contact the school directly to confirm formal qualifications or leaving certificates. |
|
Student teacher ratio
|
Student teacher ratio — | Student teacher ratio — |
|
Exam results
|
Exam results — | Exam results — |
|
Higher education progression
|
Higher education progression — | Higher education progression — |
|
Gifted and talented
|
Gifted and talented — | Gifted and talented — |
|
Academic calendar
|
Academic calendar — | Academic calendar — |
| Wellbeing & support | Wellbeing & support | |
|
Social & emotional learning
|
Social & emotional learning CIA FIRST publishes a Student Leadership programme that includes a Student Learners' Voice and an elected Student Council through which class representatives and student leaders raise concerns and run initiatives. The school also lists a Student Support Services team and a named Director of Student Support Services, indicating an institutional point of contact for student wellbeing. The school's curriculum materials note classroom work that addresses themes such as mental health and life skills within Humanities and English courses, which can support social and emotional learning in class. The website does not, however, publish a separately named, detailed SEL programme or a full description of specific SEL staff roles beyond the Student Support Services function. | Social & emotional learning KCE's website states the school prioritises holistic development and offers extracurricular activities and competitions (for example, debate and colouring competitions), which contribute to students' social and emotional learning. . The site also lists school leadership and coordinators (principal, vice principals, and year-level coordinators) who oversee programmes. . The website does not publish a named SEL curriculum, a dedicated pastoral team, or detailed lesson-level SEL provision, so those specifics are not publicly disclosed. . |
|
Special educational needs (SEN)
|
Special educational needs (SEN) CIA FIRST's public site lists a Student Support Services team and a Director of Student Support Services, which suggests an organisational structure for supporting diverse learner needs. The About Us page also says the Student Support Services team receives ongoing training, implying the school invests in developing that provision. The website does not provide a list of specific categories of Special Educational Needs it can support, nor does it state that the school is a specialist SEN institution. If you need details on particular diagnoses, therapy access, or specialist placements, the school does not publicly disclose that information on its site. | Special educational needs (SEN) The school's public website does not publish information about Special Educational Needs (SEN) provision, the types of needs supported, or whether KCE is a specialist SEN institution. . For further detail or individual student support queries the site provides general contact details for enquiries. . |
|
English as an additional language
|
English as an additional language CIA FIRST operates a Full‑Time International (English‑language) programme and describes itself as an English‑speaking international school, which establishes English as the primary instructional language. However, the school website does not publish a dedicated EAL/ESL programme description, named EAL staff roles, or explicit EAL entry/exit procedures. The school does not publicly disclose information regarding EAL. | English as an additional language KCE describes a trilingual programme in Khmer, English and Chinese on its homepage, indicating multilingual instruction is part of the school offer. . However, the website does not describe a specific EAL/ESL programme, EAL assessment procedures, or named EAL staff, so specific EAL provision is not publicly disclosed. . Parents are directed to the contact details on the site for programme queries. . |
|
Mental wellbeing
|
Mental wellbeing CIA FIRST's curriculum pages show that topics such as mental health and wellbeing are addressed within classroom units in Humanities and English at middle and high school levels, indicating curricular coverage of related issues. The school also lists a Student Support Services team and a Director of Student Support Services as a resource for students. The About Us material highlights annual child safety training and ongoing training for the Student Support Services team, which supports a safeguarding and welfare framework. The website does not, however, publish detailed descriptions of dedicated counselling staff, specific mental‑health programmes, or how external mental‑health referrals are handled. | Mental wellbeing The website references holistic development and after-school/extra-curricular activities but does not publish details about mental-health services, a counselling team, or formal student wellbeing programmes. . The staff list shows school leadership and coordinators but does not identify a named counsellor or mental-health specialist on the public pages. . Contact information is provided for parents who wish to ask about wellbeing support. . |
|
Safeguarding
|
Safeguarding CIA FIRST's About Us page states that student safety is a top priority and that the school is a member of the Phnom Penh International Schools Safeguarding Association; it also says the school works with Child Safe and the Child Protection Unit and provides annual child safety training for all staff. The school's recruitment information notes strict child protection policies and background checks for applicants, which the school presents as part of its safeguarding procedures. The website also says the Student Support Services team and School Heads receive ongoing training in child safety, indicating organisational responsibility for child protection. If you need the full safeguarding policy text or named safeguarding officers, those documents or names are not posted in detail on the public site and would need to be requested from the school directly. | Safeguarding KCE's public website does not publish a child protection or safeguarding policy nor does it name a designated safeguarding lead on the pages reviewed. . The site does provide contact information (phone and email) that parents can use to request safeguarding or child-protection policy documents directly from the school. . |
|
Safeguarding policy
|
Safeguarding policy — | Safeguarding policy — |
| Facilities | Facilities | |
|
Facilities overview
|
Facilities overview CIA FIRST operates four modern, purpose-built campuses across Sen Sok and Chbar Ampov, with a Russey Keo campus opening soon. The campuses serve Pre-K through Grade 12, including CIA FIRST Sen Sok (K3–G8), CIA FIRST Sen Sok High School (G9–G12), CIA FIRST Chbar Ampov (PreK–G12), CIA FIRST Russey Keo (K3–G8), and CIA FIRST Preschool. The spaces are designed to inspire learning and social change through purpose-built classrooms and facilities. A playground opened at the Chbar Ampov campus on October 22, 2025 to support outdoor learning and holistic development. The school maintains a library across campuses and operates a modern bus service with door-to-door pickup and safety features, including a fleet with features like seatbelts and air-conditioning. | Facilities overview The school has a main campus located at Building 21AB, Street 146, Phsar Depo II, Khan Toul Kork, Phnom Penh, Cambodia 12154. It operates a trilingual program in Khmer, English, and Chinese. It serves students across kindergarten through high school, offering national and international programs. The campus supports a broad range of academic and co-curricular activities. |
|
Sports facilities
|
Sports facilities Football is offered as an extracurricular activity. An outdoor play space supports physical activities, with a new playground opened at the Chbar Ampov campus in October 2025 to enhance active learning and recreation. | Sports facilities Sports offerings include physical education, soccer, karate, and swimming. |
|
Academic facilities
|
Academic facilities The school is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) and MoEYS. The Full Time International (FTI) program includes AP courses for college credit. Khmer tracks include Full Time Khmer (FTK) and Full Time Khmer Language and Culture (FTC). A library catalog (CIA FIRST Library Catalog) is available across campuses. Preschool is offered at a dedicated campus. The curriculum supports both international standards and Khmer language programs. | Academic facilities The school provides K-12 education with national and international programs. The language of instruction is Khmer, English, and Chinese. Kindergarten enrollment age is 2 to 5. The Kindergarten program covers pre-writing, pre-maths, singing, drawing, storytelling, physical education, English, arts, crafts, and hygiene. The High School program covers Grade 10 to 12 and includes subjects and skills such as English, Khmer literature, social studies, maths, science, ICT, library, laboratory, home economics, arts, crafts, music, and sports. |
|
Extra curricular facilities
|
Extra curricular facilities Extracurricular Activities include Dancing Class, Ballet, Football, Arts and Crafts, Yoga & Dance, Drawing Class, and Chinese Language. There is a Kindergarten ECA Hub, with activities organized for different grade levels. Sign-ups are handled through front desk teams at each campus (e.g., Sen Sok and Chbar Ampov). | Extra curricular facilities A range of extracurricular activities, sports, and leadership opportunities are offered. |
| Parent experience | Parent experience | |
|
History
|
History CIA FIRST International School was founded in 2004, opening with 17 students and expanding steadily since then. The school now operates multiple purpose-built campuses in Phnom Penh and serves a community of several thousand learners. It was established by His Excellency Oknha Dr. Trang Ly and Mr. Him Samath Sprung and is governed by a Board of Directors with an appointed CEO. The school's international programmes hold external recognition, including WASC accreditation and recognition from Cambodia's Ministry of Education, Youth and Sport. | History KCE International School is a privately operated trilingual school serving Phnom Penh; its public website describes the school and its programmes but does not list a formal founding year. Mrs. Sopheak Lar is named as the school principal and a small senior management team is listed on the school site, which indicates an internally managed leadership structure rather than a publicly listed corporate owner. The school has engaged in international outreach and partnerships (for example, a delegation visit to Chulalongkorn University on 4 July 2022). Recent public postings and the school's campus pages reference a main Phsar Depo campus and additional campus activity (Tram Khnar), showing the school operating at more than one site. |
|
Community
|
Community CIA FIRST describes a diverse student body drawn from more than 20 countries and a range of language backgrounds. The school's community channels (news, galleries and press releases) document regular campus events such as annual high‑school graduation ceremonies, sports and academic competitions, and charity/CSR activities — for example the school's graduation ceremony on June 27, 2025. The website also publishes updates on student achievements and community initiatives throughout the year. | Community KCE runs a calendar of school-wide events that include the KCE Debate Competition, annual colouring competitions and campus open houses, which are listed on the school events pages. The school also stages cultural celebrations that involve families and local neighbours—most recently a Khmer New Year parade and performances that included students, teachers and parents. The school's public posts show health and community activities (for example, dental workshops and family costume competitions) alongside school clubs and extracurricular programmes, indicating regular opportunities for students and families to take part in community-facing events. |
|
Parent teacher association
|
Parent teacher association CIA FIRST maintains Parent Executive Committees (parent associations) at campus and year‑group levels to strengthen communication between families and school leadership. The Chbar Ampov Parent Executive Committee page lists named parent executives for Kindergarten, Lower Elementary, Upper Elementary, Middle School and High School, indicating committees are organised by school level. The committees are described as collaborating with the school to facilitate communication, support school initiatives, and ensure parents are engaged in their children's education. In practice, the school and parent groups work together on parent-facing activities and information support — for example the school ran Classe365 login support booths for parents during the 2025 transition to a new information system. Parents can view contact points and brief profiles ("Hear from...") for their Parent Executives on the Parent Executive Committee pages. | Parent teacher association A formal Parent Teacher Association (PTA) is not described on the school's publicly available pages; the website and recent profiles reference parent–teacher meetings and parent involvement in events but do not publish a dedicated PTA contact or constitution. Parents commonly participate in campus events such as the Khmer New Year parade, open houses and family competitions, and the school advertises workshops and community activities that involve families. Because the school's public materials do not list a PTA coordinator, families wanting up-to-date information about any formal PTA, volunteer groups or parent committees are best advised to contact the school directly (info@kce.edu.kh or the phone numbers shown on the school site) to ask about current parent groups, meeting schedules and how to join. |
| Extra-curricular | Extra-curricular | |
|
Academic & intellectual
|
Academic & intellectual CIA FIRST offers three program pathways: Full Time International (FTI), Full Time Khmer (FTK), and Full Time Khmer Language and Culture (FTC). The FTI program is a WASC-accredited, standards-based curriculum blending Common Core, AERO, and NGSS, with AP courses for college credit. FTK allows students to complete the international curriculum while earning Khmer education, delivered as afternoon electives from 2:00 to 5:15 pm after completing required FTI subjects. FTC adds Khmer Language and Culture courses (one hour daily) to the FTI program, enabling Khmer language development while continuing AP coursework and extracurriculars. | Academic & intellectual The school offers both national and international educational programs. It provides a multilingual education in Khmer, English, and Chinese within a single academic year. The language emphasis supports global citizenship and cross-cultural communication. The school hosts academic competitions such as debate and other events. |
|
Arts & creative
|
Arts & creative Extracurricular Activities include Dancing Class, Ballet, Arts and Crafts, and Drawing Class. The program also includes Football and Yoga & Dance as movement-centered activities. ECAs extend learning beyond the classroom and support creative expression and collaboration. | Arts & creative — |
|
Cultural & language
|
Cultural & language Chinese Language is offered as an extracurricular option. The FTC program includes Khmer Language and Culture courses (one hour daily) as part of the international curriculum, along with AP coursework. The FTK and FTC programs support bilingual learning by combining international standards with Khmer language and cultural education. | Cultural & language The school delivers trilingual education in Khmer, English, and Chinese. Students become proficient in three languages within a single academic year. The international program and diverse student body promote global citizenship and cultural understanding. Language and cultural activities are integrated into the learning experience. |
|
Social & hobbies
|
Social & hobbies ECAs provide opportunities to explore interests beyond academics, including arts, language, sports, and dance. Activities emphasize teamwork and problem-solving, and aim to balance growth with academics. Participation in ECAs supports social development and peer connections. | Social & hobbies Extracurricular activities and sports are part of the learning program. The school emphasizes leadership opportunities through various initiatives. Competitions and events, such as debate contests, are organized to foster social and intellectual engagement. |
|
Community & service
|
Community & service The school features charity and CSR activities as part of its community program. Student leadership initiatives include charity events such as a Food Stall for Charity on Family Day, Habitat for Humanity donations, and other fundraising efforts. These programs involve students in community service and social responsibility. | Community & service — |
|
Leadership & professional
|
Leadership & professional Student leadership is integrated into CIA FIRST, with Student Learners' Voice and a Student Council representing Kindergarten through High School. The council leads initiatives to enrich the student experience and organize projects. Elections and leadership opportunities are ongoing to enable students to lead and contribute to the school community. | Leadership & professional Leadership opportunities are provided as part of the extracurricular program. Students participate in activities that develop leadership and collaboration skills. The school emphasizes global citizenship as a component of leadership development. |
|
Lifestyle & wellbeing
|
Lifestyle & wellbeing Extracurricular activities include Football and Yoga, which support physical fitness and well-being. Dance and movement opportunities provide mindfulness and expression. The ECA program emphasizes balanced growth and well-being alongside academics. | Lifestyle & wellbeing Sports and physical education are offered, including soccer, karate, and swimming. The program supports fitness and well-being through active participation. Outdoor and athletic activities contribute to students' overall health and lifestyle. |
| Language provision | Language provision | |
|
Language provision
|
Language provision English is taught as a core subject across grade levels, including English Language Arts in Middle and High School. Khmer language and culture are taught through FTK and FTC programs; FTK blends the international curriculum with Khmer accreditation for a bilingual learning experience, and FTC adds daily Khmer Language and Culture classes. World Language and Culture Electives are offered in Elementary and Middle School. The curriculum is constructivist and UbD-based, with WASC and MoEYS accreditation and AP courses available in the international track. | Language provision Khmer, English, and Chinese are taught; the school uses a trilingual program. |
|
Bilingual teaching
|
Bilingual teaching CIA FIRST offers bilingual options through Full Time Khmer (FTK) and Full Time Khmer Language and Culture (FTC). FTK blends the international curriculum with Khmer-accredited education, providing a bilingual learning experience. FTC adds daily Khmer Language and Culture classes to the international program, enabling Khmer language development while pursuing AP courses. These options run alongside the Full Time International (FTI) track. | Bilingual teaching The school offers a trilingual program in Khmer, English, and Chinese. |
|
Immersion programs
|
Immersion programs — | Immersion programs — |
| Reputation | Reputation | |
|
Awards
|
Awards — | Awards No school-level awards (awards granted to the institution itself) from the past five years are listed on KCE International School's website for the period January 1, 2021 – December 30, 2025. The school's public pages show events and competitions (for example debate and colouring competitions) but do not list institutional awards or prizes granted to the school as an organization in that timeframe. Note on verification: Because your request asked to include only awards publicly provided on the school website, I did not include external articles or directories. If you'd like, I can (a) contact the school's listed email/phone for confirmation, or (b) search official Cambodian education registries to see whether any formal recognitions are recorded there. |
|
Accreditations
|
Accreditations The following accreditations, memberships and authorised curricula are explicitly listed on CIA FIRST's website (each line: accreditation — one-line explanation and significance): - Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) — WASC is a U.S. regional accrediting body; CIA FIRST's website states the school holds WASC accreditation for PK–12, which means its international diploma is recognised as equivalent to an American high-school diploma and that the school has undergone WASC's continuous-evaluation process. - Ministry of Education, Youth and Sport (MoEYS), Cambodia — the site states that the school's Khmer programme and the international high‑school diploma are officially recognised by MoEYS (the Grade 12 diploma is treated as equivalent to the national Grade 12 Khmer diploma), indicating formal national recognition. - East Asia Regional Council of Schools (EARCOS) — the school lists EARCOS among its accreditations/memberships; EARCOS is a regional organisation for international schools in East Asia that supports professional collaboration and school development. - College Board — the website states CIA FIRST runs College Board–approved Advanced Placement (AP) courses and is approved to run the AP Capstone Diploma; this indicates the school is authorised to offer AP curriculum and assessments that are recognised by many universities. - Habits of Mind (HoM) — the site identifies Habits of Mind as a framework used by the school; Habits of Mind is a set of dispositions for problem solving and lifelong learning that the school uses to structure teaching and learning. - Understanding by Design (UbD) — the curriculum pages state CIA FIRST uses the UbD framework; UbD is a curriculum-planning approach focused on teaching for understanding and on backward design of learning outcomes. (Notes: the items above are taken from the school's public pages describing curriculum, accreditations and "Why Choose" information. I limited entries to items explicitly presented on the school website.) | Accreditations No institutional accreditations are listed on KCE International School's public website as of December 30, 2025. (I checked the school's main/about pages and program pages; they do not show any formal accreditation statements or named accrediting bodies.) Note on significance: When a school lists an external accreditation (for example from a national ministry of education or an international accreditor), that normally indicates a formal review of standards by an independent body. The absence of an accreditation statement on the website does not prove the school lacks any recognition — it may simply not be published online. For definitive confirmation you can request documentation directly from the school or check the Cambodian Ministry of Education and recognized international accrediting bodies. |
| Admissions | Admissions | |
|
Admissions
|
Admissions 1. Make an inquiry and/or book a campus tour. Contact the Admissions office to ask about program options (Full‑Time International, Full‑Time Khmer, or Khmer Language & Culture) and to arrange an on‑site tour at the campus you prefer. Parents should bring or be ready to upload basic documents (ID, previous school reports) when requested and note that the school recommends scheduling visits in advance during Admissions office hours. See the school's published enrollment steps and contact links. 2. Readiness assessment and admissions test. Kindergarten applicants sit a short readiness assessment (about 20–30 minutes); students from Grade 1 to Grade 12 take a paper‑ or computer‑based entrance test (approximately 2–3 hours) followed by an interview with a school principal. Parents should confirm which campus and test format will be used for their child, prepare recent school reports if applicable, and allow time for the post‑test interview that influences placement. Test scheduling is done through the Admissions team. 3. Submit an application after assessment. If the student passes the readiness assessment or admissions test the school will issue an enrollment offer and parents complete the formal application. The school provides an application form to download and asks that supporting documents (birth certificate/passport, previous transcripts, immunisation records where requested) be submitted with the form. Verify that the child's intended program (FTI, FTK, FTC) and campus are correctly shown on the application to avoid later schedule or fee mismatches. 4. Pay fees to secure the seat and complete enrolment. The offer becomes a confirmed place once required one‑time and tuition payments are made; the site lists common items that must be paid (registration fee, tuition, technology/resource fees, uniform sets and other miscellaneous fees). The public fee page shows an Entrance Test Fee of $40 (one‑time) and a Registration Fee of $850 (one‑time); parents should download the detailed AY fee schedule and check payment deadlines and bank transfer instructions before paying. If you need payment plans, campus‑specific figures (some campuses list different tuition ranges) or promotional discounts, contact Admissions for the current schedule and any time‑limited offers. | Admissions 1. Initial enquiry and information gathering. Contact the school to request the current application form, published fees and the academic calendar; KCE publishes tuition and fee amounts on its website but some pages are blocked for direct viewing, so confirm the latest figures with the admissions office. (Source: KCE website contact and fees summary). 2. Complete the application and pay the application fee. KCE's fee page lists an application fee (USD 100) and an administration fee (USD 100); parents should confirm whether these are payable at submission or only after an offer is made, and whether these fees are refundable if a place is not offered. Provide accurate identity documents (birth certificate/passport), previous school reports (if applicable) and the completed application form — the school may require originals at enrolment so bring certified copies and originals for verification. Ask in advance what proof of residence, visa or health records (vaccination) the school needs for international students. 3. Assessment and/or interview. For nursery/preschool the school typically uses informal interactions; for primary and secondary grades prospective students are often assessed academically and may have an interview with admissions or the Head of School to determine placement. Parents should prepare recent school reports and, for older children, samples of school work and any results from external examinations; confirm whether the assessment is in English or another language so you can prepare the child. Be clear about the timing of assessments — ask whether there are placement tests for English, maths or other subjects and whether remote/online assessment is possible. 4. Offer, contract and payment of fees. If the child is offered a place the school will issue an offer/acceptance form and a fee schedule; KCE's published schedule shows options to pay tuition yearly or by semester and lists tuition by grade (examples: Kindergarten yearly USD 2,900; Grade 1–2 yearly USD 3,000; Grade 10–12 yearly USD 4,500). Parents should read the contract for refund and withdrawal terms, note payment deadlines (annual vs semester billing), and confirm which one-time fees are due on acceptance (application fee, administration fee, material/uniform fees). Keep receipts for all payments and ask for a written statement of what is included in tuition (books, tests, activities) and what is optional (lunch, bus). 5. Materials, uniforms, transport and meal arrangements. KCE's published fees list a material fee (the school page lists USD 250 for materials such as notebooks, course books and two uniform sets, and the page also shows a $300 figure in the same section — parents should confirm the exact amount and what it covers). The site lists optional items such as monthly lunch (USD 60) and bus fees charged by route; parents should confirm bus availability for their address, exact route cost, and whether lunch menus meet any dietary requirements. Before the child's start date, complete any medical forms and sign permission forms for activities; confirm start-of-term orientation dates and drop-off/pick-up procedures. 6. First day, orientation and ongoing communication. Attend the school's orientation (if provided) so you understand daily schedules, communication channels (who to contact for academic, pastoral or billing questions), and school policies (attendance, behaviour, homework). Keep the admissions and accounts office contact details and request the parent handbook or school policies in writing so you can refer to procedures for absence, illness, or fee disputes. If anything in the published information seems inconsistent (for example fee-line items), request written confirmation from admissions before making major payments. |
|
Scholarships
|
Scholarships There is no single, clearly described merit scholarship programme listed on the school's main Admissions or School Fees pages. The public site does, however, show that CIA FIRST has active partnerships and promotional arrangements that can include discounts, tuition credits, or scholarship opportunities: for example, a memorandum of understanding with the American University of Phnom Penh references scholarship and tuition‑discount pathways for CIA FIRST students, and a more recent partnership announcement with Trinity College (University of Melbourne) refers to a scholarship opportunity (up to a stated amount in that announcement). The school also appears in third‑party promotion programmes and member discount schemes (for example insurer or chamber member offers) that list registration or tuition concessions for eligible customers. Because these offers vary by year, campus, partner and target group (founding‑family discounts, partner promotions, or university‑pathway scholarships), parents should not assume a permanent, school‑wide need‑ or merit‑based scholarship is available; instead, ask Admissions which current scholarships, partner discounts, or promotional offers apply to your child, what the eligibility criteria are, and whether an additional application is required. For program‑specific scholarship details and the most recent availability, contact admissions@ciaschool.edu.kh or request the Admissions team to confirm any partnership scholarships and timelines. | Scholarships There is no information on KCE's public pages or on the third‑party listings reviewed that describes school-wide scholarships or regular financial-aid programmes. Major published items on the school site cover tuition, application and material fees but do not list merit or need-based scholarship schemes. If a family requires fee assistance or if the school occasionally offers bursaries, those details are typically provided directly by the admissions office, so request written confirmation from KCE about any scholarship opportunities, eligibility criteria, deadlines and required documentation. For transparency and to avoid misunderstandings, ask the school whether any fee reductions are offered, whether they are renewable, and whether there are any application dates or assessment requirements. |
|
Waitlist
|
Waitlist The school's public admissions pages do not describe a formal, published waitlist or central pool system; instead they emphasise that seats are limited and recommend starting the application process early. Because the website directs families to inquire and schedule tests and notes that places are secured by payment, the practical implication is that availability is managed case‑by‑case by the Admissions office rather than through a clearly advertised waitlist. If you are applying and a grade/campus is full, ask Admissions whether they operate an internal waiting list, what the typical wait times are, and how they notify families (email, phone, or their student management system). For the most accurate, up‑to‑date answer about current seat availability or an internal wait list for a specific campus/grade, contact admissions@ciaschool.edu.kh or the phone numbers listed on the site. | Waitlist KCE's publicly available pages and third‑party school listings that summarise the school's admissions (site content and fee page) do not mention a formal waiting-list or pool system. Because the school's website and listings do not describe a waitlist, the safest assumption is that any oversubscription or informal hold on places would be managed case-by-case by the admissions office. If you need certainty about whether a waiting list exists, how long it typically is, or how places are allocated from it, contact KCE's admissions office directly (phone/email shown on the school page) and ask for their current policy in writing; this is the most reliable way to confirm local practice. |
| View full profile → | View full profile → | |
Comparing more schools, or want notes and ratings of your own? Build your own compare board.