Asamiah International School and Islamic Educational College are both in Amman, about 10 km apart. Both schools offer IB programmes, and Islamic Educational College also offers British, American, Cambridge (Primary), Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE and BTEC Qualification. Published annual fees are JOD 3,000 - 8,500 at Asamiah International School and JOD 2,365 - 6,240 at Islamic Educational College, which puts Asamiah International School roughly 34% higher. Both take pupils from 3 to 18. Asamiah International School is the larger school, with around 935 pupils to Islamic Educational College's 23.
|
A
Asamiah International School
Amman, Jordan
|
I
Islamic Educational College
Amman, Jordan
|
|
|---|---|---|
| Snapshot | Snapshot | |
|
Fees / year
|
Fees / year JOD 3,000 - 8,500 | Fees / year JOD 2,365 - 6,240 |
|
Age range
|
Age range 3 - 18 years | Age range 3 - 18 years |
|
Type
|
Type — | Type Co-educational |
|
Curriculum
|
Curriculum IB (PYP), IB (MYP), IB (DP) | Curriculum British Curriculum, American Curriculum, IB (PYP), IB (MYP), IB (DP), Cambridge (Primary), Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE, BTEC Qualification, Cambridge (Secondary) |
|
Pupils
|
Pupils 935 | Pupils 23 |
|
Typical class size
|
Typical class size 6 | Typical class size — |
|
Instruction language
|
Instruction language English, Arabic | Instruction language Arabic, English |
|
Opened
|
Opened — | Opened 1947 |
|
Bus service
|
Bus service — | Bus service No |
| Essentials | Essentials | |
|
Location
|
Location Asamiah International School is located on Abu Moh'd Al Sajjad Street, No. 5, in the Khalda district of Amman, Jordan. Khalda is a western Amman neighborhood with easy road access to central Amman and surrounding areas. The campus is situated in a residential-commercial zone with nearby amenities and services. The school is accessible by typical local public transport and private means. | Location IEC operates two campuses in Amman, Jordan: Jabal Amman and Jubaiha. Both campuses are in central Amman neighborhoods with access to major roads and nearby residential areas. The schools are overseen by the Islamic Cultural Society, which supports their facilities and programs. |
|
Stages
|
Stages AIS offers the International Baccalaureate (IB) continuum from early years to the diploma. The PYP runs from Pre-K to Grade 5, the MYP covers Grades 6–10, and the DP is for Grades 11–12. | Stages IEC serves primary and secondary levels across two campuses. The National Program includes Elementary (Grades 1–4) and separate Boys (Grades 5–12) and Girls (Grades 5–12) buildings to support different groups. |
|
School type
|
School type The school is co-educational and operates as a day school. Boarding facilities are not offered. | School type IEC operates as a co-educational day school. |
|
Pupil nationality mix
|
Pupil nationality mix The student body is predominantly Jordanian, comprising about 91%. International or non-Jordanian students account for about 9% of the population. The school reports 935+ students in total. | Pupil nationality mix — |
|
Additional learning support
|
Additional learning support AIS provides pupil support through a dedicated Student Support Center and counseling services. It offers Special Educational Needs (SEN) and Learning Support provisions, with related fees (SEN 1,700 JD; Learning Support 500 JD per semester per subject). | Additional learning support Public information about dedicated SEN provisions is not published. The school offers Jordanian and international programs, and admissions indicate provisions for non‑Jordanian students; families with learners needing extra support should inquire directly. |
|
Country affiliation
|
Country affiliation AIS is based in Jordan and operates as an IB World School; there is no country-specific affiliation stated. | Country affiliation Jordan. |
|
Religious affiliation
|
Religious affiliation There is no formal religious affiliation noted. | Religious affiliation Islamic; the school is associated with the Islamic Cultural Society and emphasizes Islamic values. |
|
School day structure
|
School day structure The school day generally runs Sunday to Thursday from about 7:30 AM to 3:30 PM, with occasional variations for examinations and events. | School day structure The school day typically runs from about 7:30–8:00 a.m. to around 2:00–2:30 p.m., with a midday break; exact times may vary by campus and program. |
|
Bus service details
|
Bus service details AIS runs a school bus service with zone-based routes and fees. Round-trip rates vary by zone (e.g., Zone 1 650 JD, Zone 4 900 JD), with one-way options also available. | Bus service details — |
| Fees | Fees | |
|
Fee details
|
Fee details Application fees - Application fee: JOD 20 (one-time). - Registration fee: JOD 400 (one-time, non‑refundable). Tuition fees (annual) — by year group - Pre‑KG (Early Years / Pre‑KG): JOD 3,000. - KG1–KG2: JOD 3,400. - Grade 1: JOD 3,500. - Grade 2: JOD 3,600. - Grade 3: JOD 3,700. - Grade 4: JOD 4,500. - Grade 5: JOD 4,700. - Grade 6: JOD 5,700. - Grade 7: JOD 5,800. - Grade 8: JOD 5,900. - Grade 9: JOD 6,300. - Grade 10: JOD 6,900. - Grade 11 (IBDP Year 1): JOD 7,500. - Grade 12 (IBDP Year 2): JOD 8,500. Per‑term amounts (inferred) - The published tuition figures are shown as annual amounts. The per‑term amounts given below are an inferred equal division of the annual tuition across three academic terms (annual ÷ 3). This is an inferred presentation to show likely per‑term values where a three‑term billing cycle is used; the school's fees page publishes annual figures rather than a term breakdown. - Example per‑term amounts (annual ÷ 3): - Pre‑KG: JOD 1,000 per term (JOD 3,000 ÷ 3). - KG1–KG2: JOD 1,133 per term (JOD 3,400 ÷ 3). - Grade 1: JOD 1,167 per term (JOD 3,500 ÷ 3). - Grade 6: JOD 1,900 per term (JOD 5,700 ÷ 3). - Grade 12: JOD 2,833 per term (JOD 8,500 ÷ 3). Billing schedule and payment terms - The school lists tuition as annual fees and specifies certain semester or staged payment items (for example, After School Duty fees are shown per semester and some special‑needs and learning‑support charges are payable over specified semesters). The school publishes a special 5% discount on tuition for full cash payment secured before 1 September. A sibling discount is published: 10% for the second sibling and 15% for each additional sibling. - Several one‑time or year‑specific items are payable at registration or during the year (see “Other costs” below). Specific installment dates or a full invoice schedule are not shown on the published fees page. Boarding fees - Boarding is not listed as part of the school's fee schedule or facilities; no boarding fees are published. The school operates as a day school in the published materials. Other costs and recurring extra fees - Various one‑time registration/registration‑related expenses: JOD 250 (covers Ministry of Education textbooks, daily educational hands‑on resources, IB teaching resources and manipulatives, accident insurance, and field trips within Amman Greater Area). Payable fully upon registration; this amount does not include English textbooks, IB external exams, international assessments or trips with entrance fees. - IB external exam registration fee: published at JOD 750 (the page lists IB external exam registration fees; amounts are shown on the fees page). - International Assessments (Grades 5–10): JOD 35 per student per annum. - After School Duty: JOD 100 per semester. - CAS fees (Grade 11 and Diploma courses): JOD 200. - Graduation expenses (Grade 12): JOD 250 payable during graduation year; KG2 graduation: JOD 50; Grade 5 graduation: JOD 50. - Special Educational Needs (SEN): JOD 1,700 payable over two semesters (where applicable). - Learning Support: JOD 500 per semester for each subject. - Transportation fees (annual, by zone): - Zone 1 round trip: JOD 650 (one way: JOD 450). - Zone 2 round trip: JOD 750 (one way: JOD 475). - Zone 3 round trip: JOD 800 (one way: JOD 500). - Zone 4 round trip: JOD 900 (one way: JOD 550). Refund information - The registration fee (JOD 400) and the application fee (JOD 20) are published as one‑time charges; the registration fee is explicitly described as non‑refundable. No wider, detailed refund policy for tuition installments or other fees is provided on the published fees page. Fee payment options - The school's published fee page lists amounts, discounts and semester/special‑item billing details but does not list a specific set of accepted payment channels (credit card, bank transfer, cheque) on that page. The school publishes contact details (telephone and email) for the admissions/finance office for arranging payment. Surcharges, discounts and special terms - Sibling discounts: 10% for the second sibling, 15% for each subsequent sibling. - Cash payment discount: Special 5% discount on tuition fees for cash payments only if full payment is secured before 1 September. Summary (key figures) - Application fee: JOD 20; Registration fee: JOD 400 (non‑refundable). - Annual tuition range (published): JOD 3,000 (Pre‑KG) up to JOD 8,500 (Grade 12). - Several additional recurring and one‑time items are published (IB exam fees, transportation by zone, SEN and learning support fees, graduation fees, CAS, after‑school duty). If you need any single figure repeated or presented in a different currency or rounding convention, I can provide that conversion separately. | Fee details Application / Registration fees - A non-refundable affiliation/registration fee of JOD 100 applies for any new student registering in the American program. Other programs do not list a separate, one-off affiliation fee in the registration guides. Jabal Amman — Tuition and related fees (per semester and annual) - National program (kindergarten and Grades 1–12): - Kindergarten (KG/Prep): First-semester installment JOD 1,460; Second-semester installment JOD 980; Annual tuition JOD 2,440; Special support fee: none. - Grade 1: First JOD 1,560; Second JOD 1,115; Annual JOD 2,675; Special support fee JOD 1,000. - Grade 2: First JOD 1,595; Second JOD 1,135; Annual JOD 2,730; Special support fee JOD 1,000. - Grade 3: First JOD 1,650; Second JOD 1,175; Annual JOD 2,825; Special support fee JOD 1,000. - Grade 4: First JOD 1,720; Second JOD 1,215; Annual JOD 2,935; Special support fee JOD 1,000. - Grade 5: First JOD 1,725; Second JOD 1,215; Annual JOD 2,940; Special support fee JOD 1,000. - Grade 6: First JOD 1,725; Second JOD 1,215; Annual JOD 2,940; Special support fee JOD 1,000. - Grade 7: First JOD 1,725; Second JOD 1,215; Annual JOD 2,940; (special support fee not listed). - Grade 8: First JOD 1,785; Second JOD 1,255; Annual JOD 3,040. - Grade 9: First JOD 1,880; Second JOD 1,320; Annual JOD 3,200. - Grade 10 (academic): First JOD 1,975; Second JOD 1,380; Annual JOD 3,355. - Grade 11 (academic): First JOD 2,065; Second JOD 1,450; Annual JOD 3,515. - Grade 12 (academic): First JOD 2,225; Second JOD 1,550; Annual JOD 3,775. - Technology services charge (additional): JOD 100 applied to Grades 1–12 in the national programs. - All national-program figures above are presented as First-semester installment / Second-semester installment / Annual tuition; where a separate ‘‘special support'' fee appears it is listed as shown. - Technical (BTEC) program — Jabal Amman: - Grade 10 (Business / IT): First JOD 1,955; Second JOD 1,400; Annual JOD 3,355. - Grade 11 (Business / IT): First JOD 2,295; Second JOD 1,635; Annual JOD 3,930. - Grade 12 (Business / IT): First JOD 2,350; Second JOD 1,650; Annual JOD 4,000. - BTEC technology services: additional JOD 150 for BTEC program students. - BTEC Pearson certificate issue fee (where applicable): additional JOD 200 (applies to certain BTEC year groups). - BTEC tuition items are non-refundable and non-transferable. - American program — Jabal Amman: - Grade 1: First JOD 2,205; Second JOD 1,570; Annual JOD 3,775; Special support fee JOD 1,500. - Grade 2: First JOD 2,270; Second JOD 1,610; Annual JOD 3,880; Special support fee JOD 1,500. - Grade 3: First JOD 2,330; Second JOD 1,655; Annual JOD 3,985; Special support fee JOD 1,500. - Grade 4: First JOD 2,425; Second JOD 1,720; Annual JOD 4,145; Special support fee JOD 1,500. - Grade 5: First JOD 2,610; Second JOD 1,845; Annual JOD 4,455; Special support fee JOD 1,500. - Grade 6: First JOD 2,650; Second JOD 1,860; Annual JOD 4,510; Special support fee JOD 1,500. - Grade 7: First JOD 2,835; Second JOD 1,990; Annual JOD 4,825. - Grade 8: First JOD 2,900; Second JOD 2,030; Annual JOD 4,930. - Grade 9: First JOD 2,990; Second JOD 2,095; Annual JOD 5,085. - Grade 10: First JOD 3,255; Second JOD 2,405; Annual JOD 5,660. - Grade 11: First JOD 3,540; Second JOD 2,595; Annual JOD 6,135. - Grade 12: First JOD 3,600; Second JOD 2,640; Annual JOD 6,240. - New-student American-program affiliation fee (non-refundable): JOD 100 (charged at registration and not counted toward annual tuition). - American-program technology/services fees (additional) and advanced-instruction fees apply by grade band (examples shown in the registration guide: JOD 350 additional technology fee for certain American-program grade bands; JOD 200 advanced-teaching fee for Grades 10–12). - Transport (Jabal Amman): - Transport fees are charged per semester (first-semester and second-semester installments) and listed by distance category. Example annual totals shown: Category 1 annual JOD 675 (First JOD 425 / Second JOD 250); Category 2 annual JOD 750 (First JOD 450 / Second JOD 300); Category 3 annual JOD 850 (First JOD 500 / Second JOD 350). If a student did not subscribe to transport in the first semester but wishes to subscribe in the second semester, the transport fee for the first semester is payable at that time. Transport fees are non-refundable. Jubeiha — Tuition and related fees (per semester and annual) - National program (Grades and kindergarten): - Kindergarten (KG/Prep): First JOD 1,420; Second JOD 945; Annual JOD 2,365; Special support fee: none. - Grade 1: First JOD 1,445; Second JOD 1,020; Annual JOD 2,465; Special support fee JOD 1,000. - Grade 2: First JOD 1,510; Second JOD 1,070; Annual JOD 2,580; Special support fee JOD 1,000. - Grade 3: First JOD 1,555; Second JOD 1,110; Annual JOD 2,665; Special support fee JOD 1,000. - Grade 4: First JOD 1,600; Second JOD 1,140; Annual JOD 2,740; Special support fee JOD 1,000. - Grade 5: First JOD 1,725; Second JOD 1,215; Annual JOD 2,940; Special support fee JOD 1,000. - Grade 6: First JOD 1,725; Second JOD 1,215; Annual JOD 2,940; Special support fee JOD 1,000. - Grade 7: First JOD 1,725; Second JOD 1,215; Annual JOD 2,940. - Grade 8: First JOD 1,785; Second JOD 1,255; Annual JOD 3,040. - Grade 9: First JOD 1,880; Second JOD 1,320; Annual JOD 3,200. - Grade 10: First JOD 1,975; Second JOD 1,380; Annual JOD 3,355. - Grade 11: First JOD 2,065; Second JOD 1,450; Annual JOD 3,515. - Grade 12: First JOD 2,225; Second JOD 1,550; Annual JOD 3,775. - Technology services charge (additional): JOD 100 for Grades 1–12 in the national programs. All national-program figures are listed as First-semester installment / Second-semester installment / Annual tuition / Special support fee where applicable. - BTEC (Jubeiha): - Grade 10 (Business / IT): First JOD 1,955; Second JOD 1,400; Annual JOD 3,355. - Grade 10 (Electrical Engineering stream): First JOD 2,140; Second JOD 1,530; Annual JOD 3,670. - Grade 11 (various BTEC streams): First JOD 2,295 or JOD 2,480 depending on speciality; second and annual installments shown in the schedule. - BTEC technology services: additional JOD 150. - Pearson certificate issuance fee (applies to certain BTEC year groups): additional JOD 200. - American program (Jubeiha): - Grade 1: First JOD 1,990; Second JOD 1,420; Annual JOD 3,410. - Grade 2: First JOD 2,050; Second JOD 1,465; Annual JOD 3,515. - Grade 3: First JOD 2,110; Second JOD 1,505; Annual JOD 3,615. - Grade 4: First JOD 2,175; Second JOD 1,550; Annual JOD 3,725. - Grade 5: First JOD 2,235; Second JOD 1,590; Annual JOD 3,825. - Grade 6: First JOD 2,460; Second JOD 1,735; Annual JOD 4,195. - Grade 7: First JOD 2,580; Second JOD 1,830; Annual JOD 4,410. - Grade 8: First JOD 2,670; Second JOD 1,890; Annual JOD 4,560. - Grade 9: First JOD 2,835; Second JOD 1,990; Annual JOD 4,825. - Grade 10: First JOD 3,255; Second JOD 2,410; Annual JOD 5,665. - Grade 11: First JOD 3,540; Second JOD 2,595; Annual JOD 6,135. - Grade 12: First JOD 3,600; Second JOD 2,640; Annual JOD 6,240. - New-student American-program affiliation fee (non-refundable): JOD 100. - American-program technology/service charges are shown by grade band in the guide (examples: JOD 380 for Grades 1–6 and JOD 350 for Grades 7–12 in the Jubeiha guide; an advanced-teaching fee of JOD 200 applies to Grades 10–12). - British (IGCSE / IAL) program — Jubeiha: - Fees are listed per grade/band (First-semester / Second-semester / Annual) — example entries include Grade 1 through Grade 12 with annual totals such as JOD 3,615 (Grade 1), up to JOD 5,500 for the upper IAL/AS and A2 years. Technology-service fees are charged by grade band (examples JOD 380 for younger grades, JOD 350 for older grades). Transport fees (Jubeiha) - Transport categories and example annual totals match the published schedule (Category 1 annual JOD 675; Category 2 annual JOD 750; Category 3 annual JOD 850), charged in two semester installments. Fees are non-refundable and subscription rules apply (if you join transport in second semester, the first-semester transport fee is payable). Other costs and recurring/additional charges - Technology / services fees: additional technology service charges are applied per program and grade band (examples: national programs JOD 100; BTEC JOD 150; American and British program bands JOD 350–380 as shown in the guides). These are charged in addition to the tuition installments. - Exam / certification fees: BTEC/Pearson certificate issuance fees and similar exam-related charges are listed as additional items (example JOD 200 for certain BTEC year groups). External exam fees for British and international exam boards may be charged as specified in the program schedules. - Special education / support fees: where shown in the schedule a ‘‘special education/support'' fee is listed per grade (examples JOD 1,000 for several early grades in the national program at each campus). - Uniforms, books and stationery: specific uniform or book-package charges are not itemized in the registration guides; parents should expect separate charges for uniforms, prescribed textbooks and stationery where applicable (the published registration guides do not list a uniform fee line item). Billing schedule, payment terms and discounts - The school bills tuition as two semester installments: a First-semester installment and a Second-semester installment (each program's schedule shows the two instalments and the annual total as the sum). New students enrolling in the second semester are required to pay the first-semester installment only at registration. Payment may be made in the school finance office (in person) or online via eFAWATEERCOM. Fees displayed in the guides are described as non-refundable and non-transferable. - Early/full-payment discount: a discount on annual tuition is published (an example 10% annual-tuition discount is listed where the payment is made prior to the start of term/installment, per the registration guides). - Sibling discounts: the guides list sibling concessions (examples: a percentage concession for the second sibling and for each younger sibling—guidance in the schedule indicates a 15% concession for the second child and for each younger sibling, subject to the school's terms and conditions). All discounts are subject to the school's policies and conditions as set out in the registration guides. Refunds and cancellations - Published policy language in the registration guides states that the fees shown are non-refundable and non-transferable in the circumstances listed; specific scholarship or exemption arrangements are exceptions governed by the school's regulations. The guides also set out conditions for scholarship-related fee adjustments and for reclaiming awarded amounts if a student transfers. Boarding - No boarding program or boarding fees are listed in the registration guides; boarding services and charges are not applicable. Accepted payment methods - In-person payment at the school Finance Department. - Online payment through eFAWATEERCOM (electronic bill payment service). - The registration guides and the admissions/payment instructions reference these two methods; other payment channels (bank transfer or card) are not itemized in the published guides. Notes: All numeric entries above are shown as published in the school's registration guides for the respective campus programs (amounts are presented in Jordanian dinar, JOD). Where a program or campus applies specific additional service fees (technology, certification, advanced-instruction) or a one-off affiliation fee, those amounts are called out above. All listed tuition and service items are described in the registration guides as non-refundable and non-transferable; discounts and exemptions are conditional and governed by the school's published rules. |
| Diving deeper | Diving deeper | |
|
Boarding arrangements
|
Boarding arrangements — | Boarding arrangements — |
|
Uniform requirement
|
Uniform requirement — | Uniform requirement — |
|
Food options
|
Food options — | Food options — |
|
House system
|
House system — | House system — |
|
Governance and ownership
|
Governance and ownership The school is governed by a Board of Directors. | Governance and ownership The school operates under the supervision of the Islamic Cultural Society. |
| Academics | Academics | |
|
Curriculum details
|
Curriculum details Asamiah International School (AIS) in Khalda, Amman, Jordan, offers an IB continuum for students aged 3–18, with the Primary Years Programme (PYP) for KG–5, the Middle Years Programme (MYP) for grades 6–10, and the Diploma Programme (DP) for grades 11–12. Instruction is delivered in English and Arabic, with additional language offerings such as German. In the Diploma Programme AIS uses the DP core—Theory of Knowledge, Extended Essay, and Creativity, Activity and Service—along with six DP subjects drawn from the DP groups. DP subjects offered include English A Language and Literature, English B, Arabic A Lit, Arabic Ab Initio, Arabic B, Economics, Business Management, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Design Technology, Visual Arts, Mathematics (Analysis and Applications), and Digital Society. AIS incorporates PYP exhibitions and MYP projects as part of its IB curriculum and emphasizes inquiry-based learning, with student-led conferences and a range of co-curricular activities. | Curriculum details IEC Schools in Jabal Amman and Jubaiha offer three main pathways: the National Program leading to the Jordanian Tawjihi, the American Program with AP-based senior years, and the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme at the Al-Jubeiha campus. The National Program follows the official Jordanian Ministry of Education curriculum and is taught mainly in Arabic, with Elementary (Grades 1–4) and separate Boys (Grades 5–12) and Girls (Grades 5–12) campuses, supplementary platforms such as Bravo, Raz-Plus, ALOHA, and Life Skills integrated into learning, and a BTEC National Program option after Grade 9. In the American Program, Grades 10–12 students study a six-subject load plus mandatory Arabic, Islamic Education, and Jordanian History, with options including AP Biology, AP Calculus, AP Computer Science, and AP Psychology. The IB Diploma Programme is offered at Al-Jubeiha with instruction in English and Arabic and includes IB subjects across groups such as Mathematics, Sciences, English, Arabic, Theory of Knowledge, and Digital Tech, under IB authorization since 2018. The Kindergarten programs (KG1–KG2) at Jabal Amman and Jubeiha are bilingual and emphasize early literacy, numeracy, Islamic education, Arabic, and English, using inquiry-based learning. |
|
Student teacher ratio
|
Student teacher ratio — | Student teacher ratio — |
|
Exam results
|
Exam results — | Exam results — |
|
Higher education progression
|
Higher education progression — | Higher education progression — |
|
Gifted and talented
|
Gifted and talented — | Gifted and talented — |
|
Academic calendar
|
Academic calendar — | Academic calendar — |
| Wellbeing & support | Wellbeing & support | |
|
Social & emotional learning
|
Social & emotional learning AIS supports social and emotional learning through Character Education and Personal Social and Physical Education, with AIS Community Wellbeing listed within the Academics section. | Social & emotional learning IEC supports social and emotional learning through a dedicated Counseling Department; the American Program – Jabal Amman has conducted mental health and anger management training for teachers and organized adolescence-awareness sessions for students. |
|
Special educational needs (SEN)
|
Special educational needs (SEN) AIS provides Counselling and a Student Support Center as facilities; details on the kinds of SEN supported and whether it is a specialist SEN institution are not publicly disclosed. | Special educational needs (SEN) The school does not publicly disclose information regarding SEN provision. |
|
English as an additional language
|
English as an additional language EAL provision is not publicly described in AIS's academic program listings. | English as an additional language English as an Additional Language is reflected in IEC's British Programme, with English as a Second Language listed among IGCSE subjects. |
|
Mental wellbeing
|
Mental wellbeing Mental wellbeing is addressed through the AIS Community Wellbeing offering and pastoral approaches within the IB framework. | Mental wellbeing The Counseling Department provides mental health training for teachers and supports student wellbeing; IEC also runs a University and Career Counseling Department for Grades 10–12. |
|
Safeguarding
|
Safeguarding Safeguarding considerations are suggested by the presence of Health, Safety and Security as a facilities area, but specific safeguarding and child-protection policies are not publicly disclosed. | Safeguarding The school does not publicly disclose information regarding safeguarding policies. |
|
Safeguarding policy
|
Safeguarding policy — | Safeguarding policy — |
| Facilities | Facilities | |
|
Facilities overview
|
Facilities overview AIS operates a modern campus with a library, science laboratories, and advanced technology facilities including AI, AR & VR labs and information technology infrastructure. It provides a cafeteria, medical services, and transportation for students. It maintains health, safety and security measures and offers counselling and a student support center. The campus includes a School Theater and other facilities that support IB learning. | Facilities overview Islamic Educational College operates across two Amman campuses, Jabal Amman and Jubaiha. The Main Library, opened in 1947, serves as the core library with seven satellite libraries and a collection of over 71,000 volumes, plus 385 CD-ROMs and digital resources. Science facilities include laboratories for physics, chemistry, and biology established in 1987 and regularly updated. The campuses host two theaters (Jabal Amman since 1963 and Jubaiha since 1988) and two German-system gymnasiums with multiple courts and a dedicated strength area. Other notable facilities include a Meteorological Station (since 2015/2016) connected to ArabiaWeather, four medical clinics across campuses, two affiliated mosques, and a clock tower. The Jubaiha campus kindergarten features a dining hall, a music room, a computer lab, a library, a gym, a private swimming pool, and outdoor play yards. |
|
Sports facilities
|
Sports facilities AIS offers structured sports programs as part of student life, including a Football Academy, Karate MJ's Academy and a Gymnastics Academy. The programs emphasize physical fitness, teamwork and discipline. The school supports school teams that participate in inter-school activities. These activities complement IB learning by providing practical opportunities for collaboration and leadership. | Sports facilities Two German-system gymnasiums operate on the Jabal Amman and Jubaiha campuses. They are equipped with portable, fixed, and suspended basketball boards, 3 badminton courts, 3 volleyball courts, 6 table tennis tables, full gymnastics equipment with safety mats, and a dedicated Iron Sports Hall for team training and strength conditioning. These facilities are utilized across all school divisions and programs. |
|
Academic facilities
|
Academic facilities AIS delivers the International Baccalaureate continuum: PYP, MYP and DP. The language of instruction is English; AIS is bilingual in English and Arabic. Academic facilities include a library, science laboratories, and technology resources such as AI, AR & VR labs and information technology. Visual and Performing Arts, Personal Social and Physical Education, and AIS Community Wellbeing are integrated into the curriculum. The IB pedagogy emphasizes inquiry-based learning and concept-driven teaching. | Academic facilities The Main Library, established in 1947, anchors the academic library system with seven satellite libraries on two campuses and a combined collection of over 71,000 volumes, including 385 CD-ROMs and access to periodicals. The library provides print and digital resources, internet access, and services such as circulation, reference and research assistance, library instruction, and current awareness. Science laboratories established in 1987 cover physics, chemistry, and biology and are designed for practical, supervised experiments. |
|
Extra curricular facilities
|
Extra curricular facilities Model United Nations is offered as part of student life. AIS operates School Teams and hosts a Football Academy, Karate MJ's Academy and a Gymnastics Academy. The activities provide opportunities for leadership, teamwork and personal development outside the classroom. Participation in these activities complements IB learning by applying classroom concepts to real-world contexts. | Extra curricular facilities Theaters host school events, performances, and assemblies. IEC runs extracurricular programs including Model United Nations (MUN) conferences. A Summer Camp operates annually with field trips, activities, and a sleepover experience for participants aged 3-16. |
| Parent experience | Parent experience | |
|
History
|
History Asamiah International School was founded in 2010 as a private, co‑educational bilingual school in Khalda, Amman. The school offers the International Baccalaureate continuum with the Primary Years Programme, Middle Years Programme, and Diploma Programme. English and Arabic are the languages of instruction. AIS joined the IB World School network on March 17, 2015. The school is governed by a private Board of Directors and, in the mid‑2020s, operates with about 150 teachers and roughly 935–976 pupils, with 91% of students being Jordanian and 9% from other nationalities. | History Islamic Educational College (IEC) traces its origins to the Islamic Culture Society, founded in Amman in 1944. The first IEC campus opened in Jabal Amman in 1946, marking the school's early expansion. In 1947 the schools were established as a non-profit institution and were opened by His Majesty King Abdullah I, with supervision remaining under the Islamic Cultural Society and licensing by Jordan's Ministry of Education. A Jubaiha campus was added in 1988, broadening IEC's geographic reach. IEC offers multiple programs, including British, American, International Baccalaureate (IB), and BTEC pathways alongside a national program, with a continued emphasis on English and Arabic instruction. |
|
Community
|
Community The AIS community is diverse and IB‑oriented, with student life programs that include MUN, School Teams, the Football Academy, Karate MJ's Academy, and Gymnastics Academy. The student body comprises 91% Jordanians and 9% other nationalities, reflecting a multicultural campus. AIS regularly hosts and highlights events such as the International Day of Food Loss and Waste and a Mental Math Competition, among other exhibitions and performances. The school also engages with the wider community through outreach activities, such as the Sharing the Planet program with APN in May 2025, where parents attended sessions. | Community IEC operates across two campuses, Jabal Amman and Jubaiha, and maintains affiliated mosques in both locations that serve the school community and nearby residents. The mosques are used for education and worship, with some classes conducted within the mosques for younger students to cover core Islamic foundations. Student life is supported by a Clubs Program, which runs weekly 8‑week sessions as part of the second-semester curriculum. The school fosters community engagement through partnerships with organizations such as Tkiyet Um Ali, Jordan Hashemite Charity Organization, The King Hussein Cancer Foundation, The Children's Museum, and Jordanian volunteer platforms, with a graduation requirement of at least 60 hours of community service during Grades 9–12. IEC also participates in inter-school events, such as AP Jordan Community Day in October 2025, where IEC's American Program led four sessions. |
|
Parent teacher association
|
Parent teacher association AIS is privately governed by a Board of Directors. Public information does not list a separate, standalone PTA page, but parent engagement is organized through scheduled Parent‑Teacher Meetings, including sessions for Gr. 1–5 and Gr. 10–12 scheduled for February 7, 2026. Parents access information and communicate with staff via the AIS Parent Portal, which is linked to other school systems such as Microsoft 365. The Parent Portal supports ongoing parent–staff communications and events related to student life. AIS also supports family involvement through participation in school activities and events, including programs that involve parents in community projects such as the Sharing the Planet activity with APN in May 2025, where parents attended. | Parent teacher association Public materials do not publish a stand-alone Parent-Teacher Association (PTA) for IEC. Parent engagement is supported through IEC's digital communications, notably the IEC App that provides families with news, events, grades, and photos. Parents can contact the school via the general email relation@islamic-ec.edu.jo and by phone for inquiries. The Club Program and other student activities provide avenues for family involvement in extracurricular life, and parent participation can occur in conjunction with IEC's community service initiatives and school‑wide activities. Information and channels for involvement are also accessible through the school's general contact pages and communications, such as the app and official emails. |
| Extra-curricular | Extra-curricular | |
|
Academic & intellectual
|
Academic & intellectual AIS offers the International Baccalaureate Primary Years Program, Middle Years Program, and Diploma Program. The school follows IB pedagogy to develop inquiry, critical thinking, and globally minded learners. Model United Nations (MUN) and school teams provide opportunities for academic competition and collaborative inquiry. The campus includes science labs and AI, AR & VR technology to support hands-on learning, and a library to support independent research. | Academic & intellectual The IEC Clubs Program is a key part of the second-semester curriculum. Clubs run weekly for eight weeks during school hours, providing students with hands-on opportunities to explore hobbies, learn new skills, and connect with peers and teachers outside the traditional classroom. The program supports student talents across a variety of fields, and participants have taken part in inter-school competitions and events organized by the Ministry of Education and private schools. |
|
Arts & creative
|
Arts & creative Visual and Performing Arts are part of AIS's curriculum. | Arts & creative Clubs include Drama, Photography, Short Film, DIY, Crochet, Embroidery, and other arts-oriented activities. These offerings give students avenues to express creativity and develop artistic skills in a structured, extracurricular context. |
|
Cultural & language
|
Cultural & language — | Cultural & language A Spanish club is among the language-focused options, and Arabic language projects have been conducted as part of IEC's language initiatives. The clubs and language work are designed to broaden cultural awareness and language exposure beyond regular classes. |
|
Social & hobbies
|
Social & hobbies Student life includes Model United Nations (MUN), school teams, and specialized programs such as the Football Academy, Karate MJ's Academy, and Gymnastics Academy. | Social & hobbies Clubs cover a wide range of social and hobby interests, including Soccer, Chess, Badminton, Basketball, Swimming, Table Tennis, Gardening, and Board Games, among others. Participation provides peer interaction and teamwork outside the classroom setting. |
|
Community & service
|
Community & service — | Community & service Community service is a graduation requirement for IEC students, with at least 60 hours of volunteer work during high school (Grades 9–12). Students volunteer through IEC partnerships with organizations such as Tkiyet Um Ali, the Jordan Hashemite Charity Organization, NAHNO, and the King Hussein Cancer Foundation, among others, and must log official proof of hours. |
|
Leadership & professional
|
Leadership & professional — | Leadership & professional The Clubs Program fosters leadership, relationship-building with teachers and peers, and opportunities to participate in competitions and school events. Activities and portfolios developed through clubs can showcase student initiative and collaboration, supporting personal and professional development. |
|
Lifestyle & wellbeing
|
Lifestyle & wellbeing Counselling is available to students, and the campus emphasizes health, safety and security. The school offers extensive sports programs including football, martial arts, and gymnastics to promote well-being and physical fitness. | Lifestyle & wellbeing IEC provides extensive physical activity facilities, including two gymnasiums on the Jabal Amman and Jubaiha campuses with basketball boards, badminton courts, volleyball courts, table tennis, and a dedicated strength-conditioning area. The school also runs a summer camp with field trips, on-site activities, and sleepover experiences to support physical, mental, and social development. |
| Language provision | Language provision | |
|
Language provision
|
Language provision — | Language provision Languages taught include Arabic and English across IEC programs. In the National Program, instruction is primarily Arabic, with English taught in Science and Math and a dedicated English-conversation component for Grades 1–8 to support non-native speakers. The British Programme includes Arabic as a First Language and English as a Second Language, with English-taught core subjects and a German language department within the American Program. The IB program offers English and Arabic across PYP, MYP, and DP, with Arabic B and English B language acquisition options. |
|
Bilingual teaching
|
Bilingual teaching — | Bilingual teaching IEC offers language provision across multiple programs rather than a single school-wide bilingual program. The National Program is delivered primarily in Arabic, with English integrated in Science and Math and an English-conversation component for Grades 1–8 to bolster spoken English. The British Programme uses Arabic as a First Language and includes English as a Second Language, with English-taught subjects and a German department within the American Program. The International Baccalaureate (IB) program provides instruction in English and Arabic across PYP, MYP, and DP, with language-acquisition options in Arabic and English. |
|
Immersion programs
|
Immersion programs — | Immersion programs — |
| Reputation | Reputation | |
|
Awards
|
Awards — | Awards Al Hussein bin Abdullah II Award for Volunteer Work Service; Khalifa Award for Education; Prince El Hassan Bin Talal Award for Scientific Excellence; Majesty King Abdullah II Award for Excellence, among others. |
|
Accreditations
|
Accreditations — | Accreditations IEC Schools hold multiple awards and accreditations for educational excellence, as listed on their Awards and Accreditations page. |
| Admissions | Admissions | |
|
Admissions
|
Admissions Step 1. Take a Tour. Take a Tour to learn about AIS and the IB continuum offered. AIS offers the IB Primary Years Program, the IB Middle Years Program, and the IB Diploma Program. A campus visit helps families understand AIS's teaching approach and student life. You can schedule a tour under Admission. Step 2. Apply online. Begin the application by using AIS Online Registration or the Apply Now option. Online Registration is listed under Admission. Submitting the online registration starts the formal admissions process. The Apply Now option appears on the site as part of the admission workflow. Step 3. Review Tuition Fees and AIS Scholarship. Tuition fees are posted and available for review. AIS Scholarship is listed as part of Admission. Information about fees and scholarships is accessible through the Admission section. Step 4. Admission decision and enrollment. AIS reviews applications and communicates admission decisions to families. Accepted students proceed with enrollment per AIS procedures. Enrollment finalization completes the admission process. Step 5. Start of classes and onboarding. Start dates and onboarding details are communicated after enrollment. Families receive information about class assignments and timetables. AIS provides resources to support new students as they join. | Admissions Online enrollment and initial registration. Guardians access the IEC enrollment portal at iec-school.com and complete the online form for the selected scholastic year, program, and site. The form collects student details, guardian contact information, and program preferences (National Program, British Programme, American Program, International Baccalaureate, or BTEC) and indicates the intended semester. Initial document requirements differ by grade: KG1 and KG2 require two Jordanian birth certificates with the national number, vaccination card, a passport photo with the child's full name on the back, a personal interview with the child, the Jordanian Family Book, and the guardian's ID; Grades 2–12 require a transfer certificate (validated by the Directorate of Private Education), last school results, two copies of the birth certificate, the student's academic record, a passport photo, prior school reports, the guardian ID, and the Jordanian Family Book, plus a valid residence permit for foreigners. Admissions for the scholastic year 2025/2026 specify KG1 for births in 2021, KG2 for births in 2020, and Grade 1 for births in 2019. All documents should be prepared before the start of the academic year. |
|
Scholarships
|
Scholarships — | Scholarships No scholarships are advertised on IEC's public pages. |
|
Waitlist
|
Waitlist — | Waitlist — |
| View full profile → | View full profile → | |
Comparing more schools, or want notes and ratings of your own? Build your own compare board.